Ouch!

Hi friends! Thanks for your tips on sleeping—I took some of your advice and read *for leisure* in bed last night and it did help me fall asleep. I used to always read a little bit before bed, and usually do when I’m at home, but when I’m at school I just don’t make as much time for it as I should–I’m definitely going to get back into the habit. Also, a few of you mentioned melatonin–I have no idea what that is! Where do you buy it? Is it like tylenol pm where it knocks you out? Will I feel groggy the next day? Tell me more!

Breakfast

I got up early as usual this morning and was starving! I made a super-quick fage, fiber one, banana bowl which definitely filled me up. After reading about a bajillion emails and a few blogs I headed over to the gym and got in a good workout on the arc-trainer followed by weights. 

img_2722

Lunch

Tuesdays/Thursdays I have class all day long so I packed up another turkey/laughing cow sandwich, carrots, and an apple. My classes went by really quickly. I absolutely love both my Yiddish Culture class and my Accounting class. US Foreign Policy, not so much—but I guess you win some, you lose some. 

img_2726

Snack

I pulled out my snack in between my 2nd and 3rd back-to-back class. I packed some trail mix and chocolate drizzle soy crisps. I really like trail mix because 1) it’s delicious and 2) it keeps me satisfied for a long time, but it lacks the volume to fill me up initially, especially when I’m really hungry. It was a great idea to include some of these crisps too because it gave me more volume and I felt like I was actually putting something into my tummy. 

img_2725

After class I headed to the Health Center for some not-so-fun stuff—hence the title of my post. Sorry if this is TMI, but I have a dreaded plantars wart right on the ball of my foot. It just won’t go away! I have to go in every few weeks and get it frozen and since I’d been away for break my doctor decided to give me an even more intense treatment than usual. I am in so much pain right now! I hobbled home and don’t plan on moving much the rest of the night!

Dinner

Mac&Cheese! But the grown up, more healthy version than the blue box that I loved as a kid. Tonight was Annie’s microwaveable single-serving mac & cheese with tuna mixed in for some protein. I love this!

img_2729

I have a serious addiction to ginger—I just LOVE it! When I saw this dark chocolate ginger bar at the store I just had to pick it up. Dark chocolate and ginger are 2 of my favorite flavors—and what happens when you put them together? PERFECTION. I had a little bit to end my meal and it was awesome.

img_2727

img_2728

 

The semester finally seemed to really kick in today because I have a ton of work to do. I better get to it!

13 Responses to “Ouch!”


  1. 1 s Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    i would recommend good ole benadryl (sp?) over melatonin. it’s an antihistamine, but it also can be used as an occasional sleep aid.

  2. 2 s Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    of course i’m not a dr. haha.

  3. 4 Erin Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Ugh, plantars suck! I had one in high school for about 3 years andno matter what I did it wouldn’t leave! Interestingly, it left once I stopped trying to get it to go away.
    Melatonin is a hormone produced in the body. I take it a few times a week and never feel groggy the next day. It also doesn’t have that creepy knock-out affect. You just get drowsy while reading in bed (ideally)!

  4. 5 Nicole Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    That chocolate sounds so gooood. Ginger and chocolate must be ahhhmazing!

  5. 6 ksgoodeats Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Melatonin can be found by the vitamins in almost any store. Hope you find some and sorry to hear about the foot pain 😦

  6. 7 sarahannmatheny Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Scary…I had a similar complaint about trail mix on my blog and ended up adding some volume too!!!

  7. 8 Sharon Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Note to self: Buy chocolate. =D
    Haha, delicious eats!
    And hope you feel better soon! Warts? Ouch!

  8. 9 Hil Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    That chocolate looks delicious…I know my Whole Foods carries Green and Black chocolate, but I’ve never seen ginger there before.

  9. 10 Hangry Pants Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Ugh to the PW on the foot. Like Erin, I had one and it would NOT go away. I would get it gone and then that sucker would just come back. I kept those patches on it and everything for like a long time and then I gave up. I think I shocked that sucker cause it eventually went away. Gross.

  10. 11 eatingbender Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Ok, seriously. Is it ever going to end?

    I’m referring to the fact that we are alike in every. single. way. I had a plantars wart for 6+ years growing up. Seriously, from about 7th grade through my freshman year of college, there it was! I tried EVERYTHING. Every month, I went to the derm to get it frozen. Then every month, I went to the derm to get it LASERED. It killed! One time they tried to numb my foot, and when it wore off I couldn’t walk on it because the pain was too intense.

    Then guess what happened? Freshman year, somebody told me to put duct tape on my foot. I spent the entire winter with a piece of duct tape wrapped from one side of the foot to the other (don’t wrap it around the whole foot because it will tear the tender skin on top). Every night, I’d pull it off and put on a new piece and, sorry if this is TMI, a little chunk would come off. It took about 2 months and it was gone. I cringe thinking about the thousands of dollars my family spent trying to get rid of it when all I needed was a $5 roll of duct tape. All I’m saying is, give it a try!

    I really should have written that monster in an email, shouldn’t I? Oh well…love all the eats today, too! Especially the ginger chocolate. And I’m glad the reading before bed helped a bit!

  11. 12 Melissa S. Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    omg i totally had plantar warts and just used dr. scholl’s pads and they went away in a little over a week! i hope you get that fixed soon!

    and i love the trail mix w/ the drizzled soy crisps! they sound so good!

  12. 13 Meghann Friday, January 23, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Sarah – Thank you so much for your Donation! It means so much to me to have your support! You Rock!!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

