LATKES!

I love that Hanukkah is 8 days long because the celebrations just keep going!Β 

Dinner

For dinner tonight my mom made apricot chicken which was delicious and was really nice to have a home-cooked meal waiting for me after my long day of work.

img_2494

We also opened up a bottle of wine. I had 2 glasses throughout the night and was definitely feeling it. It’s worn off finally after chugging lots of water, but boy am I a lightweight when it comes to alcohol!

img_2495

Latkes

I would like to challenge Bobby Flay to a throwdown with our latkes. They’re just so good I know we would totally dominate. My dad is the latke master and he learned it all from his grandmother who brought the recipe over from Europe after WWII. We’re definitely purists when it comes to latkes—none of this onion, cheese, food-processor nonesense. It’s really the simplicity that makes it to phenomenal. Here’s how you do it.

Grate the potatoes by hand:

img_2492

Beat in the eggs. 1 egg per medium potato. We used 4 of each. A great tip is to do this over a strainer to easily get rid of the excess liquid. Then add a little bit of salt.

img_2496

Add the batter to a hot pan filled with vegetable oil.

img_2498

Cook for a few minutes until golden brown, then flip.

img_2499

The result is unbelievable.

#1:

img_2500

#2 with some ketchup. People eat these with ketchup or applesauce so I decided to give it a try for comparison but honestly plain is the best! Along with glass of wine #2.

img_2501

#3:

img_2504

Then we lit Hanukkah candles. My parents share the menorah in the back, mine is the front left and my sister has the front right.

img_2505

Dessert

Gotta end the night with something sweet:

img_2506

I’m so tired. It’s off to bed for me, then another crazy day of work tomorrow. Goodnight!

12 Responses to “LATKES!”


  1. 1 Melissa S. Friday, December 26, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    oh latkes!! glad you tried them w/ different condiments and loved them plain in the end!! yay!!!

    have a great night.

    oh yeah, and i totally think you’d give bobby flay a run for his money! hah!

  2. 2 eatingbender Friday, December 26, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    So cool! I haven’t had the real deal before, but I can only imagine that they taste 1,000,000x better when they are homemade! I have to admit, I love ’em with applesauce and ketchup πŸ™‚ But plain is good, too!

    I’m glad you had fun – Happy Hanukkah!

  3. 3 Sharon Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Wow, that is so neat! Everything looks oh-so delicious!!!

  4. 4 VeggieGirl Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 8:09 am

    HELL YES FOR LATKES!! I always eat mine with applesauce πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Jenny Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Happy Hanukkah! Glad you enjoyed some good ole tradition πŸ˜‰

  6. 6 healthy ashley Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I’ve never had Latkes, but yours look pretty good! Maybe I’ll finally try them πŸ™‚

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 10:37 am

    They look incredible – you’d win the throw down any day!!

    By the way, feel free to make me some any time πŸ˜‰ Happy Hanukkah!

  8. 8 gina (fitnessista) Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 11:16 am

    ahhh i love latkes! i’m hoping bobby flay sees this post πŸ˜€
    the menorah candles are so pretty πŸ˜€
    hope you have a ownderful day!

  9. 9 Elina Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I love my latkes plain too!
    That’s so cute that you have 3 menorahs in the house πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Lindsay Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    i hope you enjoy the rest of Hanukkah!! the latkes looks so yummy!

  11. 11 Hil Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Those latkes look absolutely amazing. Simplicity is sometimes the best thing. Happy Hanukkah!

  12. 12 carolinebee Saturday, December 27, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Yum!! My friends would always invite me over for one of their Hanukkah dinners and the food was soo good! I hope work wasn’t tooo bad today πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

