Happy New Year!!!

Happy 2009 everyone! I hope you all had a blast with your new year’s celebration—I know I did! It seems like my friends have finally matured enough to have a more low-key night in that people can finally handle their liquor and for once it was a fun night that didn’t turn into a total shitshow, which made me really happy. Even though I wasn’t drinking I did indulge quite a bit—there was FONDUE there! Holy cow. Chocolate and cheese fondue, it was amazingly delicious and really fun too! There was also plenty of cookies and brownies which I had many of. I always go a little overboard with New Years Eve, and even though it’s not the healthiest attitude to have, I definitely follow the ‘all or nothing since it’s the last night of the year, I’ll get back to my healthy habits tomorrow’ approach. Even though I felt sort of sick by the end of the night, it was totally worth it and delicious, and I’m back on track today.

Breakfast

I went to bed really late and had to get up way too early for work this morning. I was not in the least bit hungry and food wasn’t appealing to me at all so I just did something very out of character for me these days and grabbed a bar to go to eat when I finally got an appetite at work.

img_2541

Lunch

Luckily work was slow today because I was exhausted and couldn’t have handled the craziness that I dealt with last week. When I got home around 2 I still wasn’t very hungry but wanted to exercise so I knew I needed something before to get my energy up. I had a pear, yogurt, cereal mix and handful of random stuffΒ before working off some of last night’s indulgences.

img_2542

img_2544

Dinner

I was craving fresh veggies so I picked up a big salad from the grocery store which I had for dinner along with a few crackers and hummus. We ate while watching the Rose bowl. I seriously love football, I’m always so sad when the season is over!

img_2546

img_2547

Dessert

Vitatop and fruit. Plus a few handfuls more of grapes and some more graham sticks. I’ve gotten really lax about this whole taking pictures of everything I eat deal. Also my mindless eating/snacking is slowly creeping back, especially at night. For you bloggers that photo what you eat—do you literally take pictures of everythingΒ or are there bites and nibbles that mysteriously avoid the camera?

img_2551

Resolutions

For as long as I can remember my new years resolutions have centered around food/weight loss/exercise and to be honest, I’m sick of it! Food and what/how much I eat and exercise does NOT define me and I’m really trying to move away from thinking about it so much. Originally my resolutions were going to be about maintaining my healthy weight, eating mindfully, and exercising consistently. And while these are important goals that I am going to work toward, I’m not going to officially make them my new years resolutions. Instead, I’m going to try to work on other things NOT related to food, weight, or fitness. Here’s my list:

1) Have more patience with myself and others.

2) Read more, especially nonfiction.

3) Keep up with the news and what is going on in the world.

4) Make more of an effort to be social and put myself out there.

Here’s to a great 2009 everyone!

10 Responses to “Happy New Year!!!”


  1. 1 Erin Thursday, January 1, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    There are bites that escape, but I always mention them in the text. I eat a ton and I think people know it! πŸ™‚
    I’m with you – I love eating until I feel sick every now and then. I just do and I’ll never apologze for it. πŸ˜‰ Go us and screw moderation. Kidding! Kinda. πŸ˜‰
    Much love to you princess!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Thursday, January 1, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Glad you enjoyed your New Year’s!!

    Hooray for Larabars!! Of course πŸ˜€

    Good luck with your resolutions!!

  3. 3 carolinebee Thursday, January 1, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I really like your New Year’s “non-resolutions” πŸ˜€ I am with ya on the being social one…It’s hard! And ya I definitely can’t photo everything, esp if I’m in starvation mode right when I get home or something. Also, I think it’s helpful for me to keep in mind that this is my HOBBY, so I shouldn’t “feel bad” if I forget/can’t take a picture of something! Eating is fuel for me and my life, so that should be first over the blog :D! Glad your new year’s was mature and fun, and yeeeaaya Rose Bowl USC won!

  4. 4 Sharon Thursday, January 1, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Yum, yum yum! I love your goals, I totally agree with you on all of them too – I really need to make an effort to be more social too!

  5. 5 eatingbender Friday, January 2, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I went overboard last night with the margarita following the wine. Did not feel so hot when I woke up this morning!! I’m glad that you had fun, though – that’s what NYE is all about I guess. Fun and feeling ill the next day! YEEEEAH! πŸ˜‰

    That Vitatop looks so amazing! And yes, while I try to photograph everything I eat, there are often bites that go unphotographed that I forget to mention because I forget that I eat them! Woops.

    I like your resolutions a lot! Not having them center around food and fitness is a great idea! Have a great 2009!!!

  6. 6 Caroline Friday, January 2, 2009 at 1:24 am

    I’m glad you had a good New Year’s celebration!

    I don’t photograph everything I eat, just my meals and nightly shake/smoothie. My snacks are rather spontaneous, and I am usually too hungry to take a pic beforehand! Plus, my snacks are not very interesting anyway:)

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Friday, January 2, 2009 at 9:20 am

    FONDUE?! LOVE it!! I’m the same way: enjoy the night, healthier day tomorrow.

    I definitely don’t take pictures of everything! There’s always an extra spoonful of this or a grab of that.

    I love your resolutions!!

  8. 8 Elina Friday, January 2, 2009 at 10:22 am

    I had the same mentality on NYE. The good news is that we are back on track on the 1st!
    Good for you for making resolutions not related to food! I made a bunch too, but only shared the food and fitness ones with the blog world πŸ™‚ All of them are important, I think.

  9. 9 Hangry Pants Friday, January 2, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Is your vita top still frozen? They come frozen, right? That would be a fun experiment in eating one!

    I don’t take pictures of everything I eat at all! It would be way too stressful for me to do that and I would probably be horrified by the amount I consume!!!!

    have a wonderful ’09 too!

  10. 10 Katie Friday, January 2, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    “Patience” is a big one for me, too… sometimes I have such a short temper.

    Totally agree about holding your liquor… that’s only cute for so long, if it ever was.

    Love your nail polish!

    Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

