Thinking Positively

Good Morning! Happy Friday!

Last night was a VERY. LONG. NIGHT. I didn’t end up getting back to my room until around 1:15–which is waaayyyyyy past my ideal bedtime. Needless to say I didn’t get any work done last night when I got back so I am up bright and early this morning to get my day started. I have so much to get accomplished this morning/afternoon because even more sorority stuff starts at 4. Tomorrow is the last day of recruitment though, so I’ll finally be able to breathe again! Woohoo.

Anyway, I don’t have pictures of the rest of my food last night but there was plenty of candy involved. It definitely wasn’t the healthiest of nights but I ate really well all day so I know that I can afford a few indulgences.

I woke up this morning and was feeling sort of blahh about myself. Since Thanksgiving I’ve gained the necessary weight to put me at my ideal weight. While this should make me happy it actually made me really nervous! I was a little upset that I had gained weight, even though that was the goal, and I am nervous that this number is going to continue to go up. Last night I put on a pair of jeans that I hadn’t worn in a while and they didn’t fit like they had been. *meaning–they actually did fit and weren’t falling off my body. I immediately started thinking negatively and coming up with ways to restrict. BUT…..then I decided to stop all that nonsense once and for all. Even though I ate some junk food last night I really enjoyed it and enjoyed myself too. I wasn’t obsessing over  the food but rather was having fun with my friends and really appreciating their company. I was actually mentally present in the moment rather than physically being there but having my mind elsewhere (like counting calories or meal planning). 

Even though I have been having some negative thoughts I know that I need to work on accepting my body and myself. I decided to think of all the positives that have resulted from the past few months.

1) I look healthier. At the beginning of the school year I had friends and family tell me that I didn’t look good—I was sickly and frail. That’s no good! Yesterday my nutritionist told me that she could really tell a difference in how much healthier I look than when I started meeting with her. Also, last night when my jeans were fitting differently than usual I talked to my friend about it because she has been really supportive of me throughout this whole process. She said the exact same thing: “You look healthy for once.” This means so much more to me than if she had said “oh, don’t worry it doesn’t look like you gained weight.” or “oh, you’re still thin”, etc. HEALTH is what matters, and I need to remember that!

2) I have more energy.  I’m no longer so lethargic and tired all the time. Even though I haven’t been sleeping the greatest, I still have so much energy to get me through the day. I no longer have to rely on naps to make it from lunch to dinner.

3) I am stronger. I’m able to run longer, strength train harder, and really push myself during yoga. There was a time where I just pooped out in the middle of my practice or exercise session and just physically couldn’t do it anymore. Now I’m able to really improve my fitness since I have the strength and energy to really push myself.

4) I’m not as cold. I used to literally be freezing all. the. time. It was so horrible—even in 70* weather I was chilly and it made me just want to curl up in bed and not leave. I would wrap myself in sweatshirts and hated going anywhere because I was just too cold. Now, I can’t really judge this perfectly because it is painfully cold in Boston right now, but inside I’ve felt so much better!

5) I can pay attention and be present. I used to always be so distracted in classes and with my friends. I never was fully there and couldn’t enjoy the moment. Now I’ve found that I really like my classes and am interested in the material! I also have been enjoying time with my friends so much more. 

6) I’m not always hungry or thinking about food. I used to be hungry all the time. I would get to the point where I was shaky, irritable, light-headed, or nauseous on a daily basis. It was horrible. I couldn’t concentrate on anything else! Now I finally know what it feels like to me satisfied and can devote my mind to other things. It’s great.

7) I can enjoy treats. I’m still working on not feeling guilty about indulgences but I have come a long way! I’ve been allowing myself treats on occasion and I’ve been enjoying them. Food is delicious!

I’m sure there’s more but I’ve been talking for long enough! Feel free to add your input!

Sorry this is looooong and picture-less but I had a lot on my mind this morning and it helps so much to write these thoughts down! 

I’m off to get another long day started, I’ll see you all later!

