Winner!

The week is already over for me (yay no Friday classes!) HOW did that happen so fast? Believe me, I’m not complaining because I want the rest of the semester to be over with as soon as possible, but seriously, this was like a new record. This weekend is going to be absolutely jam packed though. This weekend I have lots of homework including a problem set, over 200 pages of reading, and studying for 2 exams. Yikes!

Breakfast

Today was a whirlwind as well. I got up early and had a big cereal bowl for breakfast and then headed to my nutritionist appointment. I sure needed it after these past few weeks—I’ve really been struggling. 

img_3234

Lunch

Then I had 3 back-to-back 75 minute classes—my brain is always fried by the end of the afternoon. I packed my usual turkey/laughing cow sandwich, veggies, and an apple. 

img_32361

Snack

WCMN Luna for my snack. I adore these.

img_3235

Dinner

I don’t have pictures of dinner because I went to a dinner/lecture by Tom Reen who was Best of Boston Nutritionist in 2007 (whatever that means!). He talked a lot about healthy living in college, and while it was interesting, there was really nothing too groundbreaking. The one thing I did learn was that it is important to eat something within 20 minutes of exercising for optimal absorption, and this is the best time for liquid calories since they are more easily absorbed into the bloodstream. Post-workout latte? I think so!

We had a “healthy catered meal” for dinner with hummus, pita, and veggie appetizers and a buffet dinner where I chose salad, salmon, brown rice, asparagus, and a roll. Dessert was chocolate covered strawberries. It felt so great to have such a healthy, balanced meal.

WINNER

The best part of the night was the fact that I WON THE RAFFLE! I rarely win anything but my luck seems to be changing! I won a huge bowl of snacks! This thing was huge and I looked absolutely ridiculous carrying it home!

img_32371

It included a bunch of Trader Joe’s products: tortilla chips, salsa, crackers, chutney, jam, peanut butter, granola, trail mix, pom juice, iced teas, rice cakes, and dark chocolate. How exciting!

I divided up some of the treats with my friend as a thank-you for coming with me to the event and she wanted to dig in to the peanut butter, crackers, and jam so who was I to deny her that? I’m so used to eating natural peanut butter that this was really strange tasting to me! 

I’m ready for bed! Goodnight!

15 Responses to “Winner!”


  1. 1 FoodsThatFit Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    What a fun bunch of goodies! Lucky You!

  2. 2 Sharon Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is one awesome looot!!!! CONGRATS!!

  3. 3 verbalriot Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    woohoo for winning! Congrats!! Good luck with the homework this weekend!

  4. 4 Jenn (eating bender) Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    YAY! Congrats on being a winner 🙂 And thanks for letting us know about the “20-minute” rule after workouts.

    I’m glad that the nutritionist appointment went well. I’m sorry to hear that it’s been a rough couple of weeks. I hope you are feeling better.

    Hurray for WCMN! Have a great Friday/day off/weekend! Woohoo!

  5. 5 Sarah Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I just googled post workout snacks today, I should have just asked you 😉 Looks like my shake was not a bad choice!

    I love the picture of you with your haul! Got any winning lottery numbers for me?

  6. 6 lilveggiepatch Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    This week HAS gone fast… not having Friday class is great!

    Love your loot! What a cool lecture.

  7. 7 Jessica Friday, March 27, 2009 at 12:15 am

    yay for winning that basket of goodies!!!!

    I’m so jealous, all those snacks look really good, and I loveee that TJ’s trail mix!! All of the trail mixes from trader joes are PHENOMENAL! haha!! Enjoy Sarah, hope you are doing better, seems like everything is going well for ya!! And good luck with the studying this weekend!!! I have lots of studying to do this weekend too, on top of my sororities charity event all day saturday and a dance tomorrow night! ah!

  8. 8 Caroline Friday, March 27, 2009 at 1:10 am

    Yay! Congrats on winning the raffle–I look forward to seeing the contents in the near future:)

  9. 9 Ashley C. Friday, March 27, 2009 at 2:36 am

    How fun! The lecture/dinner sounds fun and that loot looks pretty awesome- congrats!

  10. 10 Tina Friday, March 27, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Wohoo! Congrats on winning the raffle, that bowl is HUGE! 🙂

  11. 11 ksgoodeats Friday, March 27, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Ahhh!! CONGRATS!! That basket is stuffed with goodies 🙂

    Good luck with your work load this weekend – don’t forget to take some quality time for Sarah too!

  12. 12 Yasmin Friday, March 27, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Woo-hoo! Congrats on your winnings 🙂

  13. 13 Haleigh Friday, March 27, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Congrats on winning the huge bowl of snacks!! 🙂 I have never tried Luna bars in that flavor, I will keep a look out for them. Enjoy your weekend

  14. 14 Emily Friday, March 27, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I never win anything either! Maybe some of your luck will rub off on me! lol

  15. 15 cleanveggiex3 Friday, March 27, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    great basket full of goodies! im jealous
    love your eats 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

