Bizarre

Thank goodness I go home TOMORROW for spring break because I am legit going crazy! I have been totally off my game today. Last night was so much fun! My little was so excited and it made me so happy—I was seriously beaming all night. I didn’t end up going to bed until almost 3:00 last night which is definitely part of the cause for my bizarre day. 

Breakfast

I very rarely set an alarm because I almost always wake up between 7-8 on my own even if I go to bed late. I don’t have class until 10:30 on M/W so it’s never been a problem. It’s rainy and dreary here today so the sun never came up this morning, and I woke up to go to the bathroom, thinking it was still early, but when I looked at the clock it said 9:48. I was so disoriented and confused and had to scramble to get my act together to get to class. I hate not having a good breakfast, but I just needed to grab something and go so I had my yogurt while getting dressed, orange while walking to class, and granola bar in class. 

img_3113

I was so frazzled and somehow got my days all confused and went straight to the gym after class. Halfway through my workout I realized that it’s yoga day, not gym day! Oh well, I finished my 30 minutes on the arc trainer and did a light stretch since I would get a better one in later during yoga.

Lunch

I spent like 10 minutes trying to re-plan the rest of my day. I wasn’t hungry because I had such a late breakfast, but I knew that I wouldn’t be able to make it through a gym sesh and a yoga practice and not have lunch until 3. I decided to go to the later afternoon yoga class so that I would have time to try to get my mind in order. I eventually had PB2 bagel and yogurt.

img_3114

Then, right when I finished lunch I got a surprise package in the mail! Last week I mentioned how sad I was to be almost out of my favorite Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea, and Ashley graciously offered to send me some extra that she had. Well she went above and beyond by putting together a great little package with gum, raisins, fun, almonds, tea, and homemade granola bars. Thanks so much Ashley!

img_3117

Obviously I had to try some of the homemade bars! I had one for a lunch dessert. Ashley—you seriously need to sell these, they are amazing!! Honestly, this is one of the best bars I’ve ever had, and I’ve had my fair share. These are so dense and chewy, sweet, and crunchy. There’s oats, nuts, seeds, dried fruit, honey? 

img_3118

Snack

Today in yoga we focused on balances. Ha! How ironic that the one day I am completely off balance that’s what we do the most of. I tumbled over a few times but I think it did help a little. I was sort of a yoga machine today and was determined to do Eka Pada Koundiyanasana which I mastered over the summer but had been struggling with recently. I worked really hard and did it but I was a sweaty mess afterward. I’m proud of myself though!

After yoga I went to work for a few hours and snacked on my favorite clif nectar bar.

img_3116

Dinner

I had dinner in the dining hall with my new Little tonight! It’s times like this that I remember just how happy I am to not depend on the dining hall anymore—there was hardly anything that appealed to me! I had a not great meal of some random tofu/mushroom mush, bread and hummus, side salad, and a kiwi.

img_3120

I had to follow up my mediocre meal with something sweet so I had a teeny bowl of mini vanilla cake with chocolate frosting and a baby scoop of ice cream. This was probably ridden with HFCS but I totally forgot about my challenge until after it was already in my belly. Oops!

img_3123

Dessert

I had another one of the best granola bars of my life for dessert with a cup of sugar cookie sleigh ride tea. I don’t know if I’ve ever had something more perfect. Mmm.

img_3119

 

I have a little homework to do for tomorrow and then I’m going to do lots of work in advance so I won’t have to do anything over spring break go straight to bed and deal with my work when I get back from a week of relaxation!

18 Responses to “Bizarre”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    ENJOY THE BEGINNING OF YOUR WELL-DESERVED BREAK, GIRL!!!!!

  2. 3 Bec Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Hope you have a great week off!

  3. 4 Sharon Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Love your dessert, and what a great package!!! And oh yes to the week of relaxation!!!! =D

  4. 5 jenngirl Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Wow like you, I am TOTALLY disoriented when I oversleep! I think you handled today AMAZINGLY! Look at all of that skillful rearranging you did…GREAT JOB!

    Hope you get some rest, I’m about to put off some homework too, it can wait, I need sleep!

  5. 6 carolinebee Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    haha i’m glad you readjusted, but i can imagine sleeping in would totally throw me off too! You only have one day left right!? yay!

  6. 7 lilveggiepatch Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Glad you went out last night! A little craziness on a weeknight is delicious.

    Speaking of delicious, TOFU! I guess my two favorites would be the Brussels sprout tofu, which I think you would really like because all the textures are amazing and it’s really easy. Here’s a link to that: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/caramelized-tofu-recipe.html

    And my version of Veganomicon’s Curried Tofu which is also really easy to make and sooooo yummy. It’s on the tofu page, just scroll to the bottom:

    http://lilveggiepatch.wordpress.com/tofu/

    Enjoy! And have a great time at home!

  7. 8 Anna Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    You’re so close to Spring Break! And meals like that make me really happy to be off the meal plan. Have a good rest of your week!

  8. 10 landoffruitsandnuts Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Aww thanks, Sarah! I’m glad you got my package and enjoyed my granola bars so much 🙂 You guessed it right- oats, wheatgerm, nuts, dried fruit & honey- 100% wholesome- HFCS & trans-fat-free.

    I hate waking up late as well- it does throw you off all day for some reason. The other day my yoga instructor said that her balance is always off when she hasn’t gotten a lot of sleep & ever since then I’ve started paying attention and it seems to be true.

    HAVE A GREAT SPRING BREAK!!!

  9. 11 Haleigh Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Enjoy being home for Spring Break! And those granola bars look amazing!!

  10. 12 ksgoodeats Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Aw I’m glad to hear your little was so excited!! What a fun package! Those bars look incredible!!

    Enjoy your break 🙂

  11. 13 Danielle Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Enjoy your break 🙂
    What a great package everything looks so awesomely good!

  12. 14 Natalie Rae Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I just tried that nectar bar for the first time yesterday- sooooo good- seriously- RICH, filling, a healthy “candy” 🙂 good luck with the rest of your week!

  13. 15 Erin Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    YAY FOR YOUR LITTLE! I’m so happy for you!
    Sorry, I’m behind.

  14. 16 Hil Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Wow, that yoga pose is crazy–I’ve never seen it before. I’m terrible at arm balances, but whenever I manage one I always feel so good.

    Enjoy your break!

  15. 17 Hangry Pants Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    That pose is intense and not one I’ve ever mastered. Good job!!!!

    The granola bar looks awesome!

  16. 18 Jenn (eating bender) Friday, March 13, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    I’m glad that the time with your little went so well and that package from Ashley looks AWESOME! Homemade granola bars?! Yesss please!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

