Another Weekend

So I know that I’m going to get booed and hissed at for saying this, but when I’m at school I just don’t like the weekends. I know, I know, what is wrong with me? I don’t know, I just feel like weekends are so much harder for me emotionally than the weeks are. I just get so bored and stressed out and upset because I finally have time to think and so the weekends are when I finally dwell on all the troubles from the week and it just makes me feel blahhh. I like the business and structure that comes during the week and I just don’t really know what to do with all my free time on the weekends. Especially in the winter when it’s so cold, I just feel sort of trapped during the weekends and I always experience a lot of anxiety and negativity. Sorry to bring anyone down because I know how much every other human being lives for the weekend, so I hope you all have great ones so that I have some optimistic posts to look forward to reading!

Anyway, enough of that.

Earlier today I limped my way over to Starbucks and had my current favorite drink while doing some homework: double tall soy one-pump sugar free vanilla latte. Yes, it’s a mouthful, but it’s so, so good. If you haven’t tried soy milk in your latte before, I highly recommend giving it a shot, it’s so much creamier and rich than skim and makes for such a comforting, indulgent drink!

img_2734

Lunch

I had to go in to work this afternoon so I just grabbed a salad at the campus center beforehand. It was really disappointing. The tomatoes were mushy, the chicken was waaaaaay too salty, and the bean mixture was so mushy. I tried but I couldn’t even choke it all down. Yuck.

img_2735

Snack

I was pretty hungry when I got back from work since my lunch was so unsatisfying so I popped up some kettle corn and had a little ginger dark chocolate while it was in the microwave. I have to admit, this did put me in a little bit of a better mood.

img_2736

img_2738

Dinner

I had an easy dinner tonight: morningstar garden veggie burger sandwich, (sadly not sweet) pear, and crackers. I caught up on 30 Rock while I ate which makes any dinner better!

img_2740

Dessert

Love of my life. I wish those vitamuffins weren’t so expensive—this dessert is heavenly!

img_2741

And I don’t know what’s up with me but I’m still hungry! I’m drinking some tea now, hoping that will quiet my stomach but I think I might need to pull out a few more graham crackers or something because I hate going to bed hungry!

I guess I’m just going to take it easy tonight and maybe watch a movie with a few friends. Most of my friends are heading off to one of the Frat’s annual Jello Shot parties but I really don’t want to go because 1) I am beyond over frat parties (please…a bunch of wasted freshman in a grimy basement with an inch of beer on the floor—-no thank you) and 2) Jello is my #1 least favorite food of all time. I have nightmares thinking about it and the way that it jiggles. Gag me.

I hope you all are having more fun tonight! What are your plans? Do something fun and think of me : )

13 Responses to “Another Weekend”


  1. 2 jenngirl Friday, January 23, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I totally hear ya on the weekends. In fact, this past week before starting classes, I’ve been over-the-top anxious and I felt like I needed to be at the gym 24/7. I get so stir-crazy! Luckily, I saved all of my school supply shopping for this weekend, so it should be a lot easier and more structured.

    Gosh, I haven’t had a latte in so long, I’ve been drinking black coffee forever, but you might have just swayed me to try a soy latte 🙂

    That dessert looks soo amazing! Why oh why do vitamuffins have to be so expensive!

    And I’m taking it SUPER easy tonight, I almost feel like a loser, but not really because my body and mine NEED a break for a night.

    Sleep well!

  2. 3 Melissa S. Friday, January 23, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    i’m sorry that the weekends aren’t something that you look forward to! i hope that you are able to relax about them and have some relaxing and fun time this weekend!

    and no wonder you’re hungry still! you didn’t have breakfast babe! got have a snack! you totally deserve it!

  3. 4 carolinebee Friday, January 23, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Hey lady! WHEN did you change your blog name/header?? It looks seriously beautiful! Love it. I totally feel ya on the weekend BOO HIIISSS haha, luckily i lived close so i just went home every weekend to soothe my soul. I really liked to stick around if I made museum dates, coffee dates or just went on walks with some friends, anything to get out and not go so stir crazy on the weekends! Good luck I hope you have a good one 😀

  4. 5 Sharon Friday, January 23, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Oh I know what you mean about vitamuffins being so expensive. I haven’t bought one yet, but I was thinking of trying it. -lol-

    But oh wow, they do look tasty, don’t they! And like asked by Caroline, did you change your name of your blog and header too?

  5. 6 sarahannmatheny Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 2:09 am

    I LOVE the look of your blog…it matches YOU so much better–beautiful, cheery and bright!!!

    I never liked the weekends when I was in school either. It felt like there was always a lot of pressure to be doing SOMETHING, and like you said, complete lack of structure. Is there anyway you can try to structure your weekends anyway?

    LOVE the veggie burger, girl!

    Have a good weekend =)

  6. 7 Erin Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Yeah, when did you change your blog name? It looks beautiful! 🙂

  7. 8 ksgoodeats Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Sorry about the weekends 😦 I always try to plan things because I’m a big fan of structure and winter weekends = brutal! Hang in there, doll 🙂

    30 Rock is definitely a mood booster! No worries about the frat party = ewwwwwwww. I feel like I’ll get scabies just walking into some of them!

  8. 9 seeleelive Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 11:25 am

    sorry i’ve been so behind in your posts, but 250 pages-how do u manage to do that? i get so anxious being behind, its totally annoying when the bookstore runs out!! yikers!!

    anyway, i heard you were organized a secret santa for the bloggers back in december. im thinking of doing a v-day one, i would love some help/suggestions/tips!!!

  9. 10 eatingbender Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    I hear ya on the weekends. When I don’t know what to do with myself, I get stressed. My stomach actually starts to hurt!

    I’m sorry the salad was disappointing. But your dinner and dessert certainly made up for it! I don’t know if I told you this, but I bought Vitamuffins last weekend. I can’t wait to try them once I’m done inhaling VeggieGirl’s brownies.

    LOL – I hear ya on the Jello. When I was younger I heard it was made with cow hooves and it turned me off forever.

    P.S. I love the new title on your blog header 🙂 We must strive to do that each and every day.

  10. 11 Sarah's Mom Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I love the new title!

  11. 12 Nicole Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Kettle corn and chocolate is SO GOOD!

  12. 13 steadyaswego Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Weekends suck!!! As many others have said, I feel like there’s so much pressure to be doing something fun, and so much time to fill… Monday is a relief because it’s back to the regular routine, which is so much nicer and more comfortable.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

