Sleepless

I don’t know what the deal is, but I have been sleeping horribly lately. When I’m at home I get such a deep, rejuvenating sleep pretty much every night, but here at school I just haven’t been able to get a good night of sleep. I don’t know what the problem is but I toss and turn all night, I have a hard time falling asleep, I wake up in the middle of the night multiple times, and I wake up feeling almost as tired as when I went to bed. I’ve tried everything—I use a sound machine (I like the rain setting) and an eye mask but nothing helps. I hate to admit that I’ve had to resort to tylenol pm a few times already this semester. I hate it! Maybe it’s the mattress? Anyone have some sleeping tips?

Breakfast

I got up early and couldn’t fall back to sleep so I just got up and made a bowl of cereal. I think the consensus from my last post was that nothing beats Kashi Go Lean for its nutritional profile, and I agree, but I did buy some fiber one at the store this afternoon so at least I’ll be able to switch it up a little bit, especially with my yogurt brekkies. 

img_2710

Lunch

I had Game Theory this morning and I’m really loving that class! It’s so interesting and the professor is really good. I love classes that I actually enjoy going to–the 75 minutes just flew by! After class I had a meeting for work and then I raced home to have a quick lunch before yoga. I had a non-contaminated peanut butter ezekial english muffin and cottage cheese.Yummmm.

img_2711

Yoga was so great again today, I’ve been able to get so much deeper into the poses and have been working hard on proper alignment and it felt wonderful. I was able to really relax and let myself go during savasna too, which is always difficult for me, usually my mind is racing and I can’t fully appreciate the final relaxation but today was really good!

Snack

A little afternoon pick-me-up after yoga. Then my friend (with a car!!) told me she was going to the grocery store so I jumped all over that. I really didn’t need that much stuff going in, but of course I managed to leave with a full bag of groceries. I didn’t take a picture, but you guys will see it all in good time. 

img_2713

After I got back and unloaded the groceries I settled in for some reading, and another snackeroo. Because really, a day without hummus is not a day I would like to have. 

img_2716

Dinner

Looks like I got my patriotism in just a day late. I went red, white, and blue with tomatos, Amy’s burrito, and blueberries. The blueberries were sort of flavorless but they were buy one get one free at the store so I’ll take what I can get!

img_2715

Right after I finished dinner there was a fire drill!!! which not only scared the living daylights out of me (those alarms are LOUD!) but also left me outside in the Boston winter in shorts and a tee-shirt. Brrrrr.

Dessert

Do you hear that? I believe those would be angels singing. I must be in heaven. 

img_2721

Double chocolate Vitamuffin with Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter, heated. 

‘Nuff said.

19 Responses to “Sleepless”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Hooray for liking your classes; boo to not getting enough rest 😦

    LOVE your dessert!!

  2. 2 jenngirl Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    So sorry to hear about your sleep problems, those are the worst! I would suggest maybe finding a book that you could fall asleep reading (not like Twilight, cuz I’d stay up for that!), I always get the best sleep when I fall asleep reading a book 🙂

    Yummy eats today and yes, yes I did indeed hear the angels singing over that snack!

  3. 3 ksgoodeats Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I think the sleeping issue is going around because it’s been a couple of rough nights for me as well 😦

    Girl, you know I ADORE that lunch!

  4. 4 Julz Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    0KAY. Well you KN0W about my sleep issues… LOL. 0R ISSUES 0F THE PAST! Hollaaaaa…. I started taking a sleep aid (Rx) about err 2.5 / 3 weeks ago and 0MG. A dream come true for me!

    I would recommend doing a savasana IN Y0UR BED before you go to sleep and focusing on your breath… 0hh and heat up some milk with some stevia and cinnamon, or some sleepytime tea with milk, too. 0RRRR try taking a hot shower… It’ll bring your body to a relaxed place.

    A sleeep machine! I want one so badly! Are they as amazing as one would think? I would DEF get the Ocean one or the Rain one… I loooove water sounds. L0VE. And I L0VE Y0U! I hope all gets better. You should ask your Rd about sleep! You’re still seeing her, right? 0r ask your Yoga Instructor!

