Getting Ready

My whirlwind of a week is starting soon and I’m getting ready for all the fun I’m going to have. I leave for Florida early, early Wednesday morning for my CRUISE!!! I can’t wait because I’ve never been on a cruise before and haven’t been on any sort of vacation in a long time. It’s going to be so much fun. Also, MY BIRTHDAY IS IN A WEEK!!! The big 2-2. Definitely not as exciting as 21, but I’ll take it. I seriously love birthdays so much. Overall, I’m not really a ‘must be center of attention’ sort of person but I just love how on your birthday everything is about you. Everyone has to be nice to you and you get all sorts of gifts and cards and phone calls. It just makes me so happy! 21 was full of ups and downs for me, but overall it was a good year—very much due to the fact that it was also the Year of The Blog which is turning 1 pretty soon. Crazy how time just flies by. 

Anyway, over the past few days I’ve rekindled my love for some old favorites. Like cinnamon raisin peanut butter

IMG_3569

I don’t know how my family gets along without me because they obviously didn’t stir this jar when they first got it because now its close to the bottom and full of raisins. Works for me though!

Last night I made Chicken Florentine which holds a very special place in my heart because it is the very first recipe that I ever cooked by myself in my little kitchen Junior year. This was right when I started cooking and had basically no idea what I was doing, honestly I’m surprised I even managed to turn on the oven! It’s a really simple recipe but so delicious.

IMG_3572

Basically just saute some onions then mix in chicken stock, flour, and frozen spinach and pour that over chicken, and top it all with a breadcrumb/parmesan mix. Bake at 350* for 30 minutes and it’s good to go. 

I just got back from the grocery store and have a fun dinner planned for tonight so I’ll definitely keep you posted! But for now, it’s off to spinning class. Bye!

14 Responses to “Getting Ready”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, June 1, 2009 at 11:11 am

    So exciting that your birthday is coming up! 🙂

  2. 2 Bec Monday, June 1, 2009 at 11:17 am

    That chicken looks amazing! Good luck getting ready for the cruise!

  3. 3 Sarah Monday, June 1, 2009 at 11:21 am

    yay, such a big week coming up! i love the story about the cinn-raisin pb … and you’re the one who gets to benefit from the failure to mix. score! enjoy all the preparation for your fun 🙂

  4. 4 Sharon Monday, June 1, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Mmmmm delicious delicious!!

  5. 5 ksgoodeats Monday, June 1, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    WOOHOO for birthdays AND 87 babies!! I hope you have a blast on your cruise! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  6. 6 homegirlcaneat Monday, June 1, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    YAY for your birthday and cruises!!! I have always wanted to go on a cruise and eat unlimited food and froyo! Sounds like a partay to me!

  7. 7 Kristie Monday, June 1, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    CRUISE! I am oh so jealous. I’ve never been on one before either but I would LOVE to someday. Have a TON of fun! And Happy Early Birthday! Who knows, maybe 22 will be even MORE exciting than 21!

  8. 8 Michelle Monday, June 1, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    When is your birthday?? Mine is next Tuesday, the 9th! I’m turning 24 though. Oooh and a cruise! What an exciting birthday present!

  9. 9 april Monday, June 1, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    That’s my favorite flavor of peanut butter by that company! i love the raisins!

  10. 10 lilveggiepatch Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 12:59 am

    I’m so excited for your trip! I can’t wait to see your cruise photos… where are you going? And your birthday, too! Looks like your summer’s going verrrrry nicely.

  11. 11 Sarah Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 1:19 am

    I was thinking about you today and wondering what you’ve been up to. Sounds like the answer is “FUN!” I hope you have a fabulous trip and enjoy every second.

  12. 12 Haleigh Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 9:08 am

    There are so many fun things coming up in your life! Enjoy it 🙂

  13. 13 Danielle Cotter Wednesday, June 3, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    chicken florentine is so good! i can’t wait to videochat with you! enjoy your cruise and your birthday is coming up, yay 🙂

  14. 14 Danielle Monday, June 8, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Happy early birthday darling! You’ve got so much to look forward to!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

