Back in Boston

Hello! After a very lllllooooonnnnngggg delay at the airport I finally made it back to Boston. Because of the extra-long time spent in the airport I had to eat 2 meals there, which isn’t the ideal situation given the not-so-great food options there. I tried to make the best choices I could.

Breakfast

I had to get up early, early to head to the airport and I chose extra sleep over food. After I went through security I searched for breakfast. I really wanted to treat myself to something special and my mind was set on a delicious toasted cinnamon raisin bagel with cream cheese. I very rarely eat bagels, but I love them on occasion and cinnamon raisin is my favorite. I was so excited and my mind was set on that. Well, I searched and searched but the closest thing I could find was a plain bagel but the toaster was broken. Well, a plain, cold bagel just wasn’t going to satisfy my craving so I gave up (and almost cried—that’s just the mood I was in) and sulked around before settling for a fruit and yogurt parfait with granola from McDonalds. It was meh. Very small and not the warm comforting breakfast I had in mind.

img_2638

Lunch

My breakfast didn’t hold me over very long and when I found out my flight was delayed 4 hours, I knew I had to get lunch at the airport too. I picked a veggie sub with honey mustard on honey 9 grain bread for lunch. I also had a red pear that I brought from home.

img_2639

img_2640

On the plane I had a ginger chew to prevent ear poppage. I did a reenactment here ; )

img_2641

Snack

After I got back to my room and unpacked I had a Peanut Marshmallow Eclipse Pure Protein Bar. This was the best flavor yet! I liked it! And it filled me up/kept me full like crazy. I had it around 3 and I’m not even hungry yet!

img_2643

Grocery Shopping

I left school last semester with basically no food except for a few non-perishables. A grocery shop was necessary immediately! I headed out in the icy, cold weather (and almost fell like 50 times!) and walked to the store. It’s about 3 mi round-trip, but with the balancing over the ice and the heavy grocery bags, it wore me out!

Here’s the loot:

img_2644

I also got a ton of frozen dinners which I put away immediately so they aren’t in the picture. It makes me so sad to have to depend on frozen meals because I love cooking and feel so much healthier and more satisfied using fresh, whole foods. But cooking just isn’t an option with my living situation–so frozen dinners it is. I guess I just have to make the best of it. 

I definitely need to take a trip to Whole Foods soon for my “fun” items, but Shaw’s works (and is much cheaper) for the staples.

Ok folks, off to get my life back in order for the semester. See you later!

7 Responses to “Back in Boston”


  1. 1 ksgoodeats Monday, January 12, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Why must airports have the worst food?! Sorry about the delays and whatnot 😦 Glad to hear you made it back safe and sound!

    Pure protein bars are like bricks in the stomach – definitely hold your hunger!

    So many good things from your grocery haul! Hope your semester is starting off alright 🙂

  2. 2 Katie Monday, January 12, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Bah I HATE sitting in airports… I always get so antsy and in the foulest of moods. When I first became a vegetarian in 8th grade I used to eat those Fruit ‘n Yogurt parfaits ALL the time… I think they’re smaller now though. Glad you finally made it back… are the flavored Laughing Cows any good?

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Monday, January 12, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    This is why I hate flying so much (even though I LOVE traveling) – the airports!!! Blah 😦 Glad you’re back safe & sound though.

    Good luck with your classes, girl!!!!!

  4. 4 Melissa S. Monday, January 12, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    ewww….airports and weather and flying suck! i’m sorry you had to wait so long in the airport…but at least you made some good eating choices!

    and love the grocery haul! great picks!

  5. 5 Julz Monday, January 12, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Precious One: A Veggie Venture (A Faaave Bloggy of mine) has some GREAT microwave-made dishes!! 🙂

    OHHH and there are these AMAZING butternut squash souffles that you pop into the micro by Garden Delites or some company like that and if you want them, (THEY ARE SO AMAZING… REALLY BIG, and an entire one is only 185 calories and tastes EXACTLY like sweet potatoe casserole Mmm!!!) I can see if my grocery store can help me to ship some to you! They are SO comforting and it would be my ABSOLUTE pleasure to hook my darling up 🙂

    I just KNOW you’d adore them! I love you! You KNOW I struggled at school (MAYJORLY.) and that you can talk to me ANYTIME… To vent, cry, cuss, WHATEVERRRR!

  6. 6 gina (fitnessista) Monday, January 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    arghh i despise airport food but you did pretty well! that’s my FAVORITE pure protein bar. ever. and now i can’t find that flavor anywhere here :/
    so glad you made it home safely!

  7. 7 Rose Monday, January 12, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Even though you had to eat out, it looks like you made some good choices!

    Glad you made it!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

