Getting Ready

Today was a big prep day for the start of another (my last!) semester. Classes start tomorrow and I’m not at all ready for the insane amounts of work and reading that’s fast approaching. I had a doctors appt. this morning, then a sorority recruitment workshop from 10-4. It was draining! Anyone who is in a sorority knows how crazy things get with Recruitment. It’s going to be a very busy few weeks! 

Breakfast

I wasn’t hungry at all when I woke up this morning which was weird. I knew that I needed to eat something though, and since my appointment was pretty early I just grabbed a larabar and headed out the door.

img_2650

Lunch

We had a 1.5 hour break during the workshop so one of my friends with a car on campus was making a trip to Whole Foods and took a few of us along. I was like a kid in a candy shop—I love WF so much! I picked up some fun items (I finally found Jamfrakas bars and the ever popular White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Clif Bars) along with some other delicious goodies. I obviously couldn’t leave without a trip to the awesome salad bar which I brought back for lunch. I had a little of everything, but the highlight was definitely the spicy tofu, it was great! I also had some Mary’s Gone Black Pepper crackers which I’d never had before but were pretty good!

img_2652

After the workshop I did some another yogatothepeople.com download because the gym is still closed for break and it’s just insanely cold and icy out so there was no way I was going for a run. It was a good practice but I kept hitting things in my teeny-tiny room. My mat couldn’t even roll out all the way!

Dinner

I picked up some mulitgrain sushi while at WF which was delicious, as always. Shockingly though, I think that the sushi that I got from my grocery store at home (Giant Eagle Market District) was actually better! I also had an apple and strawberries since I was lacking in the fruit department today. 
img_2653

img_2654

Dessert

Trail Mix love.

img_2656

Snack Stash

For a fun treat I thought I would show you guys my bin of fun where I keep all my bars, trail mix, pb packets, tootsie pops, and hot cocoa mix. Mmm, it makes me happy just looking at this!

img_2655

Tomorrow is the first day of classes so I want to get a good night of sleep tonight. I still need to buy all my books which is always a depressing day because it’s just so outrageously expensive. It’s so sad to spend over $500 on books (and I buy all mine used!) and then when I try to sell them back at the end of the semester they only want to give me like $100. Not fair!

See you all tomorrow!

13 Responses to “Getting Ready”


  1. 1 Rose Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I LOVE Mary’s Gone crackers – got some for Christmas and have been addicted since.

    Your bin of fun looks DELICIOUS.

    My boyfriend spent $170 on ONE book today. School books are crazy expensive.

  2. 2 Nicole Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    The worst part of school for me was definitely the books! It’s INSANE! I would much rather spend that money on clothes..and shoes… and clif bars.

  3. 3 jenngirl Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Ah recruitment is going to be sooooo long and hard this year, definitely one of the less fun parts of being in a sorority.

    Good luck starting classes tomorrow, I HATE buying books as well, it feels like such a waste sometimes!

    I love your “bin of fun”…I’ve totally got one of my own, it makes snacking so easy when it’s all in one place! 🙂

  4. 4 ksgoodeats Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Love the snack stash 😉 OH GIRL – I hope you like the WCMN Clif Bar!!

    Hope your classes go well!

  5. 5 Melissa S. Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    hah! that bin freak’n rocks! so much variety!!

    and i always hated buying books too…one semester i spent almost a grand on books…i about cried over that bill! haha!

  6. 6 Sharon Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    Good luck with the next few weeks with classes and recruitment and all.
    Love your fun stash, totally jealous!

    And totally know what you mean about textbooks. That is why, my friends and I often share. LOL

  7. 7 eatingbender Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Good luck with class tomorrow, Sarah! I know you’re gonna rock it 🙂

    I am so jealous that you had Whole Foods hot bar today! I’m glad you found the Clif bar…I hope that you like it as much as I did!

    Guess what?! I did a little yoga myself today AND I finally tried the sweet potato + cottage cheese combo! THANK YOU GENIUS!

    I love your snack stash! It reminds me of my “bar bag” 🙂

    Have a GREAT day, tomorrow!

  8. 8 Katie Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Love your bin of fun! I really like those Justin’s nut butter packets…

    Textbook prices are RIDICULOUS! I spent over $500 last semester and got $32 back. BAH!

    Have fun tomorrow!

  9. 9 dailygoods Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 8:50 am

    that bin of fun is ridiculously good looking 🙂

  10. 10 Erin Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I love the bin! It’s cute! Get ready girl – classes are here!

  11. 11 cassandra Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I have a snack stash too! fun to look at yours! I miss whole foods, I have been trying to budget my food costs and i think i owe myself a $14.oo salad bar day!

  12. 12 Natalie Rae Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    It is so funny how food/life bloggers “stashes” are so different then most peoples- ie- peanut butter and clif bars vs. butterfingers etc 🙂 Love your stash- hope you like jamfraska (sp?) I wasn’t really a fan- they are ok thought!

    So jealous you found the Clif- I went to my PCC and nada

  13. 13 sarahannmatheny Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Look out or I’m going to come still your bin…and your Mary’s crackers…and your Larabar.

    Hope you get some good rest tonight for the big day tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

