I Was Right

Last night I told myself that today would be a better day, and it was! Hooray for positivity–let’s hope it lasts!

Breakfast

I was up early this morning to a cloudy first day of spring. I tried really hard to will spring to actually be here by going outside in shorts and no jacket. Apparently the weather doesn’t take my attire into consideration though because it was only 35* today. Hey, it’s better than the 20* I had before spring break so I guess I shouldn’t complain!

I had a yummy bowl of fruit, yogurt, and heart to heart. I like this cereal a lot but don’t buy it at school because it just can’t compare to the nutritionals of Kashi Go Lean. It’s always a fun treat to have when I’m home though.

img_3185

After breakfast was the usual exercise, shower, blog routine. Then I got serious with some schoolwork and spent the rest of the morning doing an econ problem set. Boo.

Lunch

When I started really having trouble concentrating I knew it was time for lunch. I had my very favorite omelette with veggies and laughing cow and a ‘zeke. It was the perfect golden brown today—I’m an omelette master.

img_3186

Guys—I have a confession to make. I have become a traitor to my beloved sugar cookie sleigh ride tea because I have found something that is even better.

I present to you, my newest obsession…

img_3187

Chocolate Hazelnut Tea. Words can’t even describe how good this is. With a little milk and sugar it tastes just like chocolate milk–it’s so decadent, I love it! And don’t you love how I slyly got my pretty new phone into the picture. It’s so cute! My Grandma was so funny—she asked me if I got my “raspberry” yet and I had absolutely no clue what she was talking about, then she said “your new phone” and I was like “ohhhh, you mean my blackberry” Haha, it was too funny. She’s the cutest little thing, seriously like 4’10 with an eastern european accent and the epitome of Jewish grandmother. It’s v. amusing.

Snack

This afternoon I decided to treat myself to one of my favorite activities: book-browsing! I went to the used book store and browsed and browsed. I bought a few books which will be great procrastination devices study breaks.

When I came home to dig in to my new book (I just started American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld) and got a little snacky. A frozen yogurt and some chocolate cashew cupola cookies. These are like meringues but a little denser—I LOVE THEM. 

img_3188

I had a few more!

img_3189

Dinner

I made another delicious dinner tonight. Have I mentioned how much I love my kitchen and cooking? I already am counting down the days until I can get out of my prison cell tiny room and back home. Tonight I made a spin on Chinese food with Sweet and Sour Shrimp and Brown Rice. It was so easy and fast! I based it off this recipe but doubled the shrimp, omitted the tofu, and halved the oil. It was awesome.

img_3190

Dessert

I spent the night reading and relaxing. My sweet tooth was yelling so I had some thin mint ice cream with mint and chocolate chips. Boy did this hit the spot.

img_3192

Today was a good day but I’m anticipating that tomorrow is going to be really tough so I need to mentally prepare myself. Not only is it my last day at home but I also need to say goodbye to my Grandpa. I’m really hoping that he stabilizes and continues to improve but at the same time I do have to be realistic about the situation. I really just wish that my school wasn’t so far away from home. I really need the next couple months to fly by. 

I’m really into my book so I’m going to get back to reading–I really want to finish before I leave because it’s sort of big and heavy and I don’t want to have to carry it back to school with me!

15 Responses to “I Was Right”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, March 20, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I’M WISHING YOU A GOOD DAY TOMORROW TOO, GIRL!!!! KEEP UP THE POSITIVITY!!!

  2. 2 Julz Friday, March 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    YAY! I’m SO glad you had a better day. Dude your Grandma! That is SO PRECIOUS! I will forever refer to it as my raspberry now 😉 j/k haha

    Baby. REMIND YOURSELF THAT IF YOU MUST, YOU CAN GO HOME. AND YOU WILL IF YOU HAVE TO. But you may NOT have to. So don’t anticipate the bad, but rather know that if need be, you will be safe to make the trek home. I LOVE YOU and can’t wait to talk to you Sunday. You know I’m always here. SISTAS FO LIFE!

  3. 3 Sarah Friday, March 20, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    oooh, sarah, good choice on that book! i LOVED it. and your ice cream is killing me – why can’t i found gs cookie flavors here??

    good luck tomorrow! like julz said, you can go back home if you need to. and there is an end in sight to the school! it makes it even harder to go back when you’ve got everything happening with your grandpa, but we’re all here to help you get through it. hang in there!

  4. 4 Hannah Friday, March 20, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I agree with Sarah, it’s a great book! Enjoy it and the rest of your weekend!

  5. 5 Sharon Friday, March 20, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Stay strong, and i hope all goes well. ❤

  6. 6 luckytastebuds Friday, March 20, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    How do you always manage to discover and get your taste buds on such tasty looking eats!! That tea does sound absoultely amazing AND those cookies!!!

    Your grandma IS super cute. My mom calls blackberry’s BLUEBERRIES. heheheh I think my mom and your grandma might have met somewhere and discussed some serious berries. heheheh

  7. 7 Bommy Friday, March 20, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    haha your grandma’s so cute. I want yo blackberry so bad. My dog chewed up my phone and so it’s def time for a new one, but my contract isn’t ending for another couple months. Boooo.
    I love heart to heart. I first discovered it at my college’s dining hall. It was a pretty fateful day 😀

  8. 8 Caroline Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 12:54 am

    I LOVE that brand of teas–I highly recommend their vanilla flavor too:)

  9. 9 Sarah Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 1:39 am

    I’m so glad today was better.

    Don’t say goodbye to the fams, just say, I’ll see you soon! Positivity, you said it yourself!

    Have a good weekend, hon.

  10. 10 Erin Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Oh your grandma! She is killing me! That is the cutest and funniest thing I’ve ever heard!
    One day my mom asked if I was wearing my “blink blink.” It took a full minute for me to realize she meant “bling bling.” OH MOM!
    Flex your positivity muscles again when with your grandpa today. Focus on the love. I know it’s hard.

  11. 11 Haleigh Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I am so glad that you had a better day today! Positive thinking really does wonders! 🙂 That tea sounds amazing, I love hazelnut-anything!! The sweet and sour shrimp dinner looks great as well! Keep up the positive thinking for Saturday and I hope it goes good for you girl! 🙂

  12. 12 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Mmm your omelet looks wonderful…I may have to make one now!

  13. 13 ksgoodeats Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I need you to teach me your omelet making skills! I have NONE!! It’s sad!

    Raspberry – awww! Hang in there, girlie!!

  14. 14 Melissa S. Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    omg that lunch looks amazing. can you come make omelettes for me? mine never come out looking so wonderful like yours!

  15. 15 Anna Sunday, March 22, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I just started reading that book too! I’m just really curious as to what is really fictionalized and what is based on what actually happened to Laura Bush.

    Your food looks delicious. Hang in there!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

