Good Food

I’ve finally had a full day of good food worth blogging about. Things here have been pretty calm, I’ve been doing a whole bunch of nothing and I’m trying to enjoy the relaxation and quiet rather than be bored with it. This is probably the last time in my life where I will have 2 months to focus on absolutely nothing but me so I need to take advantage of it while I can. As a result, I’ve been filling my days with running, reading, and relaxing. I’m getting the hang of it!

Breakfast

I slept like a log last night, I was exhausted for some reason! When I finally woke up around 8 (yes, that is considered sleeping in for me!) I made a quick bowl of cereal and then got back into bed to read for a few hours. It felt so lazy and luxurious, mmmmm. 

IMG_3563

Lunch

After I was done being a bum I ran some errands and made myself my very favorite lunch. Oh how I have missed my omelettes! Today’s was filled with red pepper and laughing cow. It was so perfect. I also had the traditional english muffin and pear to round out the meal.

IMG_3564

Then me and my dad went to the car dealership to fill out the paperwork for my mom’s new car! I’m basically in love with this car, it’s amazing. I really don’t know anything about cars but this one is sleek and drives really smoothly so I like it. It’s an Acura but don’t ask me anything else about it because I have no idea! It’s silver. There, that’s about all I can tell you.

IMG_3565

Snack

Cottage cheese, carrots, and cherries. I am seriously anxiously awaiting the return of my beloved rainer cherries which are basically my favorite food on earth. When I spot them at the grocery store you better believe I’m going to start jumping up and down screaming and make a scene because I’m just that excited. Hopefully I’ll be alone because whoever I’m with will absolutely pretend they don’t know me.

IMG_3566

Dinner

I made the quickest, easiest, most delicious dinners tonight. Caramelized Scallops with brown rice and snap peas. So good! Definitely 5 stars. My dad told me it was one of his favorite meals that I’ve ever made. He doesn’t have incredibly high standards when it comes to food (ie-is just as happy eating a twinkie as he is a gourmet dessert…) but who doesn’t like a compliment? I have to admit, it was pretty delicious and there was no chopping involved which meant minimal clean-up which is always a plus in my book.

IMG_3567

Dessert

And while I’m going on a cruise in a week and should probably be cutting back on the desserts in preparation for the smorgasbord of food, endless buffets, midnight dessert bars, and tropical drinks, I just couldn’t turn down a vanilla Dairy Queen with rainbow sprinkles. This is my favorite summertime (or anytime, really) treat, and I miss it so much when I’m at school. Ahhh, the simple pleasures in life.

IMG_3568

Ok, I’d say it’s time to veg out on the couch with a movie, a cup of tea, and my slanket. Yes, I have a slanket. My friend bought it for me as a graduation present and it is actually the best gift I think I’ve ever gotten. It’s quite possible that I’m going to crank up the A/C way higher than my family would ever accept just so that I can cozy up in this all summer. Love.

13 Responses to “Good Food”


  1. 1 homegirlcaneat Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Oh I love a good ice cream treat with rainbow sprinkles!! They remind me of being a kid and being carefree!

    I love all your food today!! The cereal, the cottage cheese, omelette, SCALLOPS! A++++

  2. 2 verbalriot Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I haven’t had scallops in forever and I need to get some soon.

    I’m glad you’re relaxing and enjoying yourself!

  3. 3 Sarah Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    I hope a slanket is like a snuggie, but less cult like. I know you could rock it.

  4. 4 Sarah Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    DQ is MY favorite summer treat, too! sigh, i wish there were one in nyc.

    your scallops do look perfectly caramelized!

  5. 5 Bec Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    I have to remember that recipe for scallops!

  6. 6 glidingcalm Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    you sound like me!! trying to enjoy relaxation rather than being bored with it!! in the beginning (after quitting skating) it was hard- I kept feeling guilty and lazy that I wasn’t working or cleaning or exercising more……but now im doing a lot better 🙂 !

    mmmmm scallops!!

    hurray for your Mom’s new car! it IS pretty!!

  7. 7 gina (fitnessista) Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    you have a slanket?!? that’s SO awesome! i saw the commercial and started yelling that i wanted one, then the pilot made fun of me for wanting to look like a wizard. they look so comfy though!
    i would LOVE some ice cream and sprinkles right about now….
    have a great night!

  8. 8 Anne K. Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    The caramelized scallops sound delicious! And yum, I love vanilla DQ ice cream with sprinkles. The rainbow sprinkles totally make it perfect 🙂

  9. 10 lilveggiepatch Friday, May 29, 2009 at 1:21 am

    Glad to see you’ve replaced the three R’s! Your day sounds so lovely… especially the last third. Scallops are one of my favorite things to eat, and DQ? Hello! Yes, definitely one of life’s finer pleasures. There was one on the corner of my block in St. Paul and I definitely pleased myself quite a bit!

    And I love you for having a Slanket. The infomercials are so funny!

  10. 11 ksgoodeats Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:55 am

    8 is sleeping in for me too! Nice omelet! I wish I had those skillz – what’s your secret?! That DQ ice cream looks soooo creamy and delicious 🙂

    Oh, I’ve got a snuggie and it’s one of the best inventions ever!

  11. 12 Erin Friday, May 29, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Oh wow! You are getting the hand of it! Getting back into bed after breakfast is my faavvveeeeee. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

