Simple Pleasures

Earlier today K posted about some of her simple pleasures and I thought I would copy her. Here’s what I came up with:

1. Warm, sunny days
2. Pouring rain when I am warm and cozy inside
3. Warm drinks (coffee, tea, hot chocolate)
4. Soft blankets and comfy clothes
5. Curling up on the couch with a good book
6. The smell of freshly made baked goods
7. A long, hot shower
8. Perfectly manicured nails
9. Fresh sheets
10.Sunsets (and long walks on the beach…) hahah CHEESY

I got a lot of these done today: 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, and 9. It was a very good, very stress-free day which was exactly what I needed!

Snack

I decided to take a little break from 3, 4, 5 and make a snack: pudding and mandelbrot cookies. These were pretty decent for passover food. The other problem with Passover snacks are that they are so calorie dense and not-so-good for you being filled with sugar, butter, and eggs. These 2 itty bitty guys had 140 calories in them, and they weren’t even that good, definitely not worth it!

img_3346

I then went to the grocery store and bought some good, healthy, nutritious, and delicious snacks to have around the house. I couldn’t resist having some dried fruit and nuts when I got home. Yes, this is very calorie dense too, but at least it is real food that I’m getting lots of nutrients from.

img_3347

Dinner

I got my butt into the kitchen tonight and made a delicious grilled salmon with lots of spices which I put on top of a big salad. This was so good and I felt great eating it. It was light and healthy but very satisfying. 

img_3348

Dessert

I spent the rest of the night watching an NBC marathon full of The Office and 30 Rock with my Dad. It was great. For dessert I had some raspberry coconut roll which was actually pretty good.

img_3349

And that’s that! See you tomorrow!

7 Responses to “Simple Pleasures”


  1. 1 Sharon Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I love nuts, they are perfect!

  2. 2 lilveggiepatch Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Mmm, salmon that doesn’t have to be thawed and isn’t circular! What a good life. That raspberry coconut roll looks a-ma-zing, too!

  3. 3 Bec Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Love so many things on that list, but especially #2!

  4. 4 Jenn (eating bender) Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    YAY! I am so, so glad that you got home safe and sound and that you are enjoying yourself 🙂 You totally deserve to be a rebel! I love your list of simple pleasures – a lot of them I would have put on my own list…and even better that you got to enjoy many of them today!

    Mmm love the grilled salmon salad! I think fish + salad go so well together – I need to make it more often!

    The raspberry coconut roll looks delish! Have a wonderful night and enjoy EVERY minute at home!

  5. 5 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Friday, April 10, 2009 at 1:34 am

    That roll looks absolutely heavenlyyyy 🙂

    so glad you are having a great, relaxing time at home!

  6. 6 VeggieGirl Friday, April 10, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Hooray for simple pleasures and being at home!! 🙂

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Friday, April 10, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Great list – we share a lot of simple pleasures! 🙂 I love that cherry tomato peeking out of you salad bowl!

    NBC Thursday nights is the best! Did you watch Parks and Rec.?


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

