Last of the Firsts

Today was my last first day of classes as an undergrad! And I survived! Monday/Wednesdays are my easy days this week–I only have 2 classes, one of which is yoga! And on Fridays I don’t have class at all which I love because I get a long weekend every week! This morning I had game theory which is an econ class that studies strategic thinking and decision making where an individual’s success is determined by the decisions of others. If you’ve ever seen the movie “A Beautiful Mind” it’s that kind of stuff. I’m really excited for this class, the professor seems great, the subject is interesting, and the limited amount of game theory I’ve come across in other econ classes has been a lot of fun!

Breakfast

I slept horribly last night. The walls here are really thin and I heard the wind howling and things rattling around all night long.I woke up basically every hour and just kept tossing and turning, and when it eventually reached 7 I just got up and started my day. I did a little more organizing for the semester, including making my schedule which I hang on the wall over my desk. I feel like I’m going to have to make a new one though because those crooked lines are going to drive me insane.

img_2659

I had a simple breakfast of kashi go lean, banana, vanilla almond breeze, and flax. I love using the almond breeze in my cereal because it gives it a little extra special flavor.

img_2657

Lunch

After my class and then spending way too much money at the bookstore I came home ready for lunch. I have the same situation this semester as I did last semester, where I have only a 1.5 hour break to eat lunch, digest, and head to yoga. I did some experimenting last semester and found that PB sandwiches work best to give me enough energy for class without sitting too heavy in my stomach and making for an uncomfortable practice. So today I had a maple almond butter sandwich, cottage cheese and strawberries. Delish!

img_2658

Snack

Yoga was great, as usual. I absolutely love my instructor here and am definitely going to miss this class after I graduate. Since today was the first class of the semester there was a lot of talking at the beginning and the class wasn’t that much work so I decided to go to the gym afterward to get some cardio and weights in. I had a Peanut Butter Blisscrisp Jamfrakas Bar on the way. It was really good! It tasted very similar to the amazing peanut butter cookie larabar, but with a little more crunch. It wasn’t as big, and much less dense—but it was also half the calories so I guess that is to be expected.

img_2660

When I got home from the gym and showered I was really hungry again! I bought an oatmeal raisin cookieย at Whole Foods and was waiting for the perfect time to eat it. This seemed like the perfect time, and it was incredible. The WF bakery is amazing. I enjoyed this so much, savored every bite, and broke another diet rule of mine that said no sweets during the day. Take that!

img_2661

Dinner

I guess the ‘no sweets in the afternoon’ rule may have some logic to it though because this did not do a great job at keeping my hunger away and I should have chosen something more nutritious to fuel my body as a snack, because I was starving for dinner a little over an hour later! I heated up my leftover vegetable fajitasย which were muy delicioso!

img_2662

Dessert

Believe it or not, I was stillllll hungry after this! Of course I pulled out the trail mix and had a handful or 6ย or 2. I have definitely been hungry than usual today and I think it’s just my body re-adjusting to being back at school. I am much more active here than I am at home because I walk so much more! It’s about a 10-15 minute walk each way to all of my classes, the gym, etc. Plus 3 long flights of stairs up to my room. Instead of freaking out and trying to ignore my extra-hunger I’m making sure that I keep myself fueled by giving my body more food when it asks for it. So bring on the trail mix!

img_2663

Tomorrow is going to be a really busy day. I have an appointment with my nutritionist tomorrow morning (which I get to walk a mile in 11* “feels like -2* weather for, waahhhhh) and then I have 3 back-to-back classes in the afternoon from 12-430. I’d like to go to the gym afterward but I feel like it’s going to be so frustrating because that is ‘prime’ gym time and with the surge of ‘new years resolutioners’ (you all know what i’m talking about!) I know that I will have to wait for a machine and get really annoyed. For me, exercise is above all else a stress-reliever and ‘me time’ and it seems counter-intuitive to go to the gym just to stress about it. Maybe I’ll just do some yoga in my room. I wish it wasn’t so brutally cold out or I could run outside!

I hope everyone has a good night–and for you lucky ducks with TVs (which I don’t have because my room is literally too small and I had to decide between a tv and a fridge–no room for both and OBVIOUSLY food took priortiy!) enjoy Top Chef for me!

12 Responses to “Last of the Firsts”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    So exciting!!! Glad you’re liking classes too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mmm, a maple-AB sandwich?? Divine!!

    Good night!!!

  2. 2 ksgoodeats Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Haha – We’re so alike, I’d for sure have to make a new chart!

    I am in LOVE with that lunch girl! Fabulous ๐Ÿ™‚

    Don’t freeze tomorrow! Hope your appointment goes well – kudos for taking a recognizing your hunger ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 Melissa S. Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    ohh! love the cookie from WF! yummy!

  4. 4 Sharon Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Wow, great eats!
    And I know what you mean about recreating the chart. I’m definitely like that too. I have to whip out my ruler to underline words! Haha, call me crazy! I know, I know!!

    Anyways, great eats for the day!

  5. 5 Hil Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 12:15 am

    New schedules always throw off workouts…I think it’s some kind of law. Looks like you’ve got some good activity scheduled in already with the yoga and spinning. Maybe on your three class days you could do morning workouts since you have them free?

    I can’t wait for Top Chef…it’s one of my favorites.

  6. 6 eatingbender Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 12:27 am

    LOL about the crooked line comment. I literally burst out laughing because I totally know how you are feeling. I can’t tell you how many sheets of paper I’ve wasted in my lifetime trying to draw straight lines! Perfectionists, anyone?!

    I’m really glad that your classes went well, and the food looks great! I totally agree with your opinion of the JamFrakas and want that oatmeal cookie in my mouth right now! Yay for breaking diet rules!

    Those leftovers look so yummy! Bundle up tomorrow, girly! It’s going to be freezing cold here, too. I have a loooong walk to class that I am definitely not looking forward to!

    P.S. There are SO many New Year people at the gym! It’s crazy!

  7. 7 sarahannmatheny Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Your day looked delish (especially that cookie). Way to kill those food rules! And trail mix is always a good thing.

  8. 8 strongandhealthy Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Great fajitas! Love your schedule. I used to do the same thing! Have a great Thursday!

  9. 9 dailygoods Thursday, January 15, 2009 at 10:38 am

    yum! veggie fajitas are one of my favorite meals! and yours looked absolutely divine ๐Ÿ™‚ that cookie looked mighty good too!

  10. 10 Nicole Friday, January 16, 2009 at 9:34 am

    You must be so excited!

    That WF cookie looks amazing. They never fail! Stay warm!

  11. 11 Hangry Pants Friday, January 16, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    game theory? how fun. maybe not. let us know. ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. 12 Hangry Pants Friday, January 16, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    P.S. I am really enjoying your new rule breaker mentality!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

