Time Warp

I feel like I’m in some sort of time warp or something—I just have no clue where the day went! It was pretty productive though and I’m feeling pretty good about my paper! 

Brunch

Like I mentioned earlier I went out to brunch with my sorority family and had a great time, like always. Along with about a gallon of coffee I ordered egg whites, fruit salad, and whole wheat english muffin. It’s so weird, I never feel like eggs for breakfast at home but I always crave them when I go out. Strange! 

img_3418

Snacks

After a few hours at the library I was going stir-crazy and needed a break. I hit up the gym for a fantastic workout. It felt so great to just forget about schoolwork for a little bit and work up a sweat.

I introduced my friend to cara cara oranges last night and she just had to go buy some so I accompanied her to Whole Foods and then we did more work at the Starbucks next door. Rather than an official lunch I picked up a bunch of snacks to eat throughout the afternoon which is much more conducive to studying in my opinion! I had some fruit and yogurt, followed by a granola bar, and then some trail mix.

img_3419

img_3420

img_3421

My friend was sharing the trail mix with me and in the process of eating it I sort of came to a revelation. Normally I portion out a serving, eat it too fast, go back for more, and more, and more, am never really satisfied, and end up eating way too much of it. Well today, I just ate straight out of the container, and ate slowly throughout the afternoon, picking up one thing at a time and really enjoying it. I’m not sure exactly how much I ate but I still have a ton left so it couldn’t have been too much! I think my problem is that when I give myself a very specific amount and tell myself that’s all I can have it makes it that much more tempting to go back for more. The rigidity I impose on myself just sets me up for failure. But when I know that it is there and I can have as much of it as I want, it sort of loses it’s ‘off-limits’ appeal and I don’t overdo it. I haven’t exactly worked out what this all means but I’m definitely going to keep experimenting with this concept.

Dinner

I got home and couldn’t spend one more second looking at that paper today so I hung out with my friends for a little bit and then had dinner. Tonight was another wonderful Amy’s frozen dinner: Roasted Vegetable Lasagna. Oh so good. I especially love the crunchy edges that sort of stick to the container. Haha, so good.

img_3422

Dessert

Look what finally came back into my life: Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar. There were only 2 left and you better believe I snatched them up faster than you could even imagine. I savored every single bite of this baby and am beyond ecstatic to have these back! This seriously made my week!

img_3423

We don’t have classes tomorrow because of Patriots Day which is some made up holiday in MA. Maybe it’s in honor of the marathon? I have no idea. Anyway, some of my friends are going out and I might join them but not drink since I plan on getting tot he library bright and early tomorrow morning and need my sleep! I was up at 6:45 again this morning for absolutely no reason. I don’t get it, I wish I could just sleep in! Grrrr. 

Anyway, have a great night and a painless Monday!

13 Responses to “Time Warp”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Enjoy your no-class day tomorrow!!

  2. 2 Sharon Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I know what you mean. When I portion out nuts, it’s so tempting for me to go back for seconds.

  3. 3 jenngirl Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    I think you are definitely coming to the right conclusions about the portion control thing. On the one hand it’s great to know how much of a serving something is, but when we become too rigid with ourselves, it’s more harmful than helpful.

    No class tomorrow?!? UGH, I’m SO jealous, hope you have fun AND get some rest tonight Sarah!

  4. 4 Bec Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    enjoy your day off from classes!

  5. 5 lilveggiepatch Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    No class?! No fair! No really, I’m not jealous at all, you enjoy it 🙂

    The cheesy crusty part of the lasagna is the BEST. I’m going to use free egg whites in the cafeteria as an incentive to get to school early tomorrow… you’re right about eggs out-of-house, they always seem better!

  6. 6 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, April 20, 2009 at 12:18 am

    Hey lovely. How are you? You must, must, must text me or call me tomorrow, ok?! I ❤ you and hope you get a good night’s sleep tonight!

  7. 7 Mariposa Monday, April 20, 2009 at 8:19 am

    i think it is a total made up holiday!!!! i dont have the day off though! i think its for the people who work in boston? use it as a floating holiday or something to make sure no one is in the city for the race lol

  8. 8 ksgoodeats Monday, April 20, 2009 at 8:47 am

    That brunch looks freaking fantastic!! Enjoy your day off today – don’t do any school work, you deserve a break!!

  9. 9 Ashley C. Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 1:01 am

    I share your pain of not being able to sleep in- I don’t understand I used to be able to sleep in all the time with no problems!
    Congrats on your revelation- that is definitely a positive step and I can totally relate. I’m reading Intuitive Reading and that seems to be their basic concept: don’t put any limits or restrictions on anything or you will want everything
    Have a good day off!

  10. 10 Tammi Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    This is kind of a weird reason to de-lurk, but…

    I’m SO with you on the crunchy-edge Amy’s love.

  11. 11 Haleigh Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Peanut butter cookie larabar!!! I haven’t been able to find them since the crazy PB scare 😦

  12. 12 Kristie Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I find eggs to be like the staple eat out breakfast. I don’t know why but it just seems so right!

    Snacking + studying is just the way things go. I love your unlimited revelation! It’s so true right? Once you have more freedom certain foods to seem to lose that sacred hoard me appeal where you need to eat them all at once because that’s all you get.

    Roasted vegetable lasagna? YUM. I’m totally keeping my eye out for that one.

    Hope the school work and such is going well!

  13. 13 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 2:28 am

    What kind of trail mix is that?! It looks so good!!

    And glad you made a little revelation about portion sizes, you gotta just eat what works for YOU!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

