Final Push

I can do it, I can do it, I can do it. I’m in the final stretch of my final semester in college. Crazy! Classes end on April 27 and then I have a couple weeks of finals, “senior week” and Graduation on May 17. It’s not much more time but the amount of work I have to do between now and then is officially overwhelming. I really can’t think about it all at once or I go into panic mode, so I’m trying to just handle one thing at a time and keep myself as sane as possible. Let’s just say that I will be spending every waking hour at the library for the next few weeks.

Yesterday was a long day of traveling but I’m so happy because I realized that it was the last time that I have to go back to school from being home! Yay! I think one of the reasons it’s always so hard and emotionally draining for me to go back to school has a lot to do with the actual process. When I fly home or go to visit a friend, there is always someone there waiting for me at the airport excited to see me, calling to make sure my flight is on time, etc. But when I go back to school I am totally on my own. I land in Boston, make my way to the T and take the subway back, lugging all my stuff around on my own. Then I walk back to my house with nobody to greet me or give me a welcome-home hug. It’s just sort of depressing. Good thing I don’t have to do that again!

I don’t have pictures from yesterday since it was such a busy travel day, but I do have to say that Day 1 of my “After Dinner Challenge” was a success! I did get a little bit hungry around 10 so I had an apple and a few almonds and that was that. I feel great already! 

Breakfast

Passover needs to be over—I’m really having a tough time without my staple foods. Today I just had a fruit and yogurt bowl sans my usual cereal. I brought back a few pieces of matzo with me (which miraculously didn’t break!) because it doesn’t make sense to buy a big box for only a few days, but I need to conserve them for lunches and dinners. My fellow WF-aholic friend was also home for Passover and comes back tomorrow which is good because I am running severely low on groceries!

img_3375

Snack

I have a new study plan in place where I get up even earlier than usual to get the majority of my work done in the morning and afternoons because I just don’t feel safe walking back from the library at night in the dark. We received updates about 2 more muggings that took place this weekend. Mehh. As a result of my earlier than usual wake-up I needed a pick-me-up mid-morning so I had a delicious nonfat latte. Mmmm.

img_3376

Lunch

Peanut butter is off-limits during Passover because peanuts aren’t actually a nut—they’re a legume! Almond butter however, is fair game! I had 2 T almond butter, 1 laughing cow cheese wedge on matzo and a pear. It was so hard to spread this without the matzo breaking! 

img_3379

Ok, I gotta get back to panicking about all I have to do actually doing my work, then it’s yoga and another hot date with the libs. See you tonight!

10 Responses to “Final Push”


  1. 1 lilveggiepatch Monday, April 13, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Yes, we can do it! The next time we go home it’ll be FOR GOOD… music to my ears. Speaking of music, “What’s Your Fantasy” came on the radio yesterday and I got excited for you! So jealous.

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Monday, April 13, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    YOU’LL MAKE IT, NO WORRIES!!

  3. 3 Sarah Monday, April 13, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    You can do it! You can do it! You can do it! Just thought I’d throw that out there.

    Bean butter and jelly! That’s why I like almond butter SOOO much better 😉

  4. 4 ksgoodeats Monday, April 13, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    You can do it! You can do it! You can do it! I used to be a cheerleader so now I’ll be cheering on team Sarah 😉

  5. 5 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, April 13, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    It’s the home stretch! You can do it, you can do it, you can do it!

    Love the almond butter and Laughing Cow topped matzo – yum! I bet you are very excited to stock up on WF groceries again 🙂

    Yikes, I’m so sorry to hear that there have been more muggings. Definitely a good idea to get work done in the morning/daylight hours! Be safe, Sarah! I’m thinking of you!

  6. 6 jenngirl Monday, April 13, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    yes we can do it, I’m in the home stretch too!

    I always get up earlier in order to get stuff done, I’m just more productive in the mornings anyways. Good thing you’re stayin safe!

    I didn’t realize how many rules went along with Passover (I’m not Jewish) at least there’s almond butter!

  7. 7 Sharon Monday, April 13, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Yes, the final stretch!!! We can totally get through this! LOL!

  8. 8 Melissa S. Monday, April 13, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    my coworker is jewish and has been living off of matza pizza for the past few days…and i must say it’s super yummy !haha!

    and you’re almost done! keep it up babe! YOU CAN DO IT!

  9. 10 Bec Monday, April 13, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Good luck with the final push, I am in the last week of mine, just one more assignment!!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

