Breaking the Rules

Hello everyone! I hope your Saturday’s are off to a fantastic start—mine definitely is! Even though I haven’t left the house yet and have spent the morning lounging around today has actually been a day full of progress. For some reason I have all these bizarre ‘rules’ in my head regarding food and exercise that I’ve been trying really hard to break through because they are totally irrational. And today I broke some of those rules, so I feel great (albeit a little anxious, but that’s what you guys are for—to reassure me that I’m moving in the right direction, haha).

Breakfast

Typical Waffle Tower. My favorite!

img_2622

Irrational Rule #1 Broken: 

For some reason I have it my mind that I must exercise, every single day, unless I am so sick that I can’t drag myself out of bed, or so unbearably sore that I can’t move. I know how important rest days are but I just can’t bring myself to take them unless I have a dire reason to. This is so bad—but I just feel guilty and blahhh if I don’t get a workout in, usually first thing in the morning. My nutritionist recommended that I take two rest days per week and I haven’t listened to her at all–in fact I haven’t rested in weeks because physically I didn’t feel like I needed to, even though mentally I am sort of burned out. Well, enough is enough. I’m finally getting my act together on this whole ‘Balance’ thing of moderation and have been doing a lot of thinking lately and really want to achieve this healthy lifestyle, but I know that I can’t reach this goal unless I really make the effort to do so–including rest.

So today, I decided to take a rest day and even though it is causing me to be antsy and anxious, I know I need it both mentally and physically. So I’m trying really hard to be ok with it and push all thoughts of how I’m a ‘lazy bum’ out of my head.

Lunch and Irrational Rule #2:

Another ridiculous rule I had was regarding lunch and proteins. For some reason unbeknownst to me I would never allow myself to have certain proteins for lunch. I don’t know why but I wouldn’t ever eat chicken, beef, fish, etc. because these just weren’t ‘lunch foods’ for me–they were for dinner. I would allow myself tuna/salmon in a pouch, or turkey slices but never the real thing. How bizarre is that! I don’t know where this rule came from but I broke it today by making the most outstanding salad. I heated up my leftover apricot chicken breast, sautéed some mushrooms, sliced strawberries, and served it over a bed of mesclun mix and carrots drizzled with raspberry walnut dressing and a side of Kashi crackers. This was one of the best, most satisfying lunches I have had in a long time. It was so delicious, had a great mix of flavors and textures, and left me perfectly full and satisfied. Mmm.

img_2623

Now I’m off to run a few quick errands and heading to the spa for my massage. Yay! See you all tonight!

11 Responses to “Breaking the Rules”


  1. 1 carolinebee Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    WIERD, we have the similar irrational rules 😀 You are v. inspiring and I’m gonna break them too! Your lunch looks amaze, have a nice massage!! OMG that sounds divine.

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Hell yes for breaking the rules!! You rebel 😉 Keep up the great progress, girl!!

  3. 3 Hil Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Yay, Sarah! Hurray for kicking the rules to the curb. And any rule that would have prevented something as delicious, healthy and satisfying as that beautiful lunch salad has no place in life!

  4. 4 Julz Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    WAY to BE Sar! In recovery, one of my biggest hurdles was not giving into the OCD voices/rituals/rules… I broke mine today too!! Yayyy! PROGRESS 🙂

    Rules = SO DUMB. What’s the point to stressing about exercise n nourishment?! It should be a WONDERFUL blessing not a ritualistic punishment 🙂

  5. 5 jenngirl Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Good job Sarah! Breaking these rules is so huge, because if you keep letting them “rule” your life, they can take you down a very unsafe, unhealthy path. So that is awesome that you were able to do it.

    And don’t worry about being a little uneasy today, I think you’ll find that the tension will ease up, and in a few hours, you’ll wonder what it was you were so afraid of all this time.

    Enjoy your massage! 😉

  6. 6 Erin Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Way to go girl. I think these are some awesome challenges. Especially the first one!

  7. 7 Hangry Pants Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    So glad you broke those two rules! Your lunch looks delicious and your body will appreciate the rest. 😀 Have a wonderful Saturday.

  8. 8 Sharon Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Great job breaking the “rule” because it turned out scrumptious. The salad looks amazing!

  9. 9 sarahannmatheny Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Keep questioning that voice in your head and replacing it with your truth. I think it is awesome that you are writing your truths down here. Any time those irrational thoughts come up now, you can reread this and know that you overcame it today!

  10. 10 ksgoodeats Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    You little rebel you – KEEP IT UP GIRL 🙂 There should never be any rules when it comes to eating/exercise. You are an amazing girl and these rules you have should never hold you back!

    Enjoy the massage tonight!!

  11. 11 Melissa S. Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    great job w/ the rule breaking! that’s totally great to hear! i’m so glad you’re finding that balance point and the moderations we all strive for!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

