BRRRRRRRR

Guys, I am so over winter. It’s pretty pathetic that I got really excited this morning when I checked the weather and saw that it’s going to get up to the 20s!!!!! this weekend. These single digits (and negatives!) are killing me! I’m so cold!

Breakfast

I was surprisingly hungry when I got up this morning and originally was planning on treating myself to a baked good and coffee from Starbucks on my way to my appointment with my nutritionist but I was too hungry to wait (and walk 30 minutes in the bitter, bitter cold) so I ate before I left. I had the usual apple, fage, kashi go lean combo.Ā 

img_2667

Snack

I made it back with enough time to go to the gym before my classes started in an effort to avoid the mad rush of afternoon gym-goers. I had the much-praised clif white chocolate macadamia nut and I definitely understand why everyone loves it–this was AMAZING! I need to go by like 100 more, this is by far my favorite Clif flavor! The gym was beyond crowded this morning (so I can only imagine how bad it must have been this afternoon!) and after waiting around for a bit for a machine I decided to just run on the indoor track. I did about 15 minutes but I forgot my ipod and was bored out of my mind so as soon as I saw a bike open up I grabbed a magazine and hopped on that for 15 more minutes.Ā 

img_2668

Lunch

I packed a lunch to eat in between classes this afternoon: turkey sandwich, jumbo pear, and carrots. I had 3 back to back classes, 2 of which I’m really excited about: Intro to Yiddish Culture and Accounting. The professors seemed great and the topics are interesting to me. I also had what I am positive will be the class from hell: US Foreign Policy Since 1900. The Professor seemed really hard—he was just calling people out and asking ridiculous questions. I looked through the syllabus and there is a ton of reading along with 2 huge papers (20 page research ones) a midterm and a final. I am so NOT looking forward to this class but I need it to complete my International Relations major. Ughhh, wish me luck!

img_2670

Snack

After class it was so frigid that I literally ran (yes, with my backpack and all—I looked silly!) across campus to the bookstore to finish buying my books. My impromptu run, trip to the gym, and hour speed-walk this morning really worked up my appetite! When I got back to my room I had a graham cracker and chocolate covered pretzels, and 3 ginger candies (not pictured).

img_2671

Dinner

I had an old favorite for dinner: sweet potato with cottage cheese along with a quorn cutlet topped with Annie’s smoky maple BBQ sauce. This was a great dinner! It left me totally full and satisfied. This was my first time trying the BBQ sauce and I really liked it–it had a great spicy kick to it that I loved!

img_2672

I’m going downstairs to my friends room to hang out for a bit and watch some quality Thursday night TV. Then I’m going to bed! I’m beat!

12 Responses to “BRRRRRRRR”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Stay warm and hang in there with the classes!!

  2. 2 Andrea Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Good luck with your class! Your description of what lies ahead gave me bad college flashbacks. Your mantra for this semester can be, “it’s almost over, it’s almost over!”

  3. 3 Nicole Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I am so over this weather as well!

    Those clif bars are sooo good!!! Yum.

  4. 4 jenngirl Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    It is sooo much colder here too, the low tonight: 9 degrees!!! I’m still goin out though šŸ˜‰

    Yummy eats, that packed lunch is sooo dependable, and I can always count on a sandwich, fruit, and veggies to keep me going through the afternoon. Good luck with all your classes, and get some rest tonight!

  5. 5 Beadie Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    I really want to try the sweet potato/cottage cheese combo!

    Stay Warm!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    i lurve that dessert…that chocolate is calling my name, NOW! hehe!

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Ugh – it is bad when being in the 20s is a heatwave!!

    YAYY the WCMN clif bar šŸ˜€ So glad you love it! Niiiiii-ice dinner my dear – 100% yum!

    “he was just calling people out and asking ridiculous questions” that is exactly what my bio teacher does! It’s so annoying, half the questions weren’t even about bio!!

  8. 8 carolinebee Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    UGH i was a lib arts major too, damn I would HATE getting the syllabus (syllabi??) and seeing the ginormous papers coming up!! You’ll do great and you an relieve some stress with that yoga class! Hope you can warm up lady.

  9. 9 Katie Friday, January 16, 2009 at 12:30 am

    That Yiddish Accounting class sounds awesome! Well, the Yiddish part at least… I’m completely null when it comes to economics. I hear you about the cold… the high is 19 tomorrow. BAH.

  10. 10 eatingbender Friday, January 16, 2009 at 12:35 am

    I totally hear ya on the winter weather. I was just commenting to my roommate that 20* is going to feel like the tropics and we should go for a swim in Lake Michigan šŸ™‚

    I am sooo glad you liked that Clif bar! I need to stock up on more this weekend!

    Oh my GOSH!!!!!! I knew it had to happen sometime. We both had Quorn cutlets with Annie’s BBQ sauce for dinner!! Too bad I didn’t have a sweet potato/cottage cheese!

    Have a great Friday!

  11. 11 sarahannmatheny Friday, January 16, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Not to sound like a mom, but it looks like you got a lot of good protein in today. I could learn from you! I think that’s why I’ve been so hungry lately.

    Gotta try that sweet potato/cottage cheese combo!

    Ugh, your poli sci class reminds me of law school. Not fun to get called on like that AT ALL.

    Have a good Friday, kiddo!

  12. 12 Sharon Friday, January 16, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Your morning breakfast mix looks delicious. And political science? AHHHHH -runs away- . LOL


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

