I Love My Kitchen

I’ve been in the kitchen all day, and it’s felt so great! I’ve missed cooking so much!

This afternoon was great–I went to the library and picked up some books to read during my week off, and spent a good long time at the grocery store, my grocery store here is infinitely nicer than the one I go to at school so I had a lot of fun!

Lunch

I couldn’t resist picking up a delicious salad while I was at the store. Like always, I loaded up on a little bit of everything and had a few veggie chips on the side. I adore these veggie chips—they are waaaaayy better than regular potato chips in my opinion!

img_3132img_3134

 Snack

I spent the afternoon baking up a storm. I made a special something for Ashley to include in our exchange, but I won’t say what because I don’t want to ruin the surprise for her! I had my fair share of dough tasting ; )

I also had some ginger trail mix which is my favorite kind. It has crystallized ginger, chocolate chips, dried papaya, dried pineapple, raisins, cranberries, cashews, and salted almonds. It’s sooooo good, I had a ton of it—this is probably almost 1/2c and I definitely picked at more throughout the day!

img_3133

Dinner

I made an outstanding dinner tonight! I made salmon baked with a coating of ground almonds and breadcrumbs, dijon mustard, olive oil and honey. It was oh-so good! On the side I made some acorn squash baked with brown sugar, cinnamon, butter, and maple syrup.

img_3135

I love eating real food!

For dessert I had 2 of my surprise baked goods. DELISH!

Now I’m off to curl up on my comfy couch with a cup of tea and my book and 100% relax. See you tomorrow for more fun!

14 Responses to “I Love My Kitchen”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, March 13, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    There’s NOTHING like cooking/baking in one’s own kitchen – love that feeling too 🙂

    ENJOY YOUR R&R NIGHT!!

  2. 2 Haleigh Friday, March 13, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    The ginger trail mix looks amazing!! Delicious eats today btw, and I just love baking in my own kitchen!

  3. 3 Sharon Friday, March 13, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I’m a big lover of trail mix!! Crunch, crunch, crunch.

  4. 4 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Friday, March 13, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    How fun! I love spending the whole day in the kitchen. I just made some granola…in the kitchen is the place to be on a friday night =)

  5. 5 lilveggiepatch Friday, March 13, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Salmon that’s not from a can! Ha. It looks great! Enjoy your cozy night.

  6. 6 Caroline Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Library + cooking all day=heaven:)

  7. 7 landoffruitsandnuts Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Omg Omg I’m soooo excited! That’s so sweet of you, you didn’t have to do anything but I’m really excited to find out what it is and try it- I’m sure it’ll be delicious! I’m so glad you’re happy at home and having a great spring break baking and cooking and enjoying real food. 😀

  8. 8 ksgoodeats Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 7:45 am

    OOOH I want to know what you made 😀

    Glad you’re enjoying your time at home!!

  9. 9 Erin Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I’m so glad you’re home. 🙂

  10. 10 Sarah Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 11:32 am

    oooh what a perfect day!! and i LOVE that book 😀

  11. 11 Danielle Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    That book is on my list of things to read, can’t wait to get into it.
    Enjoy you’re kitchen can’t wait to see what else you bake/cook up!

  12. 12 Sarah Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I borrowed that Pollan book from a friend, but gave it back yesterday b/c I couldn’t get through it. By the time I sit down to read at the end of the day, a trashy magazine is about all I can handle. She said that she has the opposite problems and can’t stop reading classic literature. She also said she’s gained 5 lbs. that all went to her boobs. That’s rough, eh?

  13. 13 jesslikesithot Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 2:03 am

    where is that trail mix from!??!?!!

    in erin’s words…..nom nom nommmmm


  1. 1 Happy Happy Joy Joy! « Fruits & Nuts Trackback on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 1:02 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

