Lazy Day

I’ve been a lazy bum today! I woke up early as usual this morning but wasn’t feeling too hot after all that wine last night so I ended up lounging in bed until around 9:45! I eventually made my way downstairs when I smelled coffee brewing!

Breakfast

Matzo with butter and jelly and fruit. Matzo plain is dry and sort of mehh, but add some butter to it and it is a whole new food! It’s actually sort of amazing how much the flavor changes! I forgot to mention this last night, but the reason we eat matzo is because when the Pharoh told the Jews they could leave, they had to get out immediately before he had a chance to change his mind, and didn’t have time to wait for their bread to rise before baking, and ended up making matzo!

img_33631

After breakfast I went to the gym. I love my gym here so much! It seriously puts my school gym to shame and I am so spoiled by the new, clean, functioning equipment, never having to wait for a cardio machine, tvs!, towels, water, air conditioning, the list goes on and on! The only thing I don’t like is that all the old ladies walk around totally naked in the locker room! It’s so awkward because they always want to chat but I have a really hard time carrying on a conversation with a naked person! Anyway, I was feeling a little queasy so I kept it simple with 30 minutes on the elliptical and 20 minutes walking on a steep incline on the treddy. Followed by tons of stretching. I felt so much better afterward.

Lunch

I picked up another big, colorful salad on the way home. I also had some fage. 

img_33641

img_33651

Then I went out with my Dad to our favorite bar for a drink. I was not feeling any more alcohol though so I just stuck with a diet coke! He ordered some cheese fries and even though they are so awful for you I just couldn’t resist snagging a few. Being limited to matzo has really left my body craving carbs, and the fact that I have to go back to school tomorrow left me craving comfort food as well!

Snack

Then I came home and took a nap! It felt so good to get all warm and cozy and doze. Mmmmm, simple pleasures! I woke up and had some chocolate covered matzo and the juiciest red pear ever to hold me over until dinner.

img_3366

Dinner

I didn’t feel like cooking anything tonight so I just heated up some more of my Grandma’s matzo ball soup with chicken and matzo for dippage.

img_3367

Dessert

I had some raspberry coconut roll and flourless chocolate cake. We put the cake in the fridge and it really firmed up. I think it was supposed to be in there all along! It wasn’t like pudding at all today but was really thick and dense; almost like a big piece of fudge. It was so incredible rich and chocolatey but now I sort of have a tummy-ache. I enjoyed eating it at the time but now I’m sort of regretting it. I just feel sort of blech.

img_3368

I feel like I haven’t been eating very well lately and I know that the eating during Passover is an exception, but I still feel like I need to make a change. There have been a few too many unphotoed nibbles and bites and I’m definitely noticing the effects in my mood, energy, and on my body. I went shopping yesterday and it was not a pleasant experience. Nothing was fitting right and it put me in a pretty foul mood. Anyway, I think I’m going to recommit myself to eating better. I’m going to make more of an effort to keep the sweets and indulgent desserts to a special occasion basis so that I can enjoy them without as much guilt as I have been recently. I’ve noticed a few bloggers taking part in the After Dinner Challenge and I think I’m going to jump on board! Until the end of April I’m going to stop eating after dinner since this is definitely when I have the most difficulties. If I am genuinely hungry I can have a piece of fruit. I think this is a good challenge and I’m looking forward to it and how I am going to feel when it’s done and I hope you will all support me with this.

Ok, I’m off to get one last good night of sleep, safe and sound (literally), until May 17. See you tomorrow back in Boston.

