Feels Good

Mmmm, it feels so good to be home! I slept like a rock last night in my comfy bed without the fear of someone breaking through my window in the middle of the night. I just wish this break was a little longer! Oh, and I think you guys all got the wrong idea—this isn’t actually a real break from school—we don’t have any days off from classes, I’m just being a rebel and skipping them! Haha. It’s just that in 4 years of college I’ve legit missed like 2 classes total so I figure I deserve to break the rules every once in a while!

Breakfast

I got up this morning, made a delicious latteย and made a big breakfast: fage, apple, berries and matzo. I love matzo the first few days and then I get so sick of it!

img_3341

ย 

img_3340

After I digested a bit I headed down to put in some time on the treddy. I ran a little over 3 miles and then walked for about 15 minutes. I was nice and sweaty by the end!

Lunch

I just finished lunch and it was incredible. I just made matzo brei, which to me is the definition of comfort food. I have so many fond memories of my mom and my grandma making this for me when I was a little girl, and it’s probably the first thing I remember ever learning how to cook as I have memories of sitting on the counter next to the sink and running the matzo under cold water for my mom. I made my own version today to keep things light and healthy, and simple. Basically this is like french toast, but with matzo! I ran the matzo under water to soften it and then added it to a mixture of egg beaters, splash of milk, lots of cinnamon, and a pinch of salt. Then I fried it up and served it with a little bit of maple syrup. SO, SO GOOD!

img_3344

Alright, I’m off to do some homeworkย enjoy my time at home, see you later!

11 Responses to “Feels Good”


  1. 1 ksgoodeats Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    So glad you’re home and loving it!! That matzo brei sounds incredible!

  2. 2 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Delicous eats!!! And love that magazine =) Glad you are home and happy!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    HOORAY!!! Enjoy your time at home immensely ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love RR’s magazine – guilty as charged.

  4. 4 Sarah Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Rachael Ray? REALLY?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’ll forgive you, someday…

    Have so much fun at home with the fams!

  5. 5 Sarah Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    matzo brei, ahhhhhhhhh! passover is my favorite favorite holiday and i’m so happy it’s here (even though i don’t actually do anything differently from normal aside from enthusiastically eating mountains of charoset and gefilte fish, yayyyyy). speaking of jewishness and all, i also just caught up on a million of your posts, and i love your israel pics! i did birthright israel in 2007, and your photos remind me so much of my trip. everything we saw there was breathtaking and gorgeous. thanks for the trip down memory lane ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 6 Nicole Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I saw matzo brei on Rachel Ray yesterday!

  7. 7 verbalriot Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    yay so glad you’re home and sleeping in your comfy bed and enjoying comfort foods ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to do the same thing next week!

  8. 8 cleanveggiex3 Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    i love matzo even though im not jewish ๐Ÿ™‚ I think its delicious – your lunch sounds awesome!!

  9. 9 Sharon Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Hahaha Rachel Ray! Love your delicious eats!

  10. 10 lilveggiepatch Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    That latte looks like HEAVEN! I’m impressed with your foaming skills… I’ve never learned how to do it.

    Mm, I have some RR “news” to share in a less public setting… really not that interesting, actually!

    Glad you’re having such a nice time ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. 11 Hangry Pants Friday, April 10, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I love the matza french toast you made! I love comfort foods. ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

