LAUGHTER

  • ***EDIT: This post starts normally but I have a serious revelation midway through that I didn’t even plan. My thoughts just kept flowing, and hopefully it makes sense!

We’re halfway through another week, yay! And I’m going home a week from today—double yayy!

Breakfast

Yogurt, pear, cereal mess. It was awesome, as usual.

img_3273

Then I went to class and got back my game theory exam and thought the professor was playing some kind of April Fools Day joke on me. Alas, he was not. It was just a horrible grade! Haha. Yikes! Oh well, I’m over it already. If I get a B in that class it won’t be the end of the world! I’m just glad that when I applied for jobs I still had a 4.0 Economics GPA because it certainly won’t be that way after this year!

Lunch

I had a meeting for the International Relations Honors Society right after class and then I had to go straight to yoga so I packed up lunch to go: honey peanut butter sandwich and an apple.

img_3272

Snack

Yoga was really good today. We did a ton of hip openers and I know I’m going to feel it tomorrow. The girl next to me fell asleep during savasna and was snoring! Hahah, it cracked me up but was pretty annoying at the same time.

I was starving after class and immediately dug into a new bar: Bora Bora Sesame Raisin.  I really liked it! I loved all the different flavors and textures and the healthy fats from all the nuts and seeds did a good job of holding me over.

img_3275

….Not too well though because I still somehow managed to have another bag of pirates booty as a little appetizer for dinner. This stuff is just so darn good!

img_3276

When I got home from the library I saw a wonderful package for me! Kristina from Stonyfield Yogurt sent me some coupons for Oikos Greek Yogurt. I haven’t tried this brand yet and I can’t wait! I’ve heard rave reviews and can’t wait to let you guys know what I think.

img_3274

Dinner

I tried out a new product for dinner tonight: Seeds of Change Indian Rice Blend which was really good! I had it with a quorn cutlet slathered in Country Bob’s BBQ sauce. Mmmmmm.

img_3277

img_3278

This meal was spicy though and my mouth was on fire when I finished. I immediately dove into a nice cool yogurt to calm the fire.

img_3279

Laughter

After dinner I hung out with some of my friends and had a blast. Now, I’m not a total Youtube virgin, but unless someone specifically sends me something, I never watch it. Well tonight we watched some hilarious videos and we were all dying impersonating them!

I LOVE LAUGHING. It’s seriously one of my favorite things to do. When you’re laughing—genuinely laughing (not the forced fake stuff) you can’t think about anything else. To me it’s just total freedom and happiness, and I love it. Last summer and last semester I don’t think I laughed once, not real, authentic laughter. I was way to preoccupied with other things to let myself go like that. The reason that I know that I rarely laughed is because I can pinpoint 2 exact times when it was authentic: Thanksgiving and my dinner out with my Dad at Mallorca.

This isn’t abnormal. When you are at a low, unhealthy weight, your body and your brain get sick. Now that I’m at a healthier place I am able to truly have fun, laugh, play, and exist. I love being fun, spontaneous, and silly. I love my sense of humor and my ability to listen and give advice. It’s my personality and character that defines me. But this completely disappeared when I was only focused on eating perfectly and exercising compulsively. I disappeared and all that was left was my skinny body with nothing in it, literally and figuratively. Slowly but surely I’m finding Sarah again, and I LIKE HER! Even if I’m still not happy with my new body, I am so much happier in life than I have been in a very long time.

Dessert

Anyway…I just had some biscotti and tea while reading about the Vietnam War. FUN! Actually I love history so it really isn’t that bad. I might have had a few more yogurt pretzels as well and they were delicious!

img_3280

I have an accounting exam tomorrow so I should go study some more for that. I love that class though and am seriously considering getting a Masters in Accounting eventually. Hmmm, why do I have to pick the absolute most boring profession to be so interested in? I guess it’s fitting though because my Accounting professor always says that accountants have the worst jokes and I have been known to make some pretty lame ones, so I guess it’s fate!

16 Responses to “LAUGHTER”


  1. 1 verbalriot Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I’m glad you can laugh and be genuine about it 🙂

    My cousin is an accountant and she LOVES her job! She’s pretty funny too!

  2. 2 Sharon Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Oh yes to laughing!!! =D
    And mmmm that rice looks amazing!

  3. 3 Bec Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    got to love a basic PB sammy!

  4. 4 erinbee. Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    mmm. laughing is wonderful.

    and ive been searching high
    and low for that tea ever
    since you raved about it. i
    cannot find it anywhere. sad.

  5. 5 carolinebee Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    This made me so happy 😀 It’s so funny how you know something is special or rare, because you can remember the EXACT few moments that it happened. Your journey and progress is so amazing and inspiring and I would LOVE to meet up and laaauugh with you sometime!!

  6. 6 Sarah Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 12:06 am

    YES!!!! This is exactly why I never want to be a “Skinny Bitch” again.

    Chris and I had a GREAT big laughfest the other night, and I think party of our laughter was just the relief that I am able to laugh again.

    I’m so glad you are too!

  7. 7 Caroline Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 12:15 am

    I am totally coveting that Stonyfield package! Lucky girl!

  8. 8 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 1:09 am

    I loved this post Sarah, gave me inspiration to push through with eating more and getting back to a healthier weight!! Can’t wait to have ME back! 🙂

    Glad you are having some genuinely hilarious moments, I miss those!

  9. 9 landoffruitsandnuts Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 2:58 am

    I’m so glad you are happy, laughing, and loving yourself! Life is way too short to be void of those things & I’m glad you’re back 😀
    I find your jokes pretty funny so I guess I’m lame too, lol.
    Good luck on your accounting test- my boyfriend is taking accounting and despises it. He has a test tomorrow and hasn’t opened the book and isn’t planning to- lol. Good job for studying & good luck!

  10. 11 Danielle Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Geniune laughter is the best, esepcially when the tears start flowing and your stomach hurts from laughing so hard.

  11. 12 Kristie Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Aw I love your laughter revelation. Laughter is amazing. Truly “the best medicine”.
    Sadly I don’t do it often enough. I used to laugh all the time way back in the day. I really truly miss it. I think winter, school and just life in general took it all out of me for a while. I’m ready to bring it back into my life!
    Youtube is wonderful to get the genuine laughter going. Like you, I never really watch it on my own time but it always seems to make me howl when people send me videos. I think daily youtube doses are in order from here on out 🙂

  12. 13 Jenn (eating bender) Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    This post makes me so happy! I love what you said about laughter because it is SO true. I find that only with real friends + family am I able to have real laughter. I guess that’s sort of common sense, but too often I neglect to remember that and forget how to have fun. This post was a great reminder 🙂 I love this Sarah just the way she is! And yay for coupons!

    I love all of your eats, too! That biscotti looks amazing. I have to say, so far I am really enjoying my accounting class, too. Both of my parents are CPAs…I sort of feel as though it is in my blood! We’ll see 😉

    I had such a great time chatting today, as always!!

  13. 14 Scoop Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Hi Sarah,
    I also liked your post about laughter and accepting your body despite it’s conditions. You are wise to feel and think this way, and you’re only in your early 20s. I didn’t sort this body-image/happiness thing until much later in my life. You are way ahead of the game…can’t wait to see what you are writing in the years to come.

  14. 15 Erin Friday, April 3, 2009 at 8:56 am

    What a wonderful realization you had 🙂 I’m so happy you’re seeing and feeling the effects of a healthier body!

  15. 16 Hangry Pants Saturday, April 4, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I love your laughter revelation and that you realized that being a little bigger is sometimes a lot better!

    Heather


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

