Best Dad Ever

I seriously have the best Dad in the world! He got up at 3 this morning to drive 11 hours to come visit me for the weekend. He’s only going to be here for a short time, so the drive is almost as long as the time he’s going to spend in Boston. I’m so thankful that he’s here—he’s my best friend and we have so much fun together!

I got up early to do some homework and pack. The hotel we’re staying in is so nice compared to my teeny tiny room at school. I love it and never want to leave! I started my day as usual with a big bowl of cereal. Then I was very productive and went to the gym for a great workout and headed into work for a few hours. 

img_2899

The original plan was to go out for linner (lunch/dinner) at around 3 when my dad got here so I was going to switch my lunch and snack and had a Kashi Chocolate Turtle Roll bar to hold me over. This was my first time trying the bar and I’m not sure if I would get it again. I really liked the flavor and the different textures but it was SO HARD to eat! Seriously, I thought I was going to pull a tooth trying to bite this thing! I’m glad I was alone while I was eating it because I sure looked ridiculous gnawing away at this thing!

img_29011

We found out that the restaurant we wanted to go to didn’t open until 5:30 so we wandered around before and stumbled upon a little pub The Thirsty Scholar. We really just wanted to get out of the cold, but ended up finding a great little place! Once inside we found out that it was actually featured on the Food Network in one of Rachael Ray’s Tasty Travels. There was a big beer selection and the food looked really good too. I decided to have a Pomegranate Martini which was great and I was definitely a little buzzed afterward! These things could be really dangerous though because they were delicious and didn’t even taste like alcohol! I wish it was a little closer to campus because it was a fun little place and so cheap! My martini was only $4.50!!! In Boston this is incredible—a drink like this would normally cost $10-12!

img_2903

After our drinks it was time to head over to EVOO for dinner. This restaurant was delicious! It was a very small, intimate, chic place with exceptional service and very innovative, creative dishes. We were starving by the time we sat down and gladly devoured the homemade bread and breadsticks with olive oil with balsamic and cheese to dip. The breadsticks were so crispy and flavorful with lots of different herbs and spices. So good!

img_2904

As an appetizer we split the 3 spring rolls with 2 dipping sauces. I’m not sure exactly what was in each spring roll but my favorite was a smoked salmon one. The peanut dipping sauce was really good too!

img_2905

For our main dishes my dad chose the Duck, Duck, Goose: Duck Confit, Seared Hudson Valley Duck Foie Gras, Slices of Goose Breast, Lentils, Little Green Beans, Verrill Farm’s Wilted Greens and Sherry – Ginger Sauce

img_2907

Of course I had a bite and it was excellent! Everything was very tender and flavorful, the duck literally fell off the bone. The seasonings were perfect too, and my dad didn’t let any of the amazing sauce go to waste–he sopped it all up with the great bread.

For my meal I chose the Sake Kasu Marinated Baked Gloucester Cod Fillet: with Tempura Fried Potato Maki, Apple – Seaweed Salad, Parsnip – Miso Vinaigrette and Crushed Wasabi Peas.

img_2908

It was unbelievable! The fish was cooked absolutely perfectly and I loved the sauce. The tempura potato was great too, it was so creamy, comforting, and satisfying. The salad and crushed wasabi peas gave the dish the perfect combination of flavors and textures by provided a little bit of crunch and spice. So good!

We came back to the hotel and relaxed for a bit before breaking out the desserts that we bought earlier. We split an almond biscotti and chocolate brownie. Both were so good! I love desserts : )

img_2909

Today was a great day and tomorrow is going to be even better—we have some really fun stuff planned that I can’t wait to tell you about! See you tomorrow!

15 Responses to “Best Dad Ever”


  1. 2 foodsthatfit Friday, February 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Have a great time with your dad! The eats look delicious!

  2. 4 luckytastebuds Friday, February 13, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    wow you guys ordered such wonderful looking dishes and I am a HUGE sucker for those bread “sticks”!!! What an awesome daddy you have and it’s even more awesome that you guys are so tight. 🙂

  3. 6 lilveggiepatch Friday, February 13, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    What a nice daddy!!! I miss mine so much… I get to see my parents next weekend (muahahaha I’m so bad I really should NOT be taking the weekend off) and the weekend after! I love your happy hour, too… might as well ring in the weekend as early as possible.

    That cod looks AMAZING. Holy crap. I need to go to Boston to check out the food scene!

    Have fun tomorrow! Can’t wait to see the re-cap 🙂

  4. 7 Sarah Friday, February 13, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    you’re wrong because MY dad is the best dad ever. but yours sounds pretty cool, too ;-).

    the food at evoo looks amazing — gorgeous presentation. enjoy your dad-time tomorrow!

  5. 8 Sharon Friday, February 13, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    What an awesome day with DAD!!! =D

  6. 9 Caroline Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Those Roll! bars are tough to eat, but super delicious in my opinion!

    Have fun with your dad!

  7. 10 Sarah Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 1:57 am

    You look so happy (and gorge, of course)! Glad you are having such a fun time! Enjoy!

  8. 11 Kristie Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Aww that’s SO sweet of your dad, I hope you have a wonderful weekend with him.

    $4.50 for a martini is a really awesome price! I’ve never seen them that cheap. Which is one of the reasons I never order them. Mmmm pomegranate.

    Can’t wait to hear how the rest of your weekend goes 🙂

  9. 12 Erin Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 8:49 am

    That is so adorable. Dads are the best! Hope the rest of his visit is just as great.

  10. 13 jenngirl Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Aw glad you are enjoying time with your dad!! What a great way to spend valentine’s day! 🙂

  11. 14 eatingbender Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Your dad is so amazing – what a trooper to make that long drive. He must love you very much 🙂

    Love the picture of you with the pomegranate martini – so cute! I’ve never had one before but I really want to try…maybe today is the day! Nice that it was cheap, too!

    EVOO sounds like a delicious place to eat! I hope two have a wonderful weekend together!

    P.S. I so agree with you on those Roll bars. I thought my tooth was going to come out, too!

  12. 15 Erin Saturday, February 14, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Whoa that looks really gourmet! I’m so happy you and your daddy have such a great rtsp. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

