Fun!

Wow, what a fun and exciting week it’s been. I’m finally back–exhausted, hungover, sunburned, and still feeling like I’m on a rocking boat, but it was so worth it. I want to be back right now in the hot, gorgeous weather instead of the dreary clouds that I’m used to here in Pittsburgh.

Here are some cruise highlights for you:

We sailed on the Enchantment of the Seas through Royal Caribbean. It was a pretty big boat:

IMG_3589

Full of not-so-big rooms and even smaller bathrooms:

IMG_3604

We played BINGO but unfortunately didn’t win any money. I did however walk away with an awesome BINGO stuffed animal. I guess it was a consolation prize.

IMG_3585

First stop was Key West. I pity the fools still in Boston.

IMG_3592

It was absolutely gorgeous. The weather the entire trip was sunny and hot—just what I like. I determined that I really need to move somewhere warm because I’m just so much happier when I’m not surrounded by clouds and cold.

IMG_3593

We made lots of new friends on the trip.

IMG_3603

I spent lots of time reading out on the deck. It was so peaceful.

IMG_3606

What’s a cruise without drinking? I had a chocolate martini which was absolutely divine. It tasted like a milkshake!

IMG_3611

Next stop: Cozumel. We boarded a speedboat and went about 30 minutes out to a private beach where we biked and snorkeled, layed on the beach, had a Mexican feast, and I got to practice my Spanish with the hottie tour guides. They loved me–I think they were just intrigued by how unbelievably pale I was-I’m not sure if they ever saw someone so white before, haha.

IMG_3614

We also saw Mayan ruins:

IMG_3629

The water was gorgeous:

IMG_3634

The crew was great and they left us fun towel animals in the room:

IMG_3639

The waiters even sang and danced for us:
IMG_3638

It was a great vacation, and while I was sad to come home, it was ok because I had some celebrating to do! Yesterday was my 22nd BIRTHDAY!!!Β I got back to my house around 7:30 pm and got started on an interesting night. I had a birthday drink with my family. My cousin, who is an under 3-hr marathon running training for an Ironman was in town and wanted to go for a quick run with me. This is where the poor decisions of the night began, but, hey, that’s what birthdays are all about, right?Β 

After my drunk 20 minute jogΒ sprint, I came home and showered super-fast and hit the bars with my friends. There I spoke the famous last words: “But this long island iced tea doesn’t even taste like alcohol!” and I think we can all guess where the night went from there.

I’m sad my indulgent week is over, but it was definitely fun and I’ll remember *most* of it forever.

29 Responses to “Fun!”


  1. 1 carolinebee Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 10:41 am

    haha, amazing!!! That sounds like the best trip and I agree on the sun and fun being a mood improver. Cruise rooms are so lame, the bathroom was like in an airplane right?? HAPPY birthday love, welcome to the 22!!! πŸ˜€ xoxo

  2. 2 Nicole Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 10:48 am

    I want to on a cruise so badly!!! It looks amazing, and happy birthday!!!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 10:48 am

    OHMYOHMYOHMY!!! What a trip of a lifetime – so glad that you got to cruise and enjoy some relaxation!!

    And HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!

  4. 4 Hil Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I’m glad you had such a great time. Those towel animals are hilarious…I want to learn how to do that!

  5. 5 Bec Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Aww sounds like a great week!!!! Did you love Cozumel? I spent Christmas there!! Happy Belated 22nd Birthday!

  6. 6 widi Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Nice trip. Happy birthday to you.

  7. 7 Amanda Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 11:32 am

    towel animals are the best! so cute πŸ™‚

    glad you had fun!

  8. 8 april Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Sounds like a wonderful trip! I missed your posts! And Happy birthday!

  9. 9 Sarah Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Oh Sarah, what an awesome trip (and recap). I’m so glad you had fun!

  10. 10 Rose Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Aw, this trip looks like so much fun!

  11. 11 Danielle Cotter Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Yay happy birthday! And good for you breaking the hearts of those hottie tour guides! πŸ™‚ I love your famous last words too!

  12. 12 ksgoodeats Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    HAHAH – your birthday sounds like a success!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY AGAIN πŸ˜€

    The views from your cruise are absolutely stunning! Glad you had a great time! You deserved it πŸ™‚

  13. 13 lilveggiepatch Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Sounds like a great trip! What a great way to ring in the big 2-2 (and the next one is 3-3, so get ready!). I’ve never been on a cruise, but it looks like so much fun. Mexico is beautiful!

  14. 14 homegirlcaneat Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    ahahahahhaha the long island line is CLASSIC! The only night I have ever..uhh..blackedout..took place when I was 2 and a half long islands deep. Should have stopped at one for remembrance and walking abilities!

    This cruise looks beautiful!! I love the towel monkay! And all the gorgeous islandy shots!

  15. 15 Haleigh Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    It looks like you had a fantastic time on your cruise!! So jealous!

  16. 16 Melissa S. Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    what a great trip hun! it sounds like you had a blast!!!

    and happy belated birthday!!! I’m glad that was just as wonderful!!!

  17. 17 Michelle Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Sounds like you had an amazing trip! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Glad you sort of remember your fun night! Are you still planning on running the 10k at Heinz Field on the 21st? Let me know, we should meet up!

  18. 18 Ashley C. Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 3:03 am

    Happy Belated Birthday!! Looks like you had a blast on your cruise and birthday! You made us all jealous of the cruise for sure, but I’m glad you got to enjoy it!

  19. 19 jenngirl Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Welcome home! And happy belated birthday! sounds like it was a blast, hope you fully recover over the next few days πŸ˜‰

  20. 20 Hangry Pants Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Hey Happy Belated Birthday! I am so jealous of all your cruise pictrues!!! Looks like a wonderful trip.

  21. 21 Anna Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Happy Birthday! And it looks like you had an amazing trip. Welcome back to Pittsburgh, the land of humid and overcast days. I’m here for the summer and don’t know how I’m going to handle my first summer in a city. Know of any good swimming spots?

  22. 22 Jenn (eating bender) Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Wow, fabulous pictures! You look so cute with that stuffed animal πŸ™‚ I love the expression on your face!

    I’m so glad you had a fun time! And that you celebrated your birthday the right way πŸ˜‰ Hehe, I can’t wait to do some more celebrating in July! WOOHOO!! Talk to you soon, lovely!

  23. 23 Danielle Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Happy belated sweet girl! Glad you were able to celebrate it so extravagantly, those were just the kind of special days that you deserve πŸ™‚

  24. 24 Sarah Friday, June 12, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    i love your cruise highlights!! that picture of you with the copper(?) “family” is the best.

    happy happy happy birthday!!!!

  25. 25 mayapamela Saturday, June 13, 2009 at 6:13 am

    I’m so jealous! I went on a cruise once in Alaska, and I loved it! I’d like to try a more beach themed cruise though…

  26. 26 cookeatrun Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 3:35 am

    JEALOUS! wow, looks like you had buckets of funnn πŸ™‚

  27. 27 Kailey Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    wow sounds like you had such a fun time!!!
    i have never been on a cruise so I am very jealous of your experience πŸ˜€

  28. 28 Erin Sunday, June 21, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    That looks so awesome Sarah! I love the cute little room! I’m glad you got to enjoy yourself- what a perf. way to celebrate graduating and your bday!

  29. 29 Sarah (from See Sarah Eat) Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I’m going to have to put chocolate martini on my to do list, haha. Glad you had a great time!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