    I looove you! Message me and tell all.

  5. 5 Sarah Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    a vitamuffin a day … 🙂

    good luck sleeping tonight!

  6. 6 Sharon Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Oh my goodness, I have had troubles sleeping at night too. Waking up in the middle of the night is horrible! I am thinking I’m going to hop into bed early tonight, in hopes that I get the eight hours!

    Hope you get a good night’s rest!

  7. 7 gina (fitnessista) Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    sorry you haven’t been sleeping well! wish i could offer some advice, but when i teach aerobics at night i sleep like a baby. does reading help you fall asleep?
    i LOVED game theory class– so interesting and a lot of fun.
    i totally heard the angels sing with that muffin pic.. AMAZING
    have a wonderful night!

  8. 8 Melissa S. Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    sorry about the sleeplessness! i know the feeling as i’ve been having a hard time the past few nights too…i think it has to do with the fact that i’ve been in a trailer and everytime someone moves it’s like a freak’n earthquake! haha!

    i hope you get some rest tonight though! i love the non contaminated sandwich! 😉

  9. 9 Hil Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 12:30 am

    I’m sorry you’re having trouble sleeping. For me, it helps if I “unplug” for an hour or two before bed…no computers, tv or videogames. I find that those things are stimulating and keep me from settling down to sleep. And I don’t know if you consume caffeine in the afternoon, but that can be a culprit for me. In the short term, I find some sort of repetetive prayer or chanting to be the best way to beat a sleepless night. Maybe you could try saying your favorite yoga chant to yourself to calm your mind.

  10. 10 Caroline Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Ooh are those Ak-Maks I spy? I *LOVE* those crackers–very versatile.

    And your dessert is fan-freaking-tastic.

  11. 11 eatingbender Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I’ve definitely been sleepless one too many nights this quarter, too. But lately I’ve been reading until I can’t keep my eyes open and it’s helped a lot.

    I’m glad you like your class! I have two that zoom by this time as well – it’s soooo much better!

    “Because really, a day without hummus is not a day I would like to have.” LOL 🙂

    Guess what I bought this weekend…Vita-muffins!!!!!! I can’t wait to try and LOVE.

    Have a great Thursday!

  12. 12 sarahannmatheny Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 1:40 am

    My little Livy sleeps w/a sound machine, but mostly its to drown out Gracie, who does NOT STOP TALKING. So you could borrow a 3 yr. old from the local preschool and see if that tires you out?! You might try melatonin, or like Julz said, a prescription sleep aid. I took one in college and it really did help for that time in my life, and I sleep just fine now.

    Mmm…hummmus AND choc PB dreams (but not together). I had both today myself!

  13. 13 Helen's Journey Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 6:28 am

    I’m one of those people who can never get to sleep straight away. I usually have the TV on or read a book to relax me, so I’m not thinking about trying to get to sleep. Have you tried Lavender oil? Try putting some on your pillow if you don’t want to be lighting candles in an oil burner.

  14. 14 Erin Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 6:49 am

    NOM NOM!
    I recognize the cracker in your hummus picture! Skinny dippers?

  15. 15 Erin Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 6:49 am

    P.S. Try Melatonin (natural supplement) for sleep.

  16. 16 seeleelive Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 7:40 am

    yuck, i hate sleepy issues. i may have to take erin’s advice and use some melatonin. i get anxious b4 i fall asleep and wake up several times cuase i am a thinkin machine. EW!! i think i may take some of the advice above!!
    but ur eats looks gorg, and girl that muffin looks pink even tho i know is not. YAY!

  17. 17 hk Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 8:30 am

    ughh sleep woes..the worst! MMMmmm, I hope you get your waffle towers back soon, too! All your eats= gorg..hope the sleeping follows suit soon 🙂

  18. 18 hangrypants Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    So sorry about the sleep! I don’t really have any tips b/c when I am having trouble sleeping I am horrible at finding ways to fall asleep. Hope you get out of the sleep funk soon!

    Heather

  19. 19 Beadie Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Have you ever tried meditating before bed? That helps me drift off to dreamland.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

