Snow Day

For the first time in all 4 years in college in Boston I finally got a snow day. I’m upset that it was on a Monday instead of Tuesday because this meant yoga was cancelled! 

Anyway, I woke up to about 9 inches of snow and an email saying that the entire campus was closed. This meant no library and no gym for me. I didn’t know what to do with myself!

Breakfast

I had a ‘snowy’ breakfast of yogurt, banana, and cereal while doing some blog catch-up. 

img_3047

I knew that I wasn’t going to get any work done in my room and the thought of being cooped up all day in the house made me crazy so I recruited a brave friend and we bundled up in 27900 layers and made the adventurous trek through the snow to Starbucks.

img_3048

Lunch

It was so gross outside! And I’ve been confused all day. This sort of intense snow makes me want to start singing Christmas carols, but then I realize it’s March and it was 60* on Friday. I’m in some sort of crazy time warp. 

We got to Starbucks around 10:30 and claimed some super comfy chairs where we literally did not move until 4:30. I was actually really productive and got a ton of work done. I really love studying at Starbucks because it’s so cozy, the music is great, it’s fun to people watch when you need a little break, and today they had the fireplace going which was so nice!

I got a venti black coffee to get me through the day and around lunchtime I ordered a Goat Cheese and Mushroom Sandwich which was mediocre. I had high hopes for this but it was sort of bland and soggy. I liked the goat cheese, but it was nothing special, definitely not worth the price! I was still a little hungry when I finished so I had a pumpkin pie kashi bar that I had packed.

img_3049

img_3052

Snack

When I got back to my room I was starving and quickly grabbed a jumbo pear and akmak crackers for a snack.

img_3050

Dinner

There was no way that I was leaving the house again—it is cold and miserable outside! So I dug into the freezer for an Amy’s Indian meal for dinner. These are pretty good for a frozen dinner!

img_3054

Dessert

Sticking to my Chocolate Free Week, I’m having some graham sticks for a little dessert. 

img_3051

I’m really glad that I finally got a snow day after all these years! Too bad one of my professors rescheduled class for 7:30 Wednesday night! That’s not fair! 

Since I’ve been such a hard-worker all day today, I think I’m going to reward myself with some 30 Rock episodes and an early bedtime. See you tomorrow!

19 Responses to “Snow Day”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, March 2, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Haha!! Love the photo of you outside 😀

    Definitely reward yourself tonight, girl!! Enjoy the snow day to the fullest.

  2. 2 Melissa S. Monday, March 2, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    love the picture of you in the snow!

    i guess i can’t whine about my cold fl weather…you people up north east def beat me out! haha!

  3. 3 ksgoodeats Monday, March 2, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    You look cute all bundled up to brave the weather! 30 Rock is a fabulous reward for yourself 🙂

  4. 4 carolinebee Monday, March 2, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    cute little snow bunny haha! That’s awesome you made it to Starbizzle- i am always SO productive at coffee shops because it’s not TOO quiet, but it’s not my house either where I would get nothing done!

  5. 5 Bec Monday, March 2, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I agree, Starbucks is a studying heaven!

  6. 6 jenngirl Monday, March 2, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Sounds like a great snow day to me!! You are way more productive than I could ever be 😉

  7. 7 Yasmin Monday, March 2, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I am so jealous of you guys in the Northeast! I wish we had a snow day here in Texas but that’s not going to happen with 70-80 degree weather. I love people-watching at Starbux as well which means I never get anything done. Enjoy your night!

  8. 8 lilveggiepatch Monday, March 2, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    BOO too bad about that Starbucks sandwich! Can they grill them there? Instant sog=fighter. In elementary school when my dad used to pack my lunch, he always strapped a frozen Juicy Juice to my PB&J and by the time I ate it it was a wet mess!

  9. 9 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, March 2, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Ahh lucky girl! Even though I don’t have class on Monday, I’m always hoping for a snow day to get off of work 🙂 Ooh I don’t think I told you this – my last day is next week! Phewfta. Anyway, the point is, you look SUPER cute in that picture all bundled up and I’m glad that you got a day off to get caught up on work!

    A day at Starbucks with a fire sounds cozy and nice. Too bad that sandwich was not-so-hot. I hope you have a great Tuesday! Thanks for posting questions on my FAQ post – you rock! Oh, and last but not least I saw you won the PB2 on Lindsay’s post! YAY! I can’t wait for you to try it!

  10. 10 Caroline Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 1:10 am

    I’ve never gotten a food item at Starbucks. Have you tried any of their others?

    • 11 Sarah Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 8:24 am

      I really like their biscotti and the baked goods are delicious but only for a very special treat because they’re not good for you at all! I love love love the iced lemon loaf though!

  11. 12 Sarah Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Sesame Street spoofed 30 Rock this morning. They had this lemon puppet with glasses that was “Liz Lemon.” It was pretty funny. Gracie had no idea why I was laughing so hard.

  12. 13 Julianne Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Unlimited Public Records Searches!

  13. 14 healthy ashley Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Look at how cute you look in the snow!

  14. 15 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Oooh snow! And i thought 46* was cold! Stay warm!

  15. 16 Erin Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Oh wow! All you can really do is go to Starbucks in that weather, am I right? Seriously, it’s crazy! I wish you were down here with me – it’s about 75!

  16. 17 martiniwindow Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    My Dad went to school in Boston and always laughs when people complain about snow because he had to brave the worst!!

    30 Rock is definitely something I would watch if we EVER had a snow day here!

  17. 18 cleanveggiex3 Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    ahaha your adorable with your 238403 layers.

    love amy’s meals =]

  18. 19 Sharon Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Oh wow, that sandwich sounds delightful!!! All your eats are great!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

