Soup-er Day

Lame. I know. Coming up with titles is honestly the hardest part of blogging!

Breakfast

I was lying in bed this morning thinking about what I wanted for breakfast when I realized that it had been forever since I’ve had peanut butter. I started craving it like crazy and bolted out of bed to make myself a mighty maple peanut butter sandwich and fruit for breakfast. It was perfect.

img_2552

Snack

After breakfast I exercised, showered, and then headed out to take my grandparents to the grocery store. While they shopped I popped into Barnes and Noble to magazine read and sip a very foamy nonfat cappuccino. 

img_2553

Lunch

I hung out and chatted with my grandparents for a while and by the time I got home at 2:15 I was starving for lunch. The freezer came to the rescue with a Chicken Mozzarella Lean Cuisine Panini along with baby carrots. Maybe it’s just because I was extra hungry, but this was amazing! 

img_2554

Snack

I had some fruit (loveeeee) and graham sticks while reading this afternoon. I found myself standing in front of the cabinet about to just stick my hand into the graham stick box when I remembered my intention about not mindless munching. I knew I would enjoy it a lot more if I plated my snack and ate it while seated with my book instead of standing in the kitchen shoving my face. It worked!

img_2555

Dinner

I have to admit that I go to bookstores with my little notebook and copy down recipes from cookbooks and magazines! A few weeks ago I found this recipe for Lentil Chowder from the Candle Cafe Cookbook. It was so easy to make, just using lentils, carrots, celery, butternut squash, tomato, potato, onion, tomato paste, water, and spices. Yum! We had it along with some Panera multigrain baguette. Very warm and comforting!

img_2556

Dessert

While watching My Big Fat Greek Wedding with my mom. I love that movie!

img_2558

Random Question

Do you wear contacts or glasses? I have the worst eyesight of anyone I know! My contact prescription is -8.50!!!! Seriously, without my glasses on I can’t see a thing! My roommate freshman year thought this was absolutely hilarious and right when I was about to go to bed she liked to hold up fingers from across the room and have me try to guess how many she was holding up, and I was always wrong! She thought it was hilarious! I’m thinking about getting the Lasik eye surgery but I’m scared out of my mind about it. Has anyone done it?

9 Responses to “Soup-er Day”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, January 2, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    LOOOOVE your breakfast and dinner!! I own that cookbook, but have yet to try any recipes from it – now I know which one is definitely worthy 🙂

    Body + Soul magazine = amazing read.

    I love that film too!! So cute.

    I wear my glasses proudly!! 🙂 The Lasik eye surgery is quite risky, so be careful if you do decide to go with that.

  2. 2 gina (fitnessista) Friday, January 2, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    i totally agree about titles.. some days, they’re so hard to come up with!
    i do the same thing at bookstores haha!!! that lentil chowder looks incredible… i have a lot of lentils right now that i need to do something with..
    you’re the only person (other than my dad) that i’ve heard to have a higher rx than me– mine is -5.25
    he got lasik a couple of years ago (his used to be -10.5) and now his vision isn’t perfect but pretty close.. he still has to wear glass at night
    i’m interested to hear what you decide… the idea of lasik freaks me out a little– not exactly down with someone cutting my eye open

  3. 3 eatingbender Friday, January 2, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    It’s definitely tricky to come up with post titles!

    Mm…PB for breakfast! That Lean Cuisine panini looks really good, too! And dinner (stolen from a cookbook, haha) looks the best of all the rest! Yummy!

    As far as Lasik goes, I know that Bobby has terrible vision and is probably getting the surgery done when he graduates. Both of his parents got it and now have pretty much perfect vision. But my dad, who has astigmatism and very bad eyesight, was told that he shouldn’t get it because his cornea was too thin.

  4. 4 Andrea of Care to Eat Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 12:06 am

    That chowder looks so good! I’m bookmarking it 🙂
    -8.50?! I can’t see the “E” on an eye chart and I’m only a -4.50. I wear contacts…I should wear hard contacts but after 10 years of that I switched to soft and never looked back. I went to a consult for Lasik but didn’t do it because it is expensive. One day though! I have a couple friends who have done it and they LOVE it.

  5. 5 Sharon Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 12:07 am

    MMM, mmmm, mmmm! And jealous of your mighty maple peanut butter!

  6. 6 HangryPants Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Usually I leave the title for last!

    I like how you opened the panini and ate it in two pieces. I would do that too. Glad it was tasty.

    And, sorry, I don’t wear contacts or glasses.

    Heather

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Soup-er food 😉 LOVE the soup and roll. That is one luscious strawberry!

    I’m supposed to wear glasses for reading but I hardly ever do – my night vision is HORRIBLE though, when I’m driving I can barely see street signs 😦

  8. 8 Emily Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Your day of eats looks like something I would drum up myself! I agree that titles are difficult to come up with!

  9. 9 Emily Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Oh, I wear glasses! lol But I have esotropia; which can’t be treated with contacts, so I dont have much of a choice!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

