What Not to Eat

Today was basically the definition of how not to eat—I totally broke from my typical healthy eating habits and just went with what I was craving, even if it wasn’t the best choice. Sometimes you just need some junk, you know?

Breakfast

I was up and out the door before the sun this morning with my Dad to go to the hospital. I wasn’t hungry when I left the house and when we stopped into the Panera across from the hospital, I needed some comfort food and went with a cinnamon crunch bagel with honey walnut cream cheese. Oh my gosh was this good! I haven’t had a real bagel and cream cheese in ages and this hit the spot perfectly. I enjoyed every single bite.

img_3144

All of your positive thoughts and well-wishes seemed to work because my Grandpa was doing a lot better today! He was much more coherent and was able to eat and carry on a conversation with us which was great. I am so thankful that I was able to see him again and talk to him in a state where he was able to recognize and converse with me. It just makes me so unbelievably sad, and I keep breaking down crying throughout the day. Luckily he says that he’s not in any pain, but I just can’t even imagine how scared he must be.

My dad has seriously been beyond amazing to his parents during the past few months that my grandpa has been sick. He has basically put his life on hold to take care of them, and so I stayed at the hospital today so that he could go in to his office and get some work done. I’m really glad that I was able to be some help. It was really hard for me to leave this afternoon because I am so scared that things will take a turn for the worse again, and honestly my heart starts racing every time the phone rings thinking that it is bad news. I’m really trying to stay positive though and hopefully things will continue to look up.

Snacks

I never ended up having an appetite for lunch but when we dropped my grandma back off at her house I snagged a few girl scout cookies. Then, when we got back to my house I had a graham cracker, date, cinnamon-raisin pb and finished off the veggie chips.

img_3146

img_3147

img_3148

Dinner

My family decided to order Mexican for dinner but I just wasn’t feeling it. I ended up just having a side salad that came with my Mom’s meal and some chips and salsa.

img_3149

Dessert

When my sister offered to go to Dairy Queen for dessert, I obviously couldn’t turn down my favorite treat: vanilla ice cream with rainbow sprinkles. Why is this just oh so good?

img_3150

So yeah, today definitely was not the norm for me—I usually always have a balanced, healthy breakfast, don’t skip meals, and exercise, but I guess I my mind and body just needed a day off from the usual. Right now, being with my family and taking care of myself emotionally is the priority.Β 

I’m feeling really anxious and stressed right now and am going to make myself a cup of tea to try to calm down, if anyone else has any other relaxation techniques though, I would love to hear them!

Thank you all for your support, loving words, and prayers and well-wishes. My family and I appreciate it so much!

13 Responses to “What Not to Eat”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    No worries, girl – just eat what you love and enjoy πŸ™‚

    **major hugs**

  2. 2 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Sometimes you just need a day to let loose, especially when you are feeling emotional. It’s okay!

    Maybe you could try some deep breathing? I like to put on a soothing song and just breathe really deep in long, maybe 5 seconds in, 5 seconds out. Sometimes when we are feeling stressed and upset our breathe becomes rapid and uneven without us knowing it. Try to become aware of your breathe and slow it down. This will help YOU calm down!

    You are in my thoughts!

  3. 3 ksgoodeats Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Hey – what hits the spot, hits the spot! I can attest to the fact that the Panera bagel is SO WORTH IT!! Nice choice πŸ™‚

    I’m still sending good thoughts to your family! Try to stay positive, girlie!

  4. 4 lilveggiepatch Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Take a hot bath, light some candles, grab your journal or something fun and mindless to read, and just soak. Works every time.

    I’m go glad your grandpa’s doing better today.

    Honey walnut cream cheese is THE BEST. I used to get it every time I went to the airport and stopped at Au Bon Pain!

  5. 5 Erin Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I think you’re doing the right thing by letting yourself deviate. You’re normally SO structured and it’s a relief to take a break from that. Eating and emotions are too intertwined to ignore sometimes.
    I’m so glad your sweet ‘pa is doing better today, and you’re such a good daughter to help out your daddy. πŸ™‚ Love you.

  6. 6 Sharon Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Glad to hear that your Grandpa is doing well. Keep your chin up. πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Yasmin Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Glad to hear everything is well..we will still pray:)

  8. 8 Sarah Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    glad grandpa was doing a little bit better today. sometimes you just need the comfort food … and no food is more comforting than DQ softserve with rainbow jimmies πŸ™‚

    it’s completely natural to feel sad and anxious when someone so close to you is struggling! don’t beat yourself up for it. if you can, take a few minutes for some long and slow breathing — 6 seconds in through your nose, 8 seconds out through your mouth. my mom taught me that, and it always helps.

  9. 9 erinbee Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    ooooh man. that
    ‘crunch’ topping
    on those bagels..
    so freaking good.

  10. 10 Sarah Monday, March 16, 2009 at 1:17 am

    I’m just catching up, Sarah, and I’m so sorry about your grandpa. Just enjoy this time with your family and eat what you want, no judgments. You will remember this time together always, and I guarantee you will not remember what food you ate. Cherish it.

  11. 11 Anna Monday, March 16, 2009 at 8:34 am

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking a day where your mental healthy comes before eating super healthy and exercising. This day of food may not be as balanced as yours normally is, but compared to what most Americans eat, many would still see your choices as extremely health conscious and responsible. Those GS cookies look so good!

  12. 12 Haleigh Monday, March 16, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Sometimes you just gotta eat what you want. I am glad to hear that you grandpa was doing better today.

  13. 13 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, March 16, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I’m really glad you let yourself eat what you craved yesterday – honestly, all of your food looks amazing. I used to get that bagel from Panera all the time in high school, and vanilla with rainbow sprinkles is my all-time favorite!

    I am still sending hugs your way. I’m going to go read your latest post now, but please know that I really enjoyed talking to you today. You are so amazing.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

