Balance

Hey guys! Happy Thursday!

I’ll get to the food recap tonight but I just wanted to pop in because I’m really excited about the amazing yoga practice I just had. First, I want to say that I dedicated my practice to the amazing and wonderful Julz because I know how much yoga means to her and I always think of her whenever I have a great practice.

So last summer I mastered headstand and was so excited about it. This posture is known as the ‘king’ of all yoga poses and I just loved how great it made me feel. When I finally achieved this (without a wall) I felt so strong and proud of myself. When I got back to school in the fall my instructor was really proud of me because this was something I had been working on for so long and finally could do it effortlessly.

Then in the middle of the semester I lost it. I was so frustrated but I just couldn’t do headstand anymore, it’s like all my hard work just disappeared and it really upset me. It wasn’t just headstand that was causing me problems though, my entire practice was suffering–I couldn’t stay in any of the balancing poses, even things like tree pose were difficult for me. The more frustrated I got, the harder it became and I was not enjoying my practice at all. Something that used to be so relaxing for me became a source of anxiety.

Yoga has such a strong mind/body connection and I honestly believe that my struggles with the balancing poses entirely has to do with my lack of balance in all aspects of my life. This past semester was really tough for me and I felt like I didn’t have control or balance with anything and it definitely manifested itself in my yoga. My instructor even came over after class one day and asked me what was going on because all my progress seemed to just vanish.Β 

This past month at home has been amazing for me. I’ve really gotten a grip on everything and feel much happier and more in control of my life. I finally feel like I have my balance back. Anyway, the whole point of this post was to celebrate because today at the end of my yoga practice I decided on a whim to give headstand another try. I hadn’t even attempted it for over a month so I wasn’t expecting much, but I took my time—and I DID IT!

I got up into headstand practically effortlessly and stayed up there for longer than I ever had before. I was so proud of myself!Β 

I’m not really sure what the moral of this story is, but I guess I just wanted to brag a little bit ; )

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day!

NAMASTE

12 Responses to “Balance”


  1. 1 carolinebee Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Dude sarah that’s awesome!! Isn’t that crazy how all the stuff messing with your head, manifests in a physical way?? I’m happy you’re back in balance πŸ˜€

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I am SOOOOO inspired by your headstand!! I haven’t mastered that pose yet, haha πŸ˜€ And I’m also inspired by your determination to keep trying and trying again – congratulations!!

  3. 3 Julz Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    You are the dearest of the dear. This post meant so much to me. To hear that you’re spirit has reached its balance once again… It shows that restriction, anxiety, etc etc only hinders one’s CHI. The appearance is SUCH a fallacy in terms of our health and our spirit. In Yoga, to TRULY achieve the balance and sincerity of each practice, WE MUST BE THANKFUL AND GRATEFUL. It forces us to be. Be grateful for our health, our spirits, our hearts, our bodies, and our minds. I am SO much more tolerant of myself after I’ve achieved a SINCERE practice. I like to think of Yoga as ALWAYS achieving. Every single step of the way, I am achieving in Yoga. Even if I fall over… I am achieving because I can laugh at myself and enjoy EVEN THAT moment, which for me IS HUGE.

    I love you so much and today, I am going to dedicate my practice TO YOU.

    Namaste.

    MY FAVE YOGA SANSKRIT EVER: Om Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavanthu – May All Beings, Everywhere, Be Blessed with Happiness.

  4. 4 ksgoodeats Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    GREAT post Sarah!! Yoga is all about mind/body connection and it’s crazy how true that can really be!

  5. 5 seeleelive Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    congratulations girl!! i am starting up yoga again as well and well, its beautiful.

  6. 6 Hangry Pants Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I could not agree more. It makes total sense as you were really stressed out mid-semester. Yoga is all about unity of the mind, body AND spirit. It’s the best way I know how to get in touch with all three important things at once!

  7. 7 Hil Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Thank you for this post. I want to start yoga again, and I am terrified because I know how tense and stressed and out of practice I am. But I need to start up again for precisely that reason! So thanks for giving me a bit of encouragement.

  8. 8 Sharon Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Wow, that is so amazing Sarah! Great job! Great, great great! Glad to hear things are going amazing!

  9. 9 eatingbender Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    That is so amazing! Congratulations πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Kersten Friday, January 9, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Aw, congrats on having a great yoga sesh πŸ™‚ The last few weeks I totally noticed a decrease in my coordination and balance and was confused, but what you said makes complete sense. It’s just too logical, eh?


  1. 1 On Farmers Markets and Facing Fears « Blueberry Hil Trackback on Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 11:08 pm
  2. 2 Web Development Trackback on Tuesday, July 29, 2014 at 12:52 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