14 Responses to “Thinking Positively”


  1. 1 Julz Friday, January 30, 2009 at 8:01 am

    I am S0 proud of you, Sar! What a beautiful journey of rejuvenation this has been! Isn’t it amazing to think that Y0U have epitomized your health: Mental Strength, Emotional Strength, Social Strength and Physical Strength: All by eating better? Y0U have this power, no one else. I’m so happy babe. Y0U CAN D0 THIS =]

  2. 2 Julia Friday, January 30, 2009 at 9:35 am

    This post is SO EXACTLY TRUE… it’s funny, I was thinking of posting one almost identical to it today! I’ve also gained a bit of weight (since Xmas, basically) and am also having a tough time reconciling with it… but then when I think practically, all of those reasons you listed for why it’s a good thing also apply to me. I remember catching glimpses of myself in the mirror before and thinking, “Ugh, you look pale and gaunt” and realizing that the only way to look better would be to gain some weight. A huge part of me still wishes I were 5lbs lighter, but your list is an amazing reminder of why that would be a bad thing, not a good thing!!

  3. 3 jenngirl Friday, January 30, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Sorry you had such a long tiring night, but it DEFINITELY sounds like it was worthwhile!

    I remind myself of ALL of these points when I see old patterns coming back into play. Great post!

  4. 4 ksgoodeats Friday, January 30, 2009 at 9:39 am

    We both got in at the same time last night 🙂 Crazy kids…anyway I’m so proud of you, Sarah! Just think of all the positive things that has happened to you since you’ve started to eat more – that’s a fabulous list!! Isn’t enjoying company, having energy, looking healthy worth it? You are a beautiful person inside and out. Your strength is admirable – instead of worrying about jeans fitting right (which woohoo that’s wonderful!!) think about how much of an inspiration you are to your readers who could be struggling with this themselves. Be proud, girl! 🙂

    Remember – we’re always here for support ANY time you need it! Have a wonderful Friday and hang in there with the crazy schedule!! It’ll be over with soon 😀

  5. 5 seeleelive (for the love of peanut butter) Friday, January 30, 2009 at 10:14 am

    OMG-THIS LIST IS AMAZING!

    I AM PRINTING IT OUT AS WE SPEAK!

    i have some questions about the exchange, ill email you!

    thank thank thank thank thank You!!

  6. 6 lilveggiepatch Friday, January 30, 2009 at 11:28 am

    This is such a great post, Sarah. You’ve listed things that we ALL need to read every so often to make sure we don’t get, well, crazy. I’m so proud of you- even if your thoughts are sometimes negative, you adjust them so that they are positive and reflect an ideal of HEALTH. Way to go!!!

  7. 7 Sharon Friday, January 30, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Your amazing. And you’re so strong. That is such a great list you have compiled!

  8. 8 Katie Friday, January 30, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Great post. It’s fantastic that you can find so many positive things to counteract your negative first reaction. Thanks for sharing!

  9. 9 foodsthatfit Friday, January 30, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Sounds like you have made some amazing progress! Way to go!

  10. 10 Melissa S. Friday, January 30, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    that is a wonderful list of things to be proud of and positive about. wonderful wonderful!

  11. 12 Kristie Saturday, January 31, 2009 at 12:37 am

    You’ve done a wonderful job and come such a long way and this post just shows how strong and awesome you’ve been through all of this! Congrats! Being HEALTHY is definitely the most important thing and you seem like you’ve gotten that pretty down pat. 🙂

  12. 13 Kelly Saturday, January 31, 2009 at 1:15 am

    That’s so good that you are looking at your self in a healthy way, if your are healthy, you will be happier! I’m so proud of your feeling better 🙂

  13. 14 eatingbender Sunday, February 1, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Ok, this post was so beautifully written and really hit home for me. I am so happy to read all of this positivity and I think you are incredibly strong and inspiring, Sarah! Like Lee, I am going to keep this list handy and refer to it when the going gets tough. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

