Passover

Yo yo yo what up??? Did you know that Ludacris is coming to my school to preform at the end of the month? so are the Decembrists. COOL! Anyway, we just finished Passover seder and it was SO FUN. I LOVE MY FAMILY  and I love Seder. We had so much fun celebrating the fact that we are no longer slaves in Egypt but rather we are FREE.

4 glasses of wine later (except really only like 3 because I couldn’t have all 4! I’m a lightweight) and here we gooooooooo:

Here is your education lesson for the day. Forget paying $50,000+ a year for an education, you can learn for free!

This is the set up: We have the Matzo covered in a paper towel, wine for us, plus a glass for Elijah the prophet who goes to every single seder and has a glass—I don’t know how he doesn’t get drunk! He is like Santa but he doesn’t leave presents and he gets wine instead of milk and cookie! WOOOHOOO what a great job!

Also included in this lovely photo is the seder plate which I willl explain if you continue reading! The bowl of water is actually salt water which represents the tears the Jews shed during their affliction.
img_3354

The Passover seder tells the story of how the Jews escape from the evil Pharoh who made them slaves in Egypt. God made 10 plagues, including the slaying of the first born, which the Jews avoided by marking their doors. When the plagues got to be too much Pharoh said “GO!” and the Jews ran for it. The got to the Red Sea and were stuck until God parted the sea and the Jews ran across. Then, they spent 40 years wandering the desert. In the midst of this they got to Mt. Sinai where God gave Moses the 10 Commandments. YAY! Finally they reached the land of Israel!

While telling this wonderful story we started with a lovely bottel of Malbec. It was good =!

img_3353

The next bottle we opened was an Organic Cab Sav. YUM! This was one of the best wines I’ve ever had. It was so smooth.

img_3355

Here we have me dipping into the Charoset which is a combination of apples, cinnamon, spices, raisins, almonds, apriots, and lots more! It represents the mortor that the Jews used to buid the pyramids in Egypt.

img_3356

Next we have a sandwich with Matzo, Charoset, and Moror (bitter herbs aka Horseradish and beets) The moror/bitter herbs represents the hardships that the Jews endured.
img_3357

After the story comes DINNER!

Matzo Ball Soup sent over by my Grandma:

img_3358

Grandma’s Brisket, and my roasted brussels sprouts and sweet potato fries

img_33591

And the best part: DESSSERTTTTTSS!!! courtesy of Whole Foods:

Chocolate coverred Matzo, Almond Macaroons, and Flourless Chocolate Cake. Apparently when they say ‘flourless’ they mean PUDDING. This was NOT cake. IT was still good though! ANd since it was Whole Foods and so expensive we decided that rather than the pedestrian term of “pudding” which remidns me of Bill Cosby and Jello—we would term it mousse. Whatever it was, it was DEEEE-licious!

 

img_3360

Well I hope you all learned somehting! Tomorrow is my last full day home SAD!Hope you’re all enjoying your Friday night! See you tomorrow!

12 Responses to “Passover”


  1. 1 verbalriot Friday, April 10, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    matza ball soup is sooooooooooooo goood!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Friday, April 10, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Ludacris AND the Decembrists??? Score!!

    Wonderful Seder – thank you for sharing all about it!! And…

    SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!! 😀

    Enjoy your last day at home, girl!!

  3. 3 BB Friday, April 10, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    ahhh im so jealous. I love the decembrists. Thanks for sharing some of your traditions. I’ve learned something new!

  4. 4 ksgoodeats Friday, April 10, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    I’d rather have Elijah at my party than Santa 😉

    Thanks for giving me a Passover lesson! I actually understand it now!! Enjoy your last full day at home (for now)!!

  5. 5 lilveggiepatch Friday, April 10, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    AHH I want to go to your school! We have Blackalicious coming… they’re the first band that’s coming that I’ve actually heard of before!

    Glad you had a fun seder… your treats look SO GOOD. I’m trying to plan a trip to Boston after May 21… will you be gone already?

  6. 6 Sharon Friday, April 10, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Oh wow, thanks so much for sharing. I didn’t know about this at all. So, it’s really neat to kind of “sit in” and learn so much!

  7. 7 Sarah Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Only you could combine Ludicrous, Jewish tradition and Bill Cosby all in one post.

    Well done, my friend, well done.

    Enjoy the rest of your time at home!!!

  8. 8 Anna Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Thank you for posting this – it was so informative! I have so many Jewish frieds here at school and it’s so great to learn more about their culture.

    The Decemberists and Ludicrists – 2 totally different kinds of musics, both will absolutely rock!

    Have a great rest of your weekend!

  9. 9 Bec Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Wow how exciting about the concerts at your school, so fun!

  10. 10 landoffruitsandnuts Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks for the passover lesson- that is so interesting & looks like such a great fun tradition. I wanna try some Charoset- that looks delicious

  11. 11 cleanveggiex3 Saturday, April 11, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    matzo ball soup!! YUMMM
    seems like you had a fabulous time 🙂

  12. 12 Jenn (eating bender) Sunday, April 12, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Yay for WINE! Where would we be without it?!

    I totally learned something on this post! I learned that I really want to go to a Seder…especially one at Sarah’s house! I love all the Whole Foods desserts and the matzo ball soup looks superb!

    Ludacris and the Decembrists?! That’s awesome. I wonder who we are getting this year…

    SO glad you had fun!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

