Business As Usual

It was back to business today with classes and homework, boo. Isn’t it so weird whenever you go on vacation and come back and it seems like you never left. What happened to my spring break? I want another one!

I made the executive decision that spring means warm weather. Unfortunately Boston doesn’t seem to be under my jurisdiction because it was cold again today. I left my winter jacket at home because I like to think that my choice in attire should dictate the weather, but for some reason my plan failed. It really better warm up for good soon!

Breakfast

For some reason I woke up absolutely starving this morning. I like being hungry for breakfast, but this was too much! I immediately bounded out of bed and made a big bowl of yogurt, cereal, and a pear. Then I was able to function and get my day started. I did some homework and went to class singing the Monday Blues.

img_3212

Lunch

Back to my usual pre-yoga lunch: honey almond butter sandwich, cottage cheese, and carrots. 

img_3213

Yoga was hard today. That’s what taking a week off will do to you—I was so tight at the beginning that I had a hard time even getting my fingers to the floor during forward fold. Yikes! I eventually loosened up though and felt so much better by the end.

Snacks

After yoga I had my favorite WCMN Luna Bar which was perfect as always.

img_3214

Later in the afternoon I got a surprise package from my best friend Aliza!! She is seriously the sweetest person ever, I love her to death and miss her so much! She sent me homemade chocolate chunk cookies. I wanted to save one for dessert, but honestly who can resist homemade cookies! I know I sure can’t! They got all broken up during the journey so I put together some chunks to enjoy. SO GOOD! I shared the rest with my housemates because I definitely would have finished them all in one day!

img_3215img_3216

Dinner

Dinner tonight was none other than love-of-my-life WF Salad Bar. Mmmmm, so so good. On the side I also had some trail mix random combination perhaps, but delicious nonetheless.

img_3219

img_3217

Dessert

After watching Gossip Girl with my friends it was time for some Yogurt Raisins! Why are these so good?! I may have also had another few cookie pieces since there were only  few left in the kitchen and I didn’t want them to feel bad! 

img_3218

About that—here’s a strange and embarrassing fact about me: My kind heart and compassion (and modesty!) dates all the way back to when I was little. I used to always feel bad for the last piece of fruit left in the drawer or would choose the ugliest doll because I felt bad for them. Yep, I have always had sympathy for inanimate objects. What can I say, I’m crazy.

I can’t wait to crawl into bed—I feel pretty mentally and physically drained today. See you all tomorrow!

15 Responses to “Business As Usual”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, March 23, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    “Isn’t it so weird whenever you go on vacation and come back and it seems like you never left.”

    AMEN!! I hate that feeling 😦 Hang in there!!

    Get enough rest!!

  2. 2 Sharon Monday, March 23, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Oh my gosh, what a sweet package of cookies you received. That is awesome!!
    And awwwh, hope you feel better soon! ❤

  3. 3 ksgoodeats Monday, March 23, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    How sweet your friend sent you cookies!! Oh and I feel you on the weather – it’s brrrr here too! Tasty eats today: WFs, raisins, COTTAGE CHEESE 😀

    Awww what a cute fact 😉 You are just too nice, girlie!

  4. 4 Haleigh Monday, March 23, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    How sweet of your friend to send you cookies! 🙂 The trail mix from whole foods looks delicious!! Hope that you had a good Monday and get used to being back to school!

  5. 5 carolinebee Monday, March 23, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    haha OMG i almost died reading that last tidbit- My bff traces back her relationship with food (she swears she has a complex about always cleaning her plate!) to her mom b/c when she was little- her mom would take the last forkful of spaghetti and say in a little cutesy voice, “ali, ali! Eat me i’m so lonely!” 😀

  6. 6 Julz Monday, March 23, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    YOU ARE SO STINKIN CUTE!! I kinda relate. Whoops def just admitted that 😉

    And the cookies! You didn’t mention that!! How amazing is your friend? The best! Straight from the heart, what a doll.

    I know the exact feeling with being back, but you’re almost done and then you’ll be in Philadelphia this summer and we can playyy ❤

  7. 7 Erin Monday, March 23, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Those cookie pieces look amazing! I hope you go make the leftover chunks feel better 🙂
    I hope it warms up soon there! Does it ever get warm?! What is the deal!?

  8. 8 Anna Monday, March 23, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Vacations are NEVER long enough! And I’m with you on the warm weather idea. For some reason I’ve convinced myself that wearing skirts without tights is a good idea, but the chilly weather just disagrees with me. It’ll be warm soon enough, but I want/need it NOW!

    I thought Gossip Girl was really good tonight, although everyone is soooo deceptive! It’ll be interesting to see what happens next.

    Good luck with the rest of your week!

  9. 9 jenngirl Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Aw Sarah, you are such a sweetheart, I have no doubt that your love of inanimate objects extends into the real world too! 😉

    Get some rest girl, I definitely know what you mean about feeling like we never left…sigh…

  10. 10 Sarah Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 1:02 am

    That is so sweet that you felt sorry for ugly fruit. I used to feel bad that my mom had to do all the chores, so I would do as much as I could to make her job easier. I’d think, “If I don’t do it, she’ll have to!”

    We were kind of messed up kids, huh? 😉

  11. 11 jesslikesithot Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Ugh I completely know what you mean!! I got back to school last night and I feel like I never left!!! Less than a few months though till summer!! wooooo!!! and your lunch looks very yummy!

  12. 12 lilveggiepatch Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I feel the same way about being back! I’m trying to erase my internal swearing with thoughts of false positivity. Learning, yay!!! Ha. Anywho, nothing like a care package to make you feel loved… especially when there are cookies inside! Unfortunately I’m less in agreement with you on the yogurt raisins.

  13. 13 Danielle Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Coming home and feeling like you never left is the worst feeling! Last year I took a 2 week vacation from work and when I came back it literally felt like I’d never been away!

  14. 14 Jenn (eating bender) Wednesday, March 25, 2009 at 12:10 am

    I ❤ you! No joke, I do the same thing with inanimate objects. I thought I was the only one 🙂 The only time it gets me into trouble is when I feel the need to clean my plate so as to not leave any food behind. Not good when I’m already stuffed to the gills. Aka tonight.

    Love those cookies, though! They look so cute! And I hope that it warms up for you soon, girly! I’m sorry that spring break is over but you are sooo close to graduation! There is so much goodness ahead of you!

  15. 15 burpexcuzme Wednesday, March 25, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    lol! you are just too cute! I’ll have to say I’m different from you. I’ve got nary a speck of kindness or compassion for inanimate objects. nope, my selfishness takes over and I have to have the BEST one.
    sorry about the cold weather, but hang on there and spring is round the corner!
    and how sweet of your friend to send you homemade cookies!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