9 Responses to “Lazy Day”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Hang in there, girl!! Enjoy the eats 🙂

  2. 2 Julz Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Here We Go: YOU DID AMAZING. Period. During this time, the Jews did the BEST they could do. SURE, they COULD have done more, but you know what? IT WAS ENOUGH. AND YOU KNOW WHAT SAR? YOU DID BEAUTIFULLY. You did what you did, you did fabulously! This is balance, baby. You worked out this morning, REJUVENATING YOUR SPIRIT, and of course, as we discussed, it is SO AWFUL to shop for clothes in recovery, BUT: Everything levels out. Your body has been through hell, my dear one. And it is making sure it can sustain. Our bodies are BRILLIANT, as are YOU. And you are NOT defined by your body. We are souls WITH bodies, and NOT body’s with souls. YOU are the gift. Your body is the beautiful temple that carries the gift throughout the world. The temple that brought such a treasured gift to ALL OF US. Smile at Fear, Sar. Ed will tell you that you will not be okay unless you turn to HIM. HE WANTS YOU GONE. BUT THAT IS NOT AN OPTION ANYMORE, OKAY LIMP DICK? WE WANT HER HERE. AND SHE WANTS TO BE HERE. You will feel SO MUCH BETTER in a few days, I promise you that. A few days of jumping back on the healthy-NORMAL Sarah train, and you will be back, as good as YOU (not new.).

    Remember my precious one, we are SOULS WITH BODIES. In NO WAY are we defined by those bodies, unless our souls disappear. That is anorexia. We are only bodies with Ed. Fat, Thin, Big, Small: Ed. We are defined by our bodies, ONLY in our eating disorders. Free from our Eating Disorders, WE run the show. Be still, Princess. All is kind. I adore you and am here. Talk to me. <333

  3. 3 Sharon Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I love your delicious eats. I think you are doing quite well overall, but best wishes on the challenge!

  4. 4 Ashley C. Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    I definitely have a problem with snacking after dinner, but I honor it if I’m legitimately hungry– or even if I’m not. Last night me & peanut-butter filled pretzels had a little encounter— big encounter actually that resulted in half an empty bag & a sick tummy. They are so freaking addicting it’s ridiculous! But I think the worse thing to do is to blame yourself with guilt, even better if I never did it though. Good luck with the challenge, but do make sure you’re eating enough through the day so you’re not actually hungry after dinner.
    Looks like you had a good trip at home, I know you’re going to be sad to leave tomorrow but remember you’re almost done with school!
    Happy Easter!

  5. 5 jenngirl Sunday, April 12, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Please don’t be too hard on yourself Sarah. Being able to enjoy some treats now and then is such a blessing, you don’t want to put a bad vibe on it. I understand feeling “blech” sometimes, but remember you ARE healthy, and doing wonderfully!!

    Happy Easter!

  6. 6 ksgoodeats Sunday, April 12, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Your making me want to try matzo! Oh gosh, old ladies naked kind of scares me – I mean power to them for being confident enough to be naked but I don’t really want to see it! Simple pleasures 😀

    Lovey, don’t be too hard on yourself! You are fabulous no matter what!!

  7. 7 Jenn (eating bender) Sunday, April 12, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Oh boy, I have a lot of naked old ladies in my gym at SCHOOL, lol! They are insane.

    I ❤ you and I am very intrigued by this after dinner challenge. I think I’m going to try it with you…haha I feel so funny commenting when I’m talking to you at the same time!

  8. 8 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Sunday, April 12, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    The matzo with some pb & j sounds like such a good idea!!! Way to get creative!! haha!
    And yes sarah, I am with julz & jenn….you definitely didn’t over do it!! You are a normal human girl who ate WAYYYYY better than so many people (healthy & not so healthy) this weekend!! You had a GREAT workout today and sounds like you had a yummy lunch and some delicious desserts too!! I’m jealous of all the good stuff you go to eat!

    Remember, you are graduating soon, how crazy is that?!?!! Get excited, and try not to beat yourself up so much, you are doing great! 🙂

  9. 9 burpexcuzme Monday, April 13, 2009 at 8:42 am

    wow, that’s a lot of matzo! now I’m craving some myself, though I have never tried it before! how does it taste like?
    are you really gonna do the after dinner challenge? good luck in that! but hey, a little bit of snacks here and there won’t do you no harm! everyone indulges in snacks now and then!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

