Reminiscing

Lately I have been thinking a lot about my summer in Israel back in 2007. It was the best time of my life and I miss it so much. Never before have I felt so genuinely happy, carefree, satisfied with myself, free, [insert any and every positive adjective you can think of]. This trip occurred in the midst of my unhappy college experience and right after a really tough period in my life.

I did something totally uncharacteristic of me and enrolled in a program at the University of Haifa to learn Hebrew. I went not knowing a single person, and I’m not going to lie, I was very nervous. But after my scary adventure of getting myself from the U.S. to Tel Aviv and then somehow finding a way to Haifa, things just fell into place. I made amazing, life-long friends from all over the world. And it was the first time in a long time (and now the last time in a long time) that I hadn’t counted down the days waiting for something to change. I was content and loved every day and every minute, and even wished time would slow down so that I could stay there for longer. I really hope that I can feel like that again!

Anyway, since today is so dreary and grey, I thought I would show you some pictures of happy, sunny, beautiful Israel.

Haifa:

img_0295
img_0335

The Western Wall:

img_0370

I had a really emotional experience the first time I came here. It is just so big, and so old and represents so much. Throughout the centuries countless people have died to protect it and everything it symbolizes. I wish I could be more eloquent about it, but basically it just gave me the chills being there. There is a tradition that I took part in: When you go to the wall you write down your wishes, dreams, prayers, and anything you want to tell God. Then you fold up the paper and stick it in the cracks of the wall. It was such a moving experience and I felt such a deep religious connection that I haven’t ever experienced before.

Jordan:

img_0381

After my program was over, a friend I made there and I travelled for a week. We felt like we were on the Amazing Race since we were constantly moving and visiting amazing places. One day we went to Petra, Jordan. It was such a bizarre experience crossing the border, and I have to admit I was a little bit scared. We pretty much just walked across, it was crazy.

Petra:
img_0412

The ancient city of Petra is one of the 7 Wonders of the World. And with good reason, it was amazing! The buildings are built directly into the mountain. I have no clue how they managed that, it was spectacular! Look at how small the people are in comparison!

Border Crossing:

img_0415

So, being blonde and obviously American, I was sort of a target for unwanted attention during my time abroad. My friends all unanimously declared me the winner of ‘Being hit on my the most sketchy guys’ award. When we were leaving Jordan to go back to Israel, the guard asked me if he could take a picture with me. Now, I obviously didn’t want to piss off a border guard and somehow not be allowed out of the country, so I obliged. Well….about 5 seconds after this picture was taken he legit grabbed my ass!! I’m not even kidding! I was shocked, and had no idea how to react. Let’s just say we got out of there fast.

Masada:

img_0419

We got up early one morning to climb Mt. Masada. This is not an easy hike, especially in the midst of summer in a desert! Even though we left before sunrise it was excruciatingly hot, but so worth it when we got to see the sun rise.

img_0424

img_0427

Ein Gedi:

img_0431

I’m not sure how to flip this picture! But here we are in literally an oasis in the middle of a desert. You know how when you do relaxation exercises and you are supposed to think of a relaxing, peaceful place; this is what I think of!

Steelers Yarmulke : 

img_0433

Yep, we’re everywhere : )

Sunset over Jerusalem:

img_0434

 

Going though all those pictures just makes me want to go back even more! 

I hope you enjoyed them, if you want I can do a recap of my European adventures sometime too!

See you later : )

13 Responses to “Reminiscing”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, April 6, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Such beautiful, astounding memories and photos, girl – thank you for sharing!! I’d DEFINITELY love a recap of your European travels!!

  2. 2 Sharon Monday, April 6, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    LOL to him asking to take a picture withyou!!!!!

  3. 3 ksgoodeats Monday, April 6, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    GORGEOUS! Seriously, everything looks stunning! Thanks for sharing!! What a creepster boarder agent!

  4. 4 Melissa S. Monday, April 6, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    What a great bunch of pictures sarah! it looks like you had a wonderful time!! and i would love to see other recaps of travels!!!

  5. 5 Bec Monday, April 6, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    wow what a great adventure!

  6. 6 Anna Monday, April 6, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Yeah Steeler Nation!

    That guard sounds like an uber creeper. They’re everywhere.

    Your trip looks and sounds incredible!

  7. 7 jenngirl Monday, April 6, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    That’s a beautiful perspective Sarah. I know exactly what you mean, and I truly hope that you can find that feeling again very soon!! 🙂

  8. 8 lilveggiepatch Monday, April 6, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Great picture! I want to go to Israel SO badly… freaking Madoff stealing money from Birthright! Coincidentally we talked about both your trip AND the Steelers today…

    And yes, Euro re-cap, please!

  9. 9 verbalriot Monday, April 6, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    i’ve been to Israel, it’s so beautiful there! Beautiful trip!

  10. 10 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, April 6, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Wow! Thank you for sharing this amazing experience with us. I am so glad that it made you truly happy and you are positively beaming in all of these pictures – even the one with sketchy border guard man 😉 Not only did he grab your ass, his arm looks dangerously close to grabbing something else in that picture! LOL! Good times! And that other boy…I think you may have mentioned him to me before, no?

  11. 11 Rose Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 9:11 am

    These pictures are amazing. Wow, what a trip!

  12. 12 landoffruitsandnuts Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 2:21 am

    Wow, these pictures are beautiful- it makes me want to go there too! It sounds like a great time, thanks for sharing 🙂


  1. 1 4 Years « Live, Laugh, Love Trackback on Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

