Saturday

Hello! As many of you noticed—yes, I did change the blog name/header! I was bored yesterday and finallly actually figured out HOW to do it. I’m not very computer savvy, so it took me about 6 months to figure it out, but I finally did! Haha. I thought that I was stuck with “Ourkitchenadventure’s weblog” forever! I took that picture over Thanksgiving break when my dad and I went to a conservatory—isn’t it pretty! I’m glad you all like it! I’m trying to make it a goal to live, laugh, and love more because I definitely don’t do enough of any of those things.

Breakfast

Nothing special—my bananas aren’t ripe yet and I’m out of yogurt (don’t worry, that problem was soon remedied!) which put me in sort of a predicament for breakfast. I ended up just having a kashi bar and apple before heading to the gym.

img_2743

Going to the gym today was a very bad decision. My foot was definitely not better, and while my body definitely needed another rest day, my mind just couldn’t handle 2 days off in a row. So I went and it was horrible. My foot hurt so bad that my other leg was trying to compensate and I ended up doing something funny to it which resulted in even more pain. Ugh, bad news. Things are feeling a little better now but I know I need to take it easy or else I’m just going to be out for the count longer than I need to be.

Lunch

I tried a new soup today: Vegetarian Spicy Chili and it was so good! I love this brand because it’s so easy to make (you just microwave it right in the container) and all the varieties I’ve tried so far have been delicious. There were lots of beans in here and it definitely had a spicy kick to it. It was warm, comforting, and filling. On the side I also had some wheat thin crisps and followed up lunch with some chocolate covered pretzels. Delish

img_2745

img_2749

Snack

I did some typical Saturday homework and munched on some kettle corn in the process. Then I crawled back in bed and took a nap! It was great. I curled up in a little cocoon with my covers pulled way over my head and it was so nice and cozy. 

img_2746

Whenever I take a nap, no matter for how long, I always wake up hungry! It’s weird! I fixed that little problem with a juicy pear.

img_2748

Dinner

Another frozen meal (ughhhh, I miss my kitchen and eating real food!)—this time a Lean cuisine Orange Chicken which was pretty g00d—if you like chinese food definitely give this a try. It obviously wasn’t quite as good because the chicken wasn’t fried, but that just makes for a healthier version! These meals are really small and I knew that if I didn’t have something with it I would be hungry like 5 minutes later so I ended with a brownie–a clif mini chocolate brownie that is!

img_2750

img_27521

Dessert

A little snack platter. My favorite!

img_2753

That took me forever—I’ve been eating nonstop today!

I don’t know if I’m going to go out tonight or not, there are a few things going on but there’s also a windchill of -5* and I want to cry every time I put any pressure on my foot. I’m also just not in the mood to go anywhere. I’ve been feeling really blah all day, I’m just homesick and bored and want this semester do be over. Meh.

12 Responses to “Saturday”


  1. 1 Sarah Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    love the new header!

    i hear ya about the lack of motivation to go out. it’s cold and you’re in pain, and it’s soooo much effort to leave the house if you’re just going to be uncomfortable the whole time. throw on a girly movie and hide under some blankets! it’s always a tough adjustment getting back into the swing of things after time off, but that just means it can only get better 😀

  2. 2 Sharon Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 12:58 am

    Wow, I never knew Lean Cuisine looked that good! And oh yummy eats overall! Love it!

    And I know what you mean about being homesick. Try calling your parents and such, I find that helps.

  3. 3 lilveggiepatch Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Your foot makes me so sad! Totally an excuse to lie in bed and watch movies though. And I hear you: I’ve been here for seven hours and I’m already unbelievably homesick. Blah.

  4. 4 sarahannmatheny Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 2:13 am

    You took that picture?! Yet another talent!

    So frustrating about your foot. I have had stress fractures in my foot twice and the only thing that works is rest, ice and more rest. I did biking and swimming for my workouts, maybe you could give that a try if you want to rest it up some more?

    Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  5. 5 theskinnyplate Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 2:18 am

    Your snack platter looks great!!

  6. 6 VeggieGirl Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Fabulous new blog name and header!!

    Ahhh, I’m praying that your foot recovers soon!!

  7. 7 Nicole Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Chocolate covered pretzels!!! Yum.

  8. 8 strongandhealthy Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 9:29 am

    I like your new header!! Yummy dessert!!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  9. 9 jenngirl Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I noticed the header yesterday, but I didn’t know if you’d already addressed it and didn’t want to be annoying and ask again…haha I like it though!

    Sorry your foot was hurting at the gym, I’ve done the same thing when it comes to soreness and pushing myself, and I think it just takes time for us to LEARN that we should take these days off.

    It was WAY too cold to go out last night for us as well, hope you had a great evening!

  10. 11 ksgoodeats Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 10:09 am

    The new header is gorgy! I love it!! I also love your snack platter – YUMS!

    Sorry to hear about the rough day! I hope your foot is feeling better and if it’s not, I will come lock you in your dorm so you can’t use it 😉


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

