Better tomorrow!

I promise I’m going to try to quit it with the Debby Downer posts! Starting tomorrow I’ll try to be more positive with everything!

Dinner

We went out to dinner tonight to Houlihans. We were all starving when we got there and ordered the spinach dip to start. It has been a really long time since I’d had this and it was so good. 

img_3181

For my main meal I got the Vietnamese Shrimp Salad. I was actually pretty disappointed with this. There really wasn’t much too it—first of all, I felt like I was eating weeds! It was really hard to eat this! The mango was good but there was barely any in it, there were maybe 3 cashews and only 4 pieces of shrimp. I’m pretty easy going and am rarely let down when I go out to eat but I have to say that this meal wasn’t as great as I had hoped. Oh well.

img_31821

Dessert

Things started out innocently enough tonight with a little bowl of Thin Mint Ice cream, which turned into 2 bowls. Followed by some more chocolate toffee peanuts and way too many handfuls of pretzels and peanut butter. I definitely didn’t need all of this! I’m sure it’s because of my on-and-off eating during the day and my lack of a real lunch, and I should be happy that I had an appetite again, but it made me feel gross. Boo stress-eating!

img_3184

img_3180

 

I’m really uncomfortably full right now and definitely felt like a little piglet tonight. I’ve been feeling sort of out of control with everything recently, my eating included–my clothes are all a little too snug for comfort, and it’s really scaring me. It’s just hard because everything is sort of falling apart with my Grandpa, my one Grandma has kidney stones that are bothering her so she is in a lot of pain and has surgery scheduled, my other Grandma has also been in and out of the hospital for some mysterious internal bleeding, my Dad is under more stress than I have ever seen him, we’re jumping every time the phone rings, I can’t concentrate on getting schoolwork done, and while I am trying to take care of myself, it’s hard. I feel bad worrying about me when there are so many other things and other people to worry about. 

I am so sorry that my posts the past week have been so down, I just don’t really have that many fun, silly antecdotes to share. I’m sure you’re all getting sort of sick of my depressing stories, so I really do apologize! Maybe I should take a little break from blogging? You are all more than amazing and I so appreciate your comments, but I’m so scared that this is becoming a sort of pity blog and that you all feel obligated to say something nice, and I don’t want that at all! I want this to be something enjoyable for you to read and I feel like it hasn’t been that way lately. I’ll really try to be more positive, maybe that will make me feel better too! Fake it till you make it, right? 

 

See you all tomorrow for a happier day!

18 Responses to “Better tomorrow!”


  1. 1 verbalriot Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about all the medical problems with your grandparents. I don’t think that you owe the blogging community an apology of any sort. This is a part of your life but REAL life happens to all of us, there no need to mask it or explain yourself.

    My thoughts are with you and your family and I hope everything improves soon ❤

  2. 2 Bec Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    aww don’t worry about it, we understand you are having a rough week!

  3. 3 Julz Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    YOU HAVE DONE NOTHING TO APOLOGIZE FOR. In my eyes, YOU KNOW THIS, you could do no wrong, as long as you are being YOU. Doll, the clothes DO feel snug when we are recovering, but REMEMBER: That is why we buy NEW ones. TO welcome in the change, to say OKAY BOD we can do this together. Accept yourself.

    I’m here for you and we will be talking this weekend, I’m sure, as you have so much on your mind and I am free and MORE than willing to listen. I WANT TO LISTEN. I LOVE YOU. I leave you with my favorite quote of the moment from, DUH, the BUDDHA:

    You Yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.

    Especially now, My Angel Girl, you MUST breathe this into yourself. TAKE IT IN ENTIRELY. Allow yourself to cry. Allow yourself to SOB. You are SAFE and I promise you, as I did before, YOU WILL NOT FALL, and if you do, I WILL CATCH YOU. Don’t worryyy. You feel too full tonight, that is of course a crappy feeling. But you knew that your appetite was gone before, and you weren’t taking in enough, to consider it GOOD. Life is a BALANCE. Recovery, maintenance, ALL A BALANCE. And you are a MARVELOUS, MARVELOUS Balancer <333

    I ADORE YOU AND AM HERE, ANYTIME, DAY OR NIGHT. Alwayyyys <333 Remember. Be kind. Be kind. Be kind. And breeeeathe slowlyy.

