Day Off and New Challenge

Hi everyone! I hope you’re all having a great weekend so far—I know I am! I had a lot of fun last night with my friends. I ended up not going to bed until 3 am and slept until 9:30! I never stay up that late or sleep in that long. I’ve been all out of whack today.

Day Off

I decided to take the day off today: no pictures, no homework, no stress. I got in a great workout and then spent the day wandering Harvard Square with my friend. It was gorgeous out and I had so much fun. I totally just went with the flow and enjoyed myself. I’m sure I’ll regret my day of fun tomorrow when I am in the library until it closes, but for today it was worth it. I’m exhausted now and wasn’t up for “margarita night” so I am further treating myself to my pjs+bed+a movie. It will be a great night.

Eat Clean Challenge

Today was the last day of Chocolate-Free Week and it went really well, it was fun to challenge myself and find other treats to have that weren’t chocolate. I did miss my clif z brownie bars though, that’s for sure!

I really liked the challenge and want to do another! I was thinking of what to try and I decided to try “Eat Clean Week”. Of course eating clean means different things for everyone, but for my challenge I am going to avoid:

1) Trans Fat, including all Partially Hydrogenated Oils.Ā 

I took a nutrition class last spring and we learned how horrible trans fats are for you. I definitely avoid things that have trans fat for the most part, but you would be surprised where those partially hydrogenated oils sneak up! I’m going to be more careful with reading nutrition labels and see if I can go without them for a week.

2) High Fructose Corn Syrup

There has been a lot of controversy surrounding this topic and whether HFCS is any worse for you than other sugars, I’m not educated enough on the topic to go into it here, but I am going to do some more research. I don’t think that I will avoid it forever (everything in moderation!) but I do think it will be interesting to challenge myself to avoid it for a week.

I can’t wait to start this challenge–it will be really interesting to see how my diet changes. For the most part I like to think I eat pretty clean already so I’m curious how much will be different. I went through my food tonight and there are a few things that will be hard to give up, namely All Bran Buds (HFCS) and those delicious Yogurt Raisins (partially hydrogenated soybean oil) that I just bought.

Also, as much as it pains me, it looks like I won’t be having my favorite Carrot Cake until a few days into spring break. Oh well, it’s all the more challenge for me!

Ok, I’m off to start my movie, see you tomorrow!

9 Responses to “Day Off and New Challenge”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Hooray for treating yourself right and for the new challenge!! Good luck!!

  2. 2 Sharon Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks for sharing! Yes, I was astonished to find that my all-time favorite Bran Flakes were loaded with HFCS. It was so disappointing, but oh well. Anyways, love this post!

  3. 3 Anna Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Don’t feel bad about taking the day off. Your brain and body will thank you for giving them both a break!

    Eating clean sounds like a good challenge. I’m always shocked when I read the ingredients on some of my favorite foods. I think they’re clean but a few bad guys always manage to sneak in!

  4. 4 ksgoodeats Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Everyone deserves a day off! Glad you’ve had a great weekend so far šŸ™‚

    PS. Nature’s Path makes ‘Smart Bran’ which is similar to the buds minus the yucko!

  5. 5 Melissa S. Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    totally deserve a day off! you done right girly!

    and good luck w/ the new challenge! i’ve been trying to do that as much as possible too!

  6. 6 jaime Sunday, March 8, 2009 at 12:42 am

    the eat clean challenge sounds great! youve inspired me to challenge myself with something šŸ™‚ cant wait to read more

    and glad you took a day off ! you deserve it

  7. 7 lilveggiepatch Sunday, March 8, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Blogging breaks are very important.

    I can’t believe you went a whole week without chocolate! Hmm, maybe I’ll try that.

    What movie are you watching?

  8. 8 Jenn (eating bender) Sunday, March 8, 2009 at 11:51 am

    It sounds like a fabulous new challenge, Sarah! I do think it’s amazing how trans fats and HFCS find their way into foods when you’d least expect them to! I’m excited to read about this new challenge and see how you feel afterward. Congratulations on going a whole week without chocolate, girly! I am super impressed!

  9. 9 Hangry Pants Thursday, March 12, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Ah I rememember my own HFCS challenge. You are going to see it everywhere. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

