Outstanding

I just made and enjoyed the most outstanding dinner–it was seriously incredible. I love delicious homecooked meals that I can feel so good about eating.

Breakfast

What better way to start the day than with a delicious waffle tower.

img_2595

After breakfast I read a little bit and then did my usual cardio workout followed by an amazing yoga detox flow session. It felt so great!

Lunch

I had a classic lunch today: turkey sandwich, carrots, and baby apple. This was really satisfying—I’m seriously obsessed with the sandwich thins–they’re incredible.

img_25961

Snacks

I was really, really hungry all afternoon. It’s so weird how much my appetite fluctuates. While I was out browsing the bookstore I had a small nonfat sugar free gingerbread café au lait. I need to enjoy the seasonal flavors before they’re gone!

img_2598

Then when I was reading this afternoon at home I had a mint chocolate luna cookie.

img_2597

Followed by some almondina cookies (and a few more + some strawberries and possibly a few chocolate chips that aren’t pictured. I told you I was hungry!)

img_25991

Most Amazing Dinner

This dinner seriously rocked. I baked some acorn squash with cinnamon, brown sugar, butter, and maple syrup along with baked salmon and onions with a spice rub (salt, pepper, cumin, coriander, paprika, and cinnamon) and lemon-garlic spinach. It was really easy to make: the spice mix is just 1/4 t of each spice. I sliced an onion and laid it in a baking dish, rubbed the salmon and placed it on top. Then I baked it at 400* for 20 minutes. Please make this—I promise you’ll love it.

img_26001

Oh my gosh was this amazing. Everything was so flavorful, the salmon was cooked perfectly, and everything complemented each other really well. It was definitely an A+ meal. Salmon is definitely my all-time favorite protein, I miss it so much when I’m at school. 

I am so full and happy right now. I can’t wait for the new episode of Top Chef—I really like Fabio, I think his accent is so cute and he cracks me up. Besides him I’m cheering for Leah. Any other Top Chef fans out there?

9 Responses to “Outstanding”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, January 7, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Outstanding dinner; AAAAAAANNNNNNDDDDD breakfast and yoga session!! 🙂

    I’M A ‘TOP CHEF’ FANATIC!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Erin Wednesday, January 7, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    OBSESSED! Love it, love it, love it so much.
    I’m so happy your dinner made you happy!

  3. 3 eatingbender Wednesday, January 7, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Your lunch = my lunch. I am so glad that Arnold sandwich thins came into our lives. They are the best!

    Wow, you weren’t kidding about that dinner. I will definitely have to try that salmon sometime…mmm, it’s making my mouth water just looking at it! I’m totally serious!

    I just caught up on your last post, too – I really hope you keep enjoying the happiness of home! I remember in one of your emails to me previously you had said you liked to color (I think). I love that 🙂

  4. 4 Sharon Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 12:39 am

    I think I need to start my mornings with your waffle tower!

  5. 5 sarahannmatheny Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 2:17 am

    LUUUUV Top Chef. I have a girl crush on Jaime, but don’t tell my husband =)

    Your dinner looked glorious!

  6. 6 seeleelive Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 7:28 am

    hey! i sometime get hungry after lunch too..and i think i can see something important about yours. although the sandwich thins are good, they are low calorie for a sandwhich bread. try pairing that with another grain (like chips/pretzels/.5 cup soup) to stay full. otherwise, your eats are wondaaaafull love!

  7. 7 Rose Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Dinner does look fantastic.

    I’m a huge Top Chef fan. I love Fabio; I think if he doesn’t win – he will get Fan Favorite because of that accent. Other than him, I had a soft spot for Gene, who got kicked off last night.

  8. 8 ksgoodeats Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 9:33 am

    YUM to the dinner girl!! Sounds faaaaabulous 🙂

    Your breakfast towers are always so gorgeous – I want to reach through my screen and steal it!

  9. 9 Katie Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Ahh that dinner looks so good! I’ve never baked salmon, nor have I EVER watched Top Chef… two things a food blogger probably shouldn’t admit to!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