  4. 4 carolinebee Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    true that…Life happens and sometimes it’s great but it SUCKS a lot of times. I am truly praying for you and your family, I completely empathize, just keep taking care of yourself girl. I can imagine that your grandparents and family must love and cherish your support sooo much.

  5. 5 Sharon Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Please don’t apologize. I love your blog regardless! ❤

  6. 6 Haleigh Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    The reason I love your blog so much is because of your complete honesty, it is so refreshing. You have no reason to apologize for being sad and upset, it is part of the grand scheme of life, no one can be happy and eating perfectly all the time, it’s not humanely possible! You seem like a strong girl, you can get through this! Best wishes to you and your family!!

  7. 7 lilveggiepatch Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    That salad looks SO good!

    You don’t have to keep apologizing for being upset… you have a lot of scary crap going on in your life and it’s natural that the other stuff is coming back up. Don’t worry about your day of eats, either… it still looks pretty healthy and you know what I always say, tomorrow is another day!

  8. 8 martiniwindow Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    We are all debbies sometimes. That salad looks great, sorry it was disappointing though.

    Dont worry about being upset! Writing is a way for people to express their feelings despite what they might be!

  9. 9 Hangry Pants Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    You don’t need to apologize! You’re going through a rough time and it’s to be expected that you ‘re not as chipper as usual. We are here to support you! Don’t freak out about your clothes, things will settle down and so will your “appetite.”

  10. 10 Kristie Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Don’t worry about being a bit down, we ALL get like that. It’s not natural to be completely happy ALL the time. You’re being real to yourself. It happens. I want to see you be positive because you are FEELING positive, not because you feel you SHOULD be. So with that I wish upon you loads and loads of positiveness. It’ll come in no time!

    I’ve been all up on the stress eating lately too. And not eating structured meals when on the go definitely makes me all snacky and go overboard as well. But you clearly KNOW how to eat healthy and make good choices so a little extra stress eating is nothing to worry about. You have enough to worry about so try not to fret too much about the snacks. It’ll clean itself up once the stress winds down a little.

    I hope everything goes well with you and well wishes to you and your whole family. Chin up!

  11. 11 Rachel Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    Sarah, I hope you keep writing the blog…I certainly wouldn’t want you to put on a cheerful front when that’s not how you’re really feeling. Plus, it could help ease your anxiety a little by getting your feelings out and you’ll get great support here (which is absolutely because people care about you and not out of pity). I’m sorry about everything you’re going through right now. I’ll be reading no matter what you do!

  12. 12 Sarah Friday, March 20, 2009 at 12:20 am

    I think the only thing you have to apologize for is not saying “Wahn wah” after saying Debbie Downer. I think its a requirement.

    Aww Sarah. I can relate to what you are going through. All that matters now is LOVE. And you have mine.

  13. 13 VeggieGirl Friday, March 20, 2009 at 6:47 am

    No worries, girl – I’m wishing you the BEST DAY EVER today. **hugs**

  14. 14 ksgoodeats Friday, March 20, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Do what you need to do but honestly it’s not a pity blog whatsoever! You’re going through a rough time and we’re just lending you some support 🙂

    Ooooh yummy appetizer!

  15. 15 Melissa S. Friday, March 20, 2009 at 8:43 am

    ah, no worries hun! we all have downer times but we have each other to support us through it! keep your chin up; we’re always here for you!!!

  16. 16 Andrea Friday, March 20, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    If blogging about this helps you, then we’re here to listen!

  17. 17 jesslikesithot Friday, March 20, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Don’t apologize!! This is YOUR blog, about your life!! Just don’t get down on yourself girl, there is no need!!!! Best wishes for your grandparents and just try to take each day as a new day, don’t dwell on a night of munching or the stress of school, relax, maybe go treat yourself to a pedicure or whole foods?!

  18. 18 Nicole Friday, March 20, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Feel better ❤


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

