Positive

Well, I am happy to say that my semester is actually off to a positive start! I am pleasantly surprised!

I went out to dinner tonight with 4 of my friends to Border Cafe. I’m really glad I went. It was a spur of the moment decision and when my friend invited me I almost said no because 1) it’s freezing outside 2) I’ve eaten “out” 2 meals already today 3) Mexican restaurants make me really anxious 4) I hadn’t planned for itΒ 

But then I shut down all my negative thinking and allowed myself to go out and have a fun night with my friends. It’s absolutely ridiculous and sickening that I let food rule my life so much at times and I was more than ready to break some more of the silly rules I have for myself.Β 

I did a great job! In the past I definitely would have just ordered a plain salad, maybe with some grilled chicken, no cheese or croutons, and dressing on the side which I would hardly use. Then I would leave the meal unsatisfied and probably binge on something when I got home. NOT TONIGHT! Instead I looked over the menu and chose something that was actually appealing to me. I got the vegetable fajitas with beans and rice. Oh my gosh was it good! The veggies were all caramelized and delicious and the beans were thick and delicious. I enjoyed every bite. And the portion was huge so I brought home leftovers too! Right when we sat down they brought out hot, salty, crunchy tortilla chips and salsa which I had a bunch of and loved. It was amaaaazing.

I didn’t take pictures at the restaurant but here’s a shot of the leftovers- I promise you, it’s better than it looks!

img_2649

After dinner we came home and watched Gossip Girl and then just hung out and did some gossiping of our own ; ) It was really fun and I need to remember this for next time!

Now my eyes are about to close–it’s been a long day! Goodnight!

16 Responses to “Positive”


  1. 1 carolinebee Monday, January 12, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    YAY! omg i’m soo happy you had fun..those tortillas look so good! I always love using the leftovers for blog pictures too, muaha so sneakay.

  2. 2 eatingbender Monday, January 12, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    I’m so glad that the semester is off to a good start! I love fajitas so much, it reminds me of home. I also really want to try one of those ginger candies from your last post!

    Do you start class tomorrow? If so, hope it goes well. If not, have FUN!! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Hil Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 1:39 am

    Fajitas are one of my very favorite things. I’m glad you had such a good time!

  4. 4 sarahannmatheny Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 2:21 am

    That is truly phenomenal that you were so spontaneous AND brave! Yay you!

  5. 5 Melissa S. Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 7:19 am

    yay! what a great day and eats! so proud of you!

  6. 6 seeleelive Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 7:37 am

    yumm, i love mexican!!

  7. 7 VeggieGirl Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Hooray for a positive day and semester so far!!! Hope it stays that way, girl!!! πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Kristie Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 8:57 am

    YES! Wonderful eating out experience. Screw ordering salads only at restaurants (unless they’re super delicious and awesome salads with plenty of great toppings). Sometimes you just gotta enjoy every bit of it. And you certainly did! Looks like an awesome meal. I need to go out for some Mexican one of these days, it’s such good food!

  9. 9 ksgoodeats Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 9:42 am

    YAY!!! Sarah, I’m so proud of you!! That’s great to hear you went out, had fabulous food, and most importantly enjoyed yourself πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Mel Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Glad you had a great day! Dinner with friends is always a great way to spend a cold night!

  11. 11 Beadie Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Mexican food is always hard for me, too. You did great with choosing what looked good instead of getting a plain salad. It can be so hard to not let food rule our lives, you are doing great at developing a healthier relationship with food!

  12. 12 Jessica Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    You said in the last post that you got a bunch of frozen dinners, what are your favorites??

    thanks!

  13. 13 Jessica Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Oh, and ps how do you deal with drinking and going out in college? I am in a sorority like you, and since I live such a healthy lifestyle I just don’t care to drink much anymore, but I feel like going all out and having fun every few weekends is totally acceptable….right?? haha! What do you do??

  14. 14 Natalie Rae Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Great restaurant eating- I struggle with the same stuff you were talking about…

    How did you like Gossip Girl? I am ridiculous when it comes to Chuck and I am 25! πŸ™‚

  15. 15 Sarah Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Jessica,
    My favorite frozen meals are definitely Amy’s and Kashi but they are both really expensive! I buy Lean Cuisine a lot because there are some really great sales and I think some of the flavors are pretty good, especially the ‘spa cuisine’ line.

    Regarding drinking, it’s definitely hard and I don’t drink that often. A lot of times I’ll just go out with my friends and not drink or just have 1 drink. Since I really don’t drink very often I have a really low tolerance and 1 usually gets me drunk! Also, I only drink what I like–I’m not going to waste it on gross beer and taking shots that I don’t even enjoy!

  16. 16 VeggieGirl Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

