Perfect

I think my dad summed it up best when he told me that this was the “best weekend and vacation he’s had in 20 years”. I think I would have to agree. I really needed it—it was great to relax and rejuvenate in such a stress-free environment. We didn’t have any set plans, never were in a rush, and really just went with the flow and it was so great. I love my dad so much and we had such a great time together and had some great talks and a lot of fun. I appreciate my family so much and even though I sometimes take my stress out on them, I am so thankful for everything they do for me. My dad makes me feel so loved and needed, which is a great feeling to have!

Breakfast

Today was the perfect end to a perfect weekend. I woke up early and hit the hotel gym which was amazing. The gym at school is seriously crappy so I loved every second of my run on the high-tech treadmill with a TV! If I had a television to watch every day when I exercise it would be a whole lot more enjoyable! I did a quick 3.5 miles and then hit up the free hotel breakfast. Whenever I run I’m really not at all hungry afterward but I knew I needed to refuel so I kept things light with some fruit, yogurt, and rice krispies. 

img_2936

Brunch

We checked out of the hotel and hit up Whole Foods for a massive and wonderful grocery shop. It was so fun! Haha, my poor dad had to suffer through my meticulous browsing of the aisles, but he was a great sport about it. After we unloaded the groceries we went out for an amazing brunch.

My friend recommended we try Ball Square Cafe and I am so glad that we did! This was a tiny place with only about 10 tables, and we had to wait 10-15 minutes for a table, there was free coffee though, which made it a lot more manageable! Everything on the menu looked great and we saw these huge belgian waffles topped with mountains of fresh fruit and whipped cream pass by which looked great and I’ll definitely have to order them in the future! For my meal I was craving eggs though so I ordered a Salmon, spinach and boursin cheese egg white omelette with fresh fruit and cinnamon raisin toast. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you know how much I love my omelettes and this one definitely exceeded my expectations. It was awesome! It was so big though, that I couldn’t finish but my dad gladly ate my leftovers.

img_2937

For his meal he chose the Corned Beef Hash Eggs Benedict with ‘mashed homefries’ which he loved. I tried a bite of the homefries and they were really good–a very creamy garlicky mashed potatoes with an awesome crunchy crust. So good!

img_2938

I am absolutely coming back here again! Everyone was so friendly and the owner even came over and introduced himself and chatted with us for a bit. It was such a fun, welcoming place, with fast, attentive service and delicious food.

After brunch we went to see The International which was really good! It was confusing, but not quite as hard to follow as some of those spy movies are, and basically Clive Owen is the love of my life and I would be perfectly content watching him read the dictionary for 2 hours.

Then it was time for my dad to leave : ( I was so sad to see him go but I’ll be home for Spring Break in less than a month, so I’ll be ok! Thanks for such a great weekend dad!

Now it’s time to get cracking on all the homework that I didn’t do this weekend. Yikes!

10 Responses to “Perfect”


  1. 1 Sarah Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    That’s so sweet that your dad said that about his best vacation. I think dads and daughters have such a unique relationship, I’m so glad you guys are so close. Thanks for telling him my girls were the cutest too!!!

    Did you see Children of Men and Inside Man? Both awesome Clive Owen movies!

    Hope the rest of your Sunday is great!

  2. 2 K Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I love hearing about how much fun you and your dad have together! I can tell you guys have a great relationship!!

    Bahhhh good luck doing homework!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    I’m beyond pleased that you got to spend such a wonderful weekend with your dad – I too am very close with mine 🙂

  4. 4 jenngirl Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I’ve loved reading every bit of your father-daughter weekend! Today sounds like the icing on top of the cake!! Good luck with homework!

  5. 5 carolinebee Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I agree with jenn! I had pretty much the exact same/bff relationship with my dad…and I’m so happy you got to spend the weekend with him. Now I don’t think I’ll ever get a BF cuz my dad was the perfect man in my life 😀 have a great night girlie

  6. 6 Melissa S. Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    what a great day w/ your dad! i’m sad to see him go too! you were having such a blast!

  7. 7 lilveggiepatch Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    What a nice weekend with your daddy! WF is where my parent weekends always end (and usually start!), too.

    I was planning on waiting a little bit for dinner, but I looked at that cinnamon raisin toast (pretty much has been my ultimate snack since I was teething) and just put my food in the microwave. THANKS, Sarah!

    (Yes, Ronnie’s my car!!!)

  8. 8 hk Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    So great you had fun with your dad- they’re the best 🙂 you definitely deserved a fun, relaxing weekend- YEA!!!

  9. 9 Sharon Sunday, February 15, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Awh, love to hear that you and are your dad are so close! I can totally relate! And love your eats!!!!

  10. 10 eatingbender Monday, February 16, 2009 at 12:38 am

    Aww, what you said about you and your dad’s thoughts on the weekend made me smile 🙂 I love spending time with dad! It’s the best! I’m glad you’re so happy.

    You want to know something funny? Not only is my dad an early riser…he always orders corned beef hash eggs benedict for breakfast! It looks like we aren’t the only twins! Is that crazy or what?


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

