Happy St. Patty’s Day!

I’m pretty much as far from being Irish as possible, but it’s still a fun day! Who doesn’t like a day where it is perfectly acceptable, and encouraged, to drink all day long? 

While I didn’t really partake in the St. Patty’s Day festivities, I did have a pretty good day. 

Since I got lazy and didn’t feel like posting last night, here is the completed baked good tray:

img_31561

Preworkout Snack

I got up this morning and had some delicious oatmeal cookie biscotti to fuel me through a sweaty workout. These are realy good! They are the perfect crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside consistency. My dad, who isn’t a fan of biscotti in general, really enjoyed them and told me they were the best biscotti he’s ever had. That made me feel good!

img_3162

Breakfast

I made a big bowl of pumkin yogurt, apple, and biscotti for breakfast. It was so good! Very creamy, thick, delicious, and filling.

img_3160

Lunch

For lunch I made a quick turkey and laughing cow sandwich on a ‘zeke with some fresh fruit. I also packed myself some crackers and graham crackers for a snack for later but was still hungry after I finished lunch so I dug in.

img_3163

img_3164

Snack

Then I headed out to the hospital to spend the day visiting my grandpa. He was doing a lot better today and we were laughing and joking around. We thought it would be a great idea for the nurse to slip him a shot of Tullamore Dew Irish Whiskey with dinner to celebrate the day, but she for some reason didn’t think that was such a great idea. Oh well.

I brought the rest of the chocolate pumpkin loaf for my grandma to have, but couldn’t resist having one last piece. Oh so good–I almost forgot to take a picture until I was part-way through!

img_3166

Dinner

I made the most incredible meal for dinner! It was calamari with israeli couscous, raisins, and pine nuts in tomato sauce. I based it on this recipe and it was amazing! I loved the raisins which gave it a nice sweetness along with the chewiness of the calamari and the crunch from the nuts. Awesome!

img_31671

Dessert

My grandma sent home some nut rolls with my dad so I obviously had to have a taste! 

img_3168I just got a new phone–a blackberry! Now I need to go figure out how to use it, I’m not used to this sort of high-tech business!

19 Responses to “Happy St. Patty’s Day!”


  1. 1 carolinebee Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I’m SO jeal of your crackberry 😀 I want! I’m so happy to hear your gramps is in good spirits- Mine is in the same situation..recovering from open heart surgery, and I just get such joy out of spending time with him and our family there. You can tell the nurses love it so much to see that the patient has such a loving family because they have to care for those patients who don’t have that 😦 Great news and your cooking = amazing!

  2. 2 Hil Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Wow, looks like you had a fantastic food day! The biscotti look great, and that calamari dish is making my mouth water. Leave it to Mario Batali to invent something that tasty!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    HOLY YUM BAKED GOODS AND DINNER!!

    And hooray for your new blackberry!!

  4. 4 Haleigh Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Delicious eats! Yay for a new blackberry! I am jealous!

  5. 5 Megan Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I am so jealous! I love poppyseed and nut rolls! They are a family favorite.. Enjoy ;-D

  6. 6 Rose Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Glad you got to see your grandfather and that he’s doing better.

    So jealous of your blackberry. Maybe you can write a review after you’ve used it a few days? I’m still not sure if I should get one.

  7. 7 Nicole Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Mmmm! Those biscottis look good!

  8. 8 Lizzy Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    yaaaa im sure u will love your blackberry in no time…i can’t live without mine!! what a delicious day of eats you had!

  9. 9 Jenn (eating bender) Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Ahh Sarah those scones and the pumpkin bread look AMAZING!! You are such a talent in the kitchen. The calamari dinner is great, too! I love calamari 🙂

    I’ve never tried pumpkin yogurt before – if you say it’s good, I’ll just have to, right?

    I’m so glad to hear your grandpa is doing better. I loved reading the Irish Whiskey comment 🙂 Too bad the nurse didn’t think it was such a good idea, haha!

    I have a blackberry and I love it. It took me a while to figure it out, but it has been very helpful!

    Have a great night!

  10. 10 Caroline Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    MMm Israeli couscous and raisins are always SO GOOD together!

  11. 11 Sarah Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 1:11 am

    I’m so glad you and Gramps had a good day. I love all the family bonding and love!!!

  12. 13 gina (fitnessista) Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    sarah, your dinner looks TO DIE FO! i’ll definitely have to check out that recipe
    mmm i haven’t had biscotti is way too long- it looks wonderful
    hope you have a happy humpday ❤

  13. 14 Erin Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Yum, I love your dinner! You go ape in the kitch when you get home!
    That nurse is a lame-o! 🙂

  14. 15 jesslikesithot Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    haha, I don’t even eat fish but that soup looks REALLY good sarah!

  15. 16 Danielle Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    That tray of baked goods look delicious!
    What a fun dinner it looks so good!

  16. 17 Sarah's Mom Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Dinner was the best! It was the perfect combination of flavors and textures. I would rank it within the top 5 of Sarah’s creations.

  17. 18 ksgoodeats Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    That nurse is just no fun!! Glad you had such a great time with the family 🙂

    YAY BISCOTTI!! I am very jealous of your new CrackBerry!

  18. 19 hjartas Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    man, sweet (literally, too, haha) baked goods.
    and, you’ve got me on a 2% fage (-and-fruit-and-cashew-butter) kick. haha.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

