TGIF?

Ok, so it’s actually only Wednesday but it’s the end of the week for me and I’m going home! That officially makes it the best Wednesday ever! I couldn’t post last night because my internet was out again—story of my life. Ugh. And we found more cinderblocks piled up outside a window which means our thief is back and trying to break into our house again. We notified the police and they said they’re going to keep an eye on it, but come on! This break definitely came at the perfect time–I need to get out of this house!

Breakfast

Finished up the soy milk in a big bowl of cereal. Mmmm. Then I got to packing and finishing up some assignments so all I have to do this weekend is get started on some research! If anyone has some good resources for analyzing how the Marshall Plan, specifically in West Germany made the Cold War inevitable, let me know!

img_3331

Lunch

After class I went to work for a little bit and came back to make lunch before I hit the road again. Since I’m going to be limited to matzo this week I wanted some warm, gooey carbs! I had Annie’s mac & cheese with salmon and spinach. I love this, it is so comforting! I also had a pear and a little dark chocolate for lunch dessert!

img_3332

img_3334

img_3335

Passover

I’m about to head to the airport where I have a connecting flight through Detroit. Ugh. Yes, so I will be literally flying over my house (I’ll wave out the window) and then on for another hour only to turn around and fly back. Boo. But I guess it was worth it for the $200 some we saved. I don’t get home until around 8 tonight, so I think I’m going to pick up dinner at the airport and have that as my last non-Passover meal for the week. I’m thinking cookies and muffins and cake? Haha.

So here’s the deal: since my flight gets in too late to go to Seder tonight at my cousins house, and my mom and sister are out of town until Friday, we’re postponing our seder until then. I’m still going to be keeping Passover though. And what exactly does that entail, you may ask? Well, everyone is different, but for me I follow the rules pretty strictly meaning: no wheat, oats, rye, barley, spelt, corn (and all it’s derivatives, like corn syrup, corn starch, and HFCS), peanuts, and legumes (including soy). 

It’s definitely going to be difficult, but I can handle it pretty easily when I’m at home and have access to so much fresh foods and a kitchen; when I get back to school on Sunday though I really don’t know what I’m going to do! It should be interesting!

Ok, off to the airport, see you all from Pittsburgh!

10 Responses to “TGIF?”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 11:40 am

    END OF THE WEEK FOR ME TOO!!! NO CLASSES UNTIL TUESDAY!! Love Easter break 🙂

    Hang in there with the seder, girl – stay positive and remember that holidays are for family time. **hugs**

  2. 2 Anna Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I totally hate the lack of direct flights to Pittsburgh! I’ve been to Detroit, Philly, DC, and a few other places, all adding time to my journey.

    The weather is supposed to be a little better this weekend (no snow). Enjoy your time here in the Burgh!

  3. 3 Sharon Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 11:42 am

    HORRAAYYY for easter break!
    Hope all goes well!!

  4. 4 Bec Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    have fun at home! Its almost my weekend, just one more day!!!!

  5. 5 lilveggiepatch Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Have a safe flight and have a GREAT time at home! Happy Pasach 🙂

  6. 6 Haleigh Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I hope you have a safe trip home!

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    That’s terrifying! Stay safe, please!!

    Hey now, nothing wrong with Dtown 😉 We actually have a pretty nice airport if you end up in McNamara! I know what you mean though, airlines sometimes make you take the strangest routes!

  8. 8 landoffruitsandnuts Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    That is seriously freaky about the thief! Stay safe & have a great trip! Good luck with Passover- I don’t think I could do it!

  9. 9 broccolihut Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    So jealous of you girls with the weekend off. Have a good one!

  10. 10 Lizzy Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Have fun at home!!! sounds like your off to some great family time! I can’t wait to see all your passover eats!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

