Slow Down!

For once I actually wish that the week would slow down because my workload is not getting any lighter but the time I have to complete it is dwindling. Ahhh, freaking out!  Today was quite the rollercoaster of a day—my morning and afternoon were horrendous but then I went out to dinner with my Little and everything really turned around. I LOVE HER!!! I actually told her about my blog! I think she partly thinks I’m absolutely crazy but I actually am so it’s all good. I hope she’s reading–hi Danielle!

Breakfast

Up early again today but I wasn’t as productive as yesterday—I should have hit the library first thing but my cozy bed wouldn’t let me leave. I did get to try something new for breakfast though. Kristina from Stonyfield sent me some coupons to try Oikos Greek Yogurt and this morning I gave the vanilla a shot. I was definitely skeptical at first because I have tried the Chobani vanilla in the past and wasn’t a fan–I thought the taste was off and it was sort of chalky or something. The Oikos was really good though! The flavor was great and it was very creamy. My only complaint is that it wasn’t as thick as the plain greek yogurt that I’m used to and love so much. I have some other flavors to try and I can’t wait!

img_3393

I mixed the yogurt with a pear and had a delicious breakfast.

img_3394

Reunited and it Feels SOOOO Good

Usually I celebrate Passover for 8 days as is custom of Conservative Jews but I decided to break it at 7 days like the Reform Jews because my brain and body were desperate for complex carbs and wholesome grains. 

I had a whole wheat sandwich thin with peanut butter, carrots, and pear mangosteen cottage cheese. First of all, sinking my teeth into the bread was the best feeling ever and after this meal my ’emptiness’ in my tummy was finally gone after a week! Secondly, this cottage cheese was AMAZING. It was pricey which is too bad because it was perfect. Just the right amount of flavor and sweetness to make it delicious without being overwhelming. I can’t wait to try other flavors.

img_3396

Snack

After a mediocre yoga practice and a not so fun doctors appointment I spent the entire afternoon in the library. Don’t worry I packed up some snacks to keep things interesting: KIND bar and orange. I wasn’t too crazy about this flavor though, it was a little too sweet, even for me!

img_3395

Dinner

I finally emerged from the library for a brief break to go to dinner with Danielle in the cutest little cafe: Danish Pastry House. I had the best ginger lemon iced tea and ordered the incredible DPH signature salad with goat cheese, almonds, cranberries and balsamic vinagrette along with a roll. It was so delicious and satisfying. We sat and chatted about anything and everything for 1.5 hours which was the perfect little break.

img_3399

Then it was back to the library for even more research, but I finally feel like I’m actually making progress, which is great. I’m exhausted from staying at the libs which really makes me think of the fond memories I have from freshman and sophomore year when I wouldn’t even get to the library until 11 and would stay until 3-4 in the morning!! HOW did I do that?! Ha. Goodnight!

13 Responses to “Slow Down!”


  1. 1 Sharon Wednesday, April 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Oh wow, super scrumptious!!

  2. 2 broccolihut Wednesday, April 15, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Way to listen to your body and feed it some whole grains. Don’t you love those cottage cheese cups?!

  3. 3 Danielle Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 4:59 am

    Your little has a very cool name 😀

  4. 4 Hangry Pants Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 8:28 am

    I’ve tried that cottage cheese in another flavor – cucumber dill I think and it was also good. I wasn’t sure about sweet though.

    Glad you enjoyed your bread. I am not sure I could go 8 days either!

    And Oikos – yum! I am giving some free coupons and out Stonyfield goodies away so you should check it out.

  5. 5 Danielle Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I don’t know if I could go even 7 days with bread. I think I might go nuts!
    I haven’t had yogurt for breakfast in weeks I might be going through a withdrawal after seen your picture!

  6. 6 verbalriot Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I also look back at my earlier years of college and am amazed by my past abilities to party hardy! hahah

    Glad you’re making progress on your research and that you use the word “libs!” I said it the other day and people were confused..ahaha

  7. 8 Sarah Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 11:59 am

    yay for the return to regular eating!

    good luck with all your work. you’ll get it done!!!

  8. 10 Jenn (eating bender) Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    How awesome that you told your Little about the blog! That takes guts! And hurray for bringing back the complex carbs – gotta love ’em 😉

  9. 11 Mariposa Friday, April 17, 2009 at 9:02 am

    that is too funny about telling your Little about the blog! I tell people about mine and i think they are a little shocked. and weirded out. my other half still laughs sometimes about it. lol what can you do??

    where are you going to school? I saw you went to lunch at a place in Medford, MA? Sorry to be a crazy person, but I love “finding” people online who are in the Boston area.. i make it my mission.. lol

  10. 12 Danielle Cotter Friday, April 17, 2009 at 9:22 am

    BIG I LOVE YOU! this is such a gorgeous blog. The pictures you take are so artsy looking, like the quality of what a serious restaurant would take. I am going to read through all the entries now instead of doing my Chinese homework.

    PS you are definitely NOT crazy. I am SO much crazier!
    PPS See you tonight! I cannot wait 🙂

  11. 13 Danielle Cotter Friday, April 17, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I am not sure if I am commenting on the right entry, but I am so proud of you for drinking that type of whiskey that you mentioned (I don’t know much about alcohol so I can’t remember the name). You showed them all!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

