More Medicine

Hmmm, so I know that I said WF is the best medicine, but now I think I’m going to have to go with the old saying that ‘laughter is the best medicine’. I just laughed harder than I have in a very, very long time–like tears streaming down my face, gasping for air laughter. I LOVE laughing! It’s seriously one of my favorite things to do and I just have been so down in the dumps lately that I haven’t had a good, genuine laugh in a really long time. I’m glad that changed tonight—it made me feel so much better and happier!

So anyway, my eating today hasn’t been the greatest, but I did the best I could! The first day of recruitment went really well it’s definitely exhausting!

While we were setting up and going over how the day was going to go I snacked on a White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Luna bar. I had high hopes for this one since this flavor Clif was so amazing, and I wasn’t disappointed–it was great! This is very sweet so if you don’t like that then this isn’t for you, but if you’re a sweets lover like me then give it a try. I think this would make for a really great dessert!

img_2762

We had a table set up with homemade mini cupcakes and the rule basically goes that if a girl you’re talking to eats, you have to eat something too so that she doesn’t feel awkward. This was a rule that I happily followed because these cupcakes were great! They were teeny-tiny so I didn’t feel bad having a few. Obviously I didn’t take pictures at the time (could you even imagine how awkward that would have been!) but I did sneak down into the kitchen and do a recreation for you guys. Let me just say, it was very hard setting them out and not having another one!

img_2766

When I got back to my room I had a handful of trail mix. I bought Cranberry Nut Mix this time which has peanuts, cranberries, pistachios, cashews, almonds, hazelnuts, and sesame peanuts. It’s really good! 

img_2765

Dinner

Multigrain Sushi–love, love, love.

img_2767

Dessert

I’ve heard great things about this yogurt so when I saw it at WF today I knew I wanted to give it a try. I was intrigued by the orange & ginger flavor since I am OBSESSED with ginger. It was really good! Super thick (even more than Fage I think) and the flavor was subtle but nice. The nutritional facts on this are awesome–16 grams of protein in this 6 oz container! Crazy! It was pretty expensive so I don’t know if it will be a regular purchase but I will definitely buy this again for a special treat! 

img_2768

As soon as I finished typing up this post I realized that I haven’t had any fruit today! Not only is that shocking because I LOVE FRUIT but it’s also totally not ok. I quickly remedied the situation with an apple/pb. Now my day is complete.

img_2769

Oh man, I’m zonked now. I’m going to go read foreign policy for fun and go to sleep early–gotta get ready for a super busy week.

Goodnight!

12 Responses to “More Medicine”


  1. 1 Sharon Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I want that trail mix! Yum!
    And you’re totally right, laughter is thy medicine!!

  2. 2 jenngirl Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Real, genuine laughter is the BEST! Glad you enjoyed some 🙂

    Yummy cupcakes, trail mix, and especially that SUSHI!! I’m in need of my weekly sushi fix soooon.

    Sleep well!

  3. 3 carolinebee Monday, January 26, 2009 at 12:08 am

    dude laughter to the point of stomach hurting and/or tears is the best thing ever 😀 We had those same rules about eating and making girls comfortable during recruitment 😀 We had sooo many good treats it was awesome! I know it’s a loot and stressful but enjoy your last round of it!

  4. 4 eatingbender Monday, January 26, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I am so happy that you had a real, genuine laugh session today! It truly is one of the best feelings in the world!

    I loved all your Whole Foods purchases! That is another great form of medicine, indeed 🙂 I’m glad the Luna WCMN bar is good because I bought some of those last time I restocked on the Clif version. It is definitely a sweet treat!

    Those cupcakes look so adorable! Enjoy the rest of recruitment!

  5. 5 sarahannmatheny Monday, January 26, 2009 at 3:21 am

    I love laughing like that. It doesn’t happen often enough for my liking, but when it does, its the best!!

    Have you tried the Ginger Chips from TJ’s? They are crazy gingery…almost TOO gingery. You’d love ’em!

  6. 6 foodsthatfit Monday, January 26, 2009 at 4:07 am

    I just tried the Clif White Macadamia Nut bar today; must be a theme going on between bar companies!

  7. 7 foodsthatfit Monday, January 26, 2009 at 4:17 am

    All right, I can definately tell it is 4 am and I just worked a 12 hr shift, b/c duh, Clif and Luna are the same company. Ignore my previous post. Regardless they are delicious!

  8. 8 Sarah Monday, January 26, 2009 at 10:34 am

    laughing is the best!!! i’m glad you got a good one in — you needed it. and those cupcakes look soooooooo yummy.

    orange and ginger yogurt?! i need to keep my eyes peeled for this next time i’m in wf.

  9. 9 ksgoodeats Monday, January 26, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Laughter is a great workout and instant mood booster!! I think everyone should laugh as often as possible!

    That yogurt has been elusive for me – I need to hunt it down!

  10. 10 lilveggiepatch Monday, January 26, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Oh Sarah, I love your new blog title. It is so optimistic and makes me so happy! I could go on… but I won’t.

    I’m so jealous of all your eats! Cupcakes! SUSHI! I’m glad those yogurts come in 0% now… I’ve always been curious but wasn’t ready to make that kind of commitment. Yum!

  11. 11 gina (fitnessista) Monday, January 26, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    sorry for being a blog slacker but i’m just seeing your new blog for the first time– GORGEOUS!! i love it!
    i had that luna bar last night– definitely a fan. it was so good!
    those cupcakes look incredible
    happy monday!

  12. 12 Erin Monday, January 26, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I think your eats looks damn good! And I am so with you on laughing. 🙂 It really is the best. I find everything hysterical and I think it’s on purpose.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

