Real Smiles

I’m still here! I know I’ve been really MIA lately but that’s because I’ve been really busy spending time with my friends! A lot of my really good friends aren’t seniors and it’s been so hard saying goodbye to them as they leave for the summer. I’ve made a few really close friendships this year that I couldn’t be happier about. I’m really starting to believe in the whole “everything happens for a reason” concept—and while I definitely had my fair share of frustration, anger, and unhappiness here I am in such a good place right now and I am pleased to say that I am actually leaving college on a very good note. I am so grateful for the friends that I’ve made this year and especially how close I’ve gotten to some of them the past few months. I am really able to graduate feeling content and not like the past 4 years were a complete waste of time, something I was really concerned I would feel.Β 

While college itself has not been the best, the education, opportunities, and lifelong friendships that I am taking from it makes it all worth it. I didn’t party all the time, I stressed out like it was my job, I cried, I screamed, I complained, but I also worked hard, accomplished a lot, learned about myself, laughed, sang (badly), and had some really great conversations. I made genuine friendships that I know will continue. I really cannot express how thankful I am for the past few months and the fact that I was finally able to enjoy my college experience.Β 

Last night I went out for drinks with my 2 closet friends here. I love this picture because I have a real smile on my face. Β For so long I forced a smile on my face and you can definitely tell the difference.

IMG_3506_2

Now I have to go say goodbye to my best friend and I know I’m going to bawl my eyes out. I’m going to miss her so much!

See you later!

11 Responses to “Real Smiles”


  1. 1 lilveggiepatch Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    This made me so happy! I’m glad you’re finishing on such a good note. The first paragraph pretty much describes my college experience, too!

    Enjoy the last few days (and more gin martinis)!

  2. 2 Jen Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Oh my gosh, hugeee congrats!! And what a big, REAL smile. I love it! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Sarah Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    This gave me chills, and a big huge grin across my stoopid face. It was REAL, though.

    Love you!

  4. 5 Jenn (eating bender) Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Sarah, this post made me have a real smile, too πŸ™‚ I have a lot of those “fake” smile pictures from certain moments and experiences in my college career where I wasn’t happy and enjoying the moments. But I’m glad that both you and I have found our groove this quarter. I’m so glad that you had this night with your friends and that you said goodbye to them in a fun way. As Winston Churchill said (sorry, I’m a sap, but I love this quote!): “This is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.” I think that is SO true for you, and you have many great things ahead of you.

    SNUGGIE! ❀ you πŸ™‚

  5. 6 ksgoodeats Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    AW YAY!! A happy Sarah makes me happy πŸ™‚ You look fantastic!!

  6. 7 jenngirl Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I’m so glad you are feeling better and more like YOU! Have a good night, and remember, goodbyes can just be “until I see you again..” πŸ™‚

  7. 8 Erin Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Oh Sarah! I’m so glad you are ending on a positive emotional note. This is an amazing time in your life. I love you!

  8. 9 homegirlcaneat Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Happy happy smiles all around! LOTS OF CONGRATS on graduating! Just think of all the fun you are gonna have meeting new people and traveling places!! ahhh I’m excited just thinking about it for you!

  9. 10 Sarah's Mom Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    I love this picture of you!! I miss not having you home on Mothers Day. Can’t wait to celebrate graduation with you next weekend. It really feels like we just celebrated your high school graduation.

  10. 11 Danielle Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Oh, my dear, smile like you mean it! And enjoy every last second and bit of your college career!

    Congratulations πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

