Snowstorm

It’s a blizzard out there! I’m glad that I’m all warm and cozy in my house right now because the weather is crazy—lots of snow! I had a great day today and am really relishing every moment of my last few days at home because it’s back to the grind next week as I head back up to Boston on Monday morning. Just one more semester to go!

Breakfast

I exercised first thing this morning and when I was done I had a great breakfast. This may look like an ordinary mighty maple peanut butter sandwich but it is actually extra-special because I toasted it up on the grill pan so it was all warm and gooey and fabulous. 

img_2608

Lunch

I went to visit my grandparents this afternoon and picked up lunch for us. Since it was so cold I picked a Classic salad, Chicken tortilla soup, and apple from Panera. Very good and comforting. I love this soup! 

img_2610

Dinner

We had a gift certificate for Olive Garden so we went there for dinner tonight. I haven’t been here in years but it was really good. I started out with salad and a breadstick and had the Venetian Apricot Chicken for my meal. Everything was delicious! I only ate one of the chicken pieces so I brought the other home to eat sometime this weekend. I’m excited because it was really good. The sauce was very flavorful, the chicken was really moist, and it tasted very light and fresh.

img_2612

img_2611

img_2613

Dessert

Since I’ve eaten pretty light today I went all out for dessert. We stopped my my favorite bakery, The Pie Place and I got my dream carrot cake along with a macaroon and a few banana chips. The perfect ending to a great day! While eating dessert we watched Forgetting Sarah Marshall which silly but entertaining enough.

img_2618

img_2620

img_2621

I’m really excited for tomorrow because it’s going to be a day of total relaxation. I think I’m going to take a rest day from exercising because it has been ages since I’ve taken a day off and my body could really use a break. I plan on lounging with a big mug of coffee and a book all morning and then in the afternoon I have a massage scheduled. I CAN’T WAIT! I loooovvveeeee getting massages and usually treat myself to two or three a year. They’re definitely an expensive indulgence but I think it’s so worth it because it’s one of the few times when I’m able to totally relax and allow myself to be pampered. I love it! I actually got a gift certificate to my favorite spa Spa in the Hollow for Hanukkah and I’m so excited to use it! For all you Pittsburghers—this Spa is amazing and if you ever go (which you should!) I highly recommend the Hot Stone Massage, it’s life-changing. And ask for Michelle, she’s the best! Then tomorrow night will be filled with football galore! Yayy! How’s that for an amazing day!

I hope everyone had a great Friday night, and has a relaxing weekend planned!

12 Responses to “Snowstorm”


  1. 1 Rose Friday, January 9, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    It’s snowing badly in Pittsburgh? Eek. I heard it was going to get sketchy. Good luck! Have an enjoyable day off (massage – I’m jealous!)

  2. 2 Katie Friday, January 9, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    SPA… I feel relaxing just having read that word. Enjoy your day of total relaxation! I read about the snowstorm but for some reason didn’t process it at all and neglected to bring my snowboots home. Whoopsies!

    Need that carrot cake.

  3. 3 eatingbender Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 12:10 am

    It was snowing here this morning! It’s crazy how fast the snow piles up near Lake Michigan – sheesh! I’m glad you had another enjoyable day at home, though 🙂

    Love the idea for heating up the Arnold/PB sammie! That way you can still have a hot breakfast without oatmeal!

    I love that tortilla soup from Panera…and Olive Garden is one of my favorites. Their salad is hard to beat.

    What a delectable dessert you had this evening, Sarah! I am soooo jealous that you’re getting a massage tomorrow. Have an amazing time 🙂

    P.S. After I ate that sweet potato last night, I totally remembered you telling me about the cottage cheese. I need to try that next time!

  4. 4 sarahannmatheny Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 1:53 am

    Enjoy your relaxation day tomorrow!

    And I am in love with your breakfast sandwich!

  5. 5 Sharon Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 2:56 am

    Wow, what an awesome day planned for tomorrow! Enjoy the massage!!!
    And sorry to hear about the crazy weather! Stay warm!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 7:38 am

    What a great way to spend a saturday! enjoy it!

    and i totally want your pb sammie right now…i need to find that kind of pb&co nut butter!

  7. 7 Nicole Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 8:04 am

    I looooove banana chips! They are super addicting. I used to keep a bag in my room for those late night cravings 😉

  8. 8 VeggieGirl Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Same storm here 😦 It’s frightening!!

    Enjoy your massage!!!! So fun 🙂

  9. 9 gina (fitnessista) Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 9:48 am

    i haven’t had carrot cake in forever and that slice looks DIVINE!
    hope the snow storm calms down soon!
    have a wonderful massage 😀

  10. 10 ksgoodeats Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Holy cow girl – grilled mighty maple + panera + OG breadstick + carrot cake = MY PERF DAY OF FOODS! Yum 🙂

    Enjoy your time at home AND that amazing massage!! You deserve it pumpkin 🙂

  11. 11 Lindsay Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    mmmmmmmm its been SO long since i had a warm pb&j!

  12. 12 Erin Saturday, January 10, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    What a gorgeous day you have planned!
    There is no such thing as an ordinary PB sando in our world, right? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

