Prepping for Passover

Hey guys! Tonight my family is having our Passover seder since we weren’t home to do it on Wednesday night. I am so excited! Passover has always been my favorite holiday and I love the seder with all the eating, drinking, and laughing which accompanies the telling of the story of how the Jews escaped from being slaves in Egypt. The whole night is celebrating how while we were once slaves, we are now free. My favorite part is the “4 Questions” which asks why this night is different from all other nights. I can go into more detail tonight when I have pictures of the seder if you want me to! I also like how you drink 4 glasses of wine throughout the seder. Although there is a real significance to the wine, I also think it is so that you don’t realize how dry the matzo really is.

I can’t wait to start cooking a prepping for tonight. Here’s a funny little tidbit about me: between the ages of 12-15 I really wanted to be a Rabbi! Then, when it finally hit me that I have the absolute worst singing voice of anyone you have ever, or will ever meet, I reasoned that I probably shouldn’t subject an innocent congregation to that sort of cruel and unusual punishment.

Anyway, here’s what I’ve been up to so far today.

Breakfast

Yogurt with nectarine and berries.

img_3350

Then I went and visited my Grandpa in the rehabilitation center. I’m so happy to say that he is doing much better. He was very coherent and we had a nice conversation. He was also dressed and in his wheelchair instead of in a hospital gown in bed which was great!

Lunch

We stopped at Whole Foods on the way home to pick up some desserts. Since most Passover treats suck, we figured that if a good Passover cake exists it would be from WF. The one we picked looks delicious so I hope it doesn’t disappoint! We also got some chocolate covered matzo which we broke into on the way home. 

img_3351

It would be blasphemous to leave WF without hitting up the salad bar so I obviously did that for my lunch. Mmmm.

img_3352

Ok, gotta hit the kitchen!

8 Responses to “Prepping for Passover”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, April 10, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Sooo glad that your grandfather is doing better – I’m still praying for him.

    Enjoy the seder!!

  2. 2 Tracey Friday, April 10, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Happy Pesach! I’m Jewish and it’s so nice to find a blogger whose holidays I can relate to. I feel the same way about Passover – love it! Enjoy tonight, and I’m so happy to hear that your grandfather is doing better!

  3. 3 lilveggiepatch Friday, April 10, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Does that matzo have ALMONDS on it too? Yum! Glad your grandpa is doing better. Have a great time tonight! Hope you’ll be drinking something tastier than Maneshewitz…

  4. 4 verbalriot Friday, April 10, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    have a good time with the fam tonight!

  5. 5 ksgoodeats Friday, April 10, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    I’m sadly pretty ignorant when it comes to Passover so I would ADORE a post about it!! 4 glasses of vino sounds pretty doable to me 😉

    Glad your grandpa is doing better!!

  6. 6 Melissa Friday, April 10, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Enjoy your evening!!

    And that’s good news about your Grandfather!

    YUM to the salmon. I might give that a try tomorrow. 🙂

  7. 7 Bec Friday, April 10, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Enjoy the night with your family!

  8. 8 Sharon Friday, April 10, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Wow, that salad looks amazing!
    And chocolate covered matzo? Totally delicious looking!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

