Beautiful

Today was the most beautiful day! It was sunny and in the upper-70s, I loved it!

My Grandpa is doing a lot better–he was discharged from the hospital today and is now back in the rehabilitation center. Hopefully he will continue to improve and can go home soon! Thanks again for all of your positive thoughts and prayers, they really helped!

Breakfast

Waffle Tower.  Really, there is nothing better. These are my life.

img_3170

Since it was such an unbelievably nice day outside I took advantage of it and headed to my favorite trail to get in a nice long run. It was actually kind of miserable though, I had a terrible side cramp the whole first mile and didn’t get my rhythm until mile 3 or 4. I was a sweaty mess by the end and even though it wasn’t as enjoyable as I would like, I felt amazing afterward.

Lunch

My grandma sent home some homemade chicken soup which is seriously the definition of comfort food. It is so warm and soothing to me, and always makes me feel so much better no matter what is bothering me. I also had some kashi crackers, hummus, and an apple. 

img_3171

Of course I have to end my meal with something sweet: enter my new addiction—chocolate toffee peanuts. My hand has somehow found its way into the container multiple times throughout the day!

img_3173

Snack

I met my dad for a drink this afternoon at our favorite bar. I had a gin and tonic and some popcorn while we chatted and played the computerized trivia game. We love trivia! We did pretty well and dominated most of the scores, but just couldn’t beat patisgay whatever his sexual orientation, Pat is one smart cookie!

img_3172

Later this afternoon I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with the lovely Julz. I love her to death! She is such a sweetheart and was so easy to talk to. I felt like we’ve been best friends for years and the time just flew by. I am actually going to be in Philly this summer training for my job and I can’t wait to meet up with her in person. We’re going to hang out all the time and be BFF whether she likes it or not!

Dinner

When I saw Courtney make Spicy Peanut Tofu Noodles the other day I knew that I needed to make it myself! I followed her recipe and used Brown Rice Noodles. It was divine! What a great recipe—thanks so much Courtney!

img_3174

Today was a great day and now I’m ready to relax in front of the TV for the night. I don’t have a television at school so I need to soak up the mindless activity when I’m home! Goodnight!

22 Responses to “Beautiful”


  1. 1 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Yay! I’m glad you liked it!! I’m already craving it again =)

  2. 2 ksgoodeats Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    I’m glad to hear your Grandpa is doing so much better – I’ll keep sending him get well thoughts 🙂

    What fabulous eats as usual! Your bonding time with your dad sounds like fun!

  3. 3 verbalriot Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    sorry about the run 😦

    I LOVE homemade soup, it is always amazing

  4. 4 VeggieGirl Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Gorgeous weather + grandfather doing better + delish Waffle Tower = perfect day!!

  5. 5 Bec Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Glad to hear your grandpa is doing better!

  6. 6 Sarah Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    so glad to hear the good news about grandpa! sounds like things are looking up and you’re finally getting a chance to relax 🙂

  7. 7 Sharon Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Glad to hear about your grandfather!
    And love your waffle tower!

  8. 8 Hil Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Getting sent home with homemade soup is the best. Any chance your grandma will share her recipe?

  9. 9 Rose Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    So glad your grandpa is doing better.

    I LOVE Julz. She’s so upbeat and positive.

    That chicken soup looks so good.

  10. 10 Anna Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Your food for the day looks so good! Hopefully your warm weather sticks around – sunshine makes everything better!

    Have a great night!

  11. 11 Sarah Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 12:41 am

    What a fantastic day for Sarahs everywhere! I am so glad you had a good one.

    PS I could kick both your and Patisgay’s butts at trivia.

  12. 12 Tina Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Oh, I love chocolate covered nuts… they’re impossible to resist!

  13. 13 Melissa S. Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 6:29 am

    I’m glad to hear your grandfather is doing so much better! and i’m glad you’re home to be able to see him also!!

    love the chocolate toffee peanuts! those sound divine!!

  14. 15 Haleigh Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I am so happy to hear that your grandpa is doing better!

    The homemade chicken soup looks so tasty and comforting!

  15. 16 Danielle Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Hey, guess what? You’re a beautiful person too, inside and out. I’m so happy to hear that your grandfather is doing well and that you’re enjoying your down time at home. Take care girlie 🙂

  16. 17 Danielle Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    So glad your grandpa is doing better!
    Hope you have a great day!

  17. 18 jesslikesithot Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    glad to hear your grandpa is doing better girl!!!! and yesss how perfect is it once the weather starts getting warm again!!! it just makes my day! have fun catching up with tv, I am doing the same thing!

  18. 19 Natalie Rae Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Oh! the recipe looks so good- I am bookmarking!

  19. 20 Jenn (eating bender) Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I am SO glad to hear that your grandpa is doing so much better!!

    You certainly had some amazing eats yesterday, too! That chicken soup looks so hearty and I definitely need to try Courtney’s recipe, too! And hurray for great phone conversations!

  20. 21 lilveggiepatch Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I’m of the opinion that cocktails are the best afternoon snack. Gin & tonics are my signature, too!


  1. 1 Tea, Pray, Love. | The Hungry Yogini Trackback on Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

