European Adventures

I had a lot of fun recapping my Israel trip so I was pretty excited to reminisce about my European adventures as well.

Fall Semester of my Junior year I studied abroad in Sevilla, Spain. I was part of a “Business and Society” Program and all my classes were taught in Spanish and I lived with a host family. While I enjoyed my semester abroad for the most part, it just didn’t compare to my amazing summer in Israel. The kids on my program were fun but I didn’t make the same connections as I had with my Israel friends, and I did not like my host family at all. The family consisted of a mom, dad, a 7 year old, and a 17 year old. Unfortunately they weren’t all that friendly and didn’t make a great effort to get to know me. I really think that my not-so-great living experience definitely negatively tainted my semester, but I don’t regret going at all. I had an amazing time traveling and got to visit and experience so many different cultures. It was great!

Ok, this will be long but here we go:

Sevilla:

img_0437

img_0514

img_0537

Madrid:

img_0580

Churros y chocolate. HOLY YUMMMMMMM!Β 

img_0589

Lagos, Portugal:

img_0641

Yes, those are shots of absinthe. Let’s just say, it was a once in a lifetime experience and I’d like to keep it that way.

img_0660

We had quite an adventure getting back from Portugal. We actually missed the last bus of the day and proceeded to get home by 1) taking a train 2) followed by a bus 3) followed by a ferry 4) followed by another bus. Definitely another time where I felt like I was on the Amazing Race!

Paris: My Favorite City on Earth

img_0773

Β 

img_0822

One of my good friends that I made in Israel is French and had an apartment in the Marais district. I stayed with him for a few nights and it was one of the best experiences of my life. It was so great seeing Paris with the help of a Parisian. We obviously stopped at a famous Falafel place to relive our Israel trip. First of all, the falafel was amazing and it really brought back memories of the summer since everyone was speaking Hebrew!

Granada:

img_0881

My Mom and sister came to visit me! It was one of the highlights of my trip!

n556903174_5851

Of of the top 10 funniest moments of my life happened on this trip! We were out to dinner one night and my mom wanted me to order for her since she speaks no Spanish, but it was in a very touristy area and the menu was in English so I told her to just order for herself in English. Well, she must have taken me a little too literally because in the most exaggerated British accent I have ever heard she goes “I’ll have the lammmmmb chops” My sister and I lost it. It was hysterical! We joke about it to this day!

We also ordered some delectable chocolate cake:

img_0885

Florence:

n8617574_40296456_7105

I don’t know if you can tell, but that is Penis shaped pasta! I’m so mature.

n8617574_40296737_8780

Getting out of Italy was also quite an adventure. Our flight left at like 6 am and instead of paying for another night at a hostel we thought it would be a good idea to just get to the airport when we were done going out for the night and spend the night there. Well, apparently airports in Italy aren’t open 24/7! They kicked us out and we spent a few hours in the freezing cold! As you can tell, we put on every single piece of clothing we brought with us. Oh, and that man is some random Italian who decided to befriend us! He didn’t speak much English but it was fun trying to communicate with him!

Barcelona, my favorite city in Spain:

img_0956

img_0993

Morocco:

img_0692

I’m wish I could tell you that these are rubber chickens. They’re not. I ate strictly vegetarian that weekend!

img_0724

img_0721

Looking back at these pictures makes me want to travel again so badly! I had some really great adventures and these pictures don’t even begin to show all the amazing places I saw.Β 

Now that I’ve been to Europe and the Middle East, I think my next journey should be to South America—anyone want to join me?

17 Responses to “European Adventures”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, April 6, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    SPAIN is actually the one country in Europe that I haven’t ventured to yet – incredible photos, girl!! And hooray for holy yum churros πŸ˜€

  2. 2 Sharon Monday, April 6, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Oh wow, such gorgeous pictures!

  3. 3 carolinebee Monday, April 6, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    omg..churros con chocolate, tortilla de patata, tapas- i’m dying right now πŸ˜€ Spain is so beautiful. I will FOR sure go to South America with ya, i’m actually leaving for Costa Rica on friday, eee!

  4. 4 Bec Monday, April 6, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Ahh this post made me so exciting! I spend a month in Spain/Portugal with my family when I was 12. Barcelona is also my favorite city in Spain πŸ™‚ Whenever we see dead animals like those chickens my family refers to them as unidentified dead thing…

  5. 5 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, April 6, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Oh my gosh!! This is so amazing! Churros con chocolate is definitely one of my favorite treats of all time. Oooh, and absinthe – I bet that has a story behind it πŸ˜‰ I love the pictures of you in Paris – I can’t wait to go back there some day! But I also really want to visit Spain now, it looks absolutely breathtaking.

    I love the story with your mom and her British accent. Totally sounds like something my mom would do!

    I want to go to South America! My dream is to someday climb Machu Picchu in Peru!!

  6. 6 lilveggiepatch Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 12:20 am

    I know where those falafel are from! YUM. I miss Paris!!!

  7. 8 Hil Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Me too! I have never traveled abroad except to Mexico, and this needst to change!

  8. 9 ksgoodeats Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Hahah too funny about the laahhhhmmmmb chops πŸ˜‰ Absinthe!! Ahhh!

  9. 10 Danielle Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    What amazing pictures, I’ve never been to Europe but hope to go one day!

  10. 11 Haleigh Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    What a fantastic trip! I love the photos, it looked like you had a great time! I can’t wait to go back to Europe!

  11. 12 Melissa S. Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    omg what an amazing trip all over the place! i’m so jealous you’ve been able to see so many places in so many countries! beyond amazing!!!

  12. 13 cleanveggiex3 Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    im sooo jealous you got to go to spain!!!
    it looks beautiful πŸ™‚

    thecleanveggie.wordpress.com

  13. 14 Andrea Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Maccu Piccu here we come! I want to go to Peru so badly!
    I honeymooned in Spain and we LOVED Sevilla and Granada. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  14. 15 landoffruitsandnuts Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Sounds like fun, let’s go! πŸ™‚
    It’s funny how it seems like everyone who travels to Europe has at least one story about missing a bus or something like that- have you ever noticed that?
    I loved all the pictures- especially the penis pasta and mound of churros (Now I want a churro!!)
    Have a safe trip home!

  15. 16 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Thursday, April 9, 2009 at 12:52 am

    It was so fun looking at these pictures Sarah! All of those sites are gorgeous, and so is the food!!!


  1. 1 4 Years « Live, Laugh, Love Trackback on Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

