Freaking Out

Hey guys–I’m going to skip the full post tonight because I’m recovering from a pretty scary night. Someone broke into our house! Don’t worry—everyone is fine, just very shaken up.

One of the girls living on the 1st floor had just gotten home, dropped her stuff off in her room, cracked open her window a bit to get some air and went to use the bathroom. When she got out of the bathroom she saw a man in her room with her laptop, wallet, and purse. She started screaming and grabbed her purse and he dropped everything and ran to a truck with his friend waiting for him and they drove away.

There were about 6 cops in our house and is was very SVU. We think he was waiting outsider her window with a cinderblock in place to prop himself up and as soon as she left the room he broke the screen, opened the window and climbed it. Who knows how long he was waiting there for. Thank goodness he wasn’t armed or hurt anyone. It’s just so scary to think that someone was waiting outside our house and could have really hurt someone. I’m so glad that I live on the top floor, and even gladder that I only have 2 more months here.

Anyway, not to leave you totally image-less, here is the BEST SNACK EVER:

img_32481

Trader Joe’s Flaxseed Tortilla Chips and Salsa. Beyond amazing—after our drunken escapades last night with my friends, the bag is halfway gone!

Stay safe everyone!

20 Responses to “Freaking Out”


  1. 1 lilveggiepatch Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Oh my god Sarah that is SO SCARY. I’m so glad you’re all safe! Good to know the po-po are prompt.

  2. 2 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Oh my gosh glad you guys are all safe!! So scary! What is this world coming to!?

  3. 3 FoodsThatFit Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    That is so scary! I am so glad that everyone was o.k and that your roommate got her stuff!

  4. 4 Sharon Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Oh my goodness, I am so glad she is okay!!!

  5. 5 hjartas Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    yikes. i’m glad you’re all okay.

  6. 6 erinbee Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    oh man! i love those chips.
    i can easily go through half
    a bag in one sitting. sober.

    thank the lord the closest
    tjs is like three hours away.

  7. 7 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    I am so glad that no one got hurt!! Sorry about the incident, I am glad it ended up ok though!!!

    At least I’m sure that snack was amazing….chips & salsa will always be my favorite snack ever!

  8. 8 Caroline Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Whoa!! So creepy! Glad to hear you’re OK though. Have a good (SAFE) night!

  9. 9 Jenn (eating bender) Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 12:52 am

    I’m so sorry, Sarah! Reading your description again made me shiver – seriously, I can’t imagine and I hope that you are ok and sleeping soundly as I type this. I ❀ you!!

  10. 10 VeggieGirl Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 6:41 am

    OH MY GOODNESS GRACIOUS!!!! Stay safe!!! Thank goodness you weren’t hurt!!!

  11. 11 Nicole Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Oh my goodness, I am glad you all are safe! That is scary! 😦

  12. 12 Tina Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 9:01 am

    So sorry to hear your place was broken into! 😦 That’s horrible!! This happened to some friends of mine too. It must be SO scary to catch your intruder red handed like that, I would be so scared and not know what to do as I would assume he’d possibly have some kind of weapon and might hurt me.

    A friend of mine had her dorm room broken into, she was on the top floor of her building but they had these poles and planks going up all along the building for workers because they were repairing the outside of the building. She was away on vacation and when she got back from her trip someone had broken in to her room and stolen a bunch of her jewelry and her laptop! Ugh, so horrible.

  13. 13 Anna Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Oh my God that is so scary! I’m so glad everyone is safe though. Stuff like this is such a wake up call. I always have this totally fake sense of safety and control here at school, and I forget that I live in a scary city where bad stuff happens.

    Those chips are the best drunk good ever! I hope you have a good Sunday!

  14. 14 verbalriot Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 11:00 am

    that’s so scary! I’m so glad everyone’s okay! Hang in there!

  15. 15 Bec Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 11:03 am

    glad everyone is ok, definitely a scary situation though!

  16. 16 ksgoodeats Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Oh my gosh that’s terrifying! I’m glad you’re okay – be safe!!

  17. 17 Haleigh Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Oh, wow.. that is such a scary thing to think about. I am glad to hear that no one was hurt

  18. 18 landoffruitsandnuts Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Oh my gosh– that’s so scary!! I’m so glad you and everyone is okay and that he didn’t take her stuff! That’s so freaky, I’m always scared of stuff like that happening. Glad you’ll be out of there soon too!

  19. 19 luckytastebuds Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    mmm ANything Trader Joe’s is THE BEST!!! My favorite products from there have got to be frozen fruit and hummus becaues they come in so many flavors!!! πŸ™‚ I love how your blog always introduces me to tasty new products. Thank you!!

  20. 20 gina (fitnessista) Monday, March 30, 2009 at 9:44 am

    that is HORRIFYING! so glad everyone is ok!
    mmm trader joe’s chips and salsa could be the best thing ever πŸ˜€ have a great day ❀


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

