Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas friends, and of course Happy Hanukkah! I hope everyone is having a wonderful day no matter what you are doing. I’ve had a very cozy and relaxing day. I slept in late this morning, it was wonderful. Really, the only thing I wanted to do all day was read Breaking Dawn—it got so good! So much is happening and I just can’t put it down. Ahhh, I love books like that! I did manage to tear myself away for other fun things today, but as soon as this post is done, it’s back to reading!

Breakfast

Yummy yogurt, cereal, apple bowl. 

img_2481

After breakfast settled I decided to do some yoga. I haven’t had a good yoga workout in a long time so I did an hour long yoga to the people podcast. I did class 5 and it was crazy hard. Maybe it’s because I’ve taken a few weeks off yoga but I was seriously struggling! I definitely got a good workout in. I really like this website because it’s free and you really do get in a good yoga session but it was sort of hard to follow because there was no video, just words and sometimes the directions were confusing. 

Lunch

Lunch was a veggie burger english muffin sandwich with cottage cheese and berries. Simple and delicious! And of course I needed lunch dessert seeing as I have so many goodies around! I had some amazing snowflake pretzels and carob almonds. Heaven.

img_2483

img_2482

Snack

As always we went to the movies this afternoon. It was SO CROWDED. I remember when I was a kid and we would go the theaters were empty. It was crazy. We saw Valkyrie and it was excellent, I highly recommend it! I packed a Chocolate Mint Luna Cookie as a snack. I’d never seen these before and thought I would give it a try. I went through a phase where I ate Luna bars every single day and I sort of wore myself out with them, but these were new so I picked one up. 

img_2484

The verdict: AMAZING. It was a great consistency: soft and chewy, and easy to break into pieces (which is how I eat my bars—in tiny bites). The flavor was good too–there was a slight mint taste but it wasn’t overwhelming. It’s a pretty good size too, and it held me over all afternoon. I will definitely buy these again and try out some of the other flavors. I think I may even like these more than clif z bars! Crazy! I hope I can find them up at school.

Dinner

I didn’t feel like leftover Chinese food tonight and didn’t really have anything in the house to cook so I just rummaged through the freezer and found a Salmon Lean Cuisine meal. It’s part of the ‘spa cuisine’ line and it was actually really, really good. I usually buy Amy’s or Kashi frozen meals at school, but I am definitely adding this to my list. It was awesome. I also had a red pear with my dinner. 

img_2485

Dessert

I have been way overdoing it with the sweets lately- but I guess that’s what happens this time of year! Everything is just so good, and it’s all staring me in the face! I’m enjoying every bite so I don’t feel guilty about it, but I am definitely looking forward to getting back into my normal, healthy lifestyle as soon as the holidays are over! I just had an assortment of the massive amount of candy we have around the house, along with a cup of sugar cookie sleigh ride tea, which is THE BEST tea ever. Mmmm.

img_2486

Back to Breaking Dawn reading–seriously if you haven’t read the Twilight series yet, start. Now. 

Goodnight!

14 Responses to “Merry Christmas”


  1. 1 Jenny Thursday, December 25, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Glad you had such a wonderful holiday! YES for Breaking Dawn! I’ve been anxiously awaiting bedtime ALL DAY so that I can curl up and finish it, I’ve got like 200 pgs left!

    I’m gunna be on the look-out for those Luna Tea cakes 🙂

  2. 2 glidingcalm Thursday, December 25, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Sarah! great looking eats!!! im glad to know the choc mint luna cookie is tasty- i have yet to try that flavor!

    merry xmas!! have a great night!!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Thursday, December 25, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Fabulous day of reading (sounds like a great book!!), eating (snowflake pretzels?? carob almonds?? Wowza!!), and just enjoying!! 😀

    Happy 5th night of Hanukkah!!

  4. 4 Erin Thursday, December 25, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Yummy! Yes, desserts are just freakin’ unavoidable this time of year. Your sandwich looks so good. I thought that was an egg on it actually. 🙂 Have a great night and enjoy your book!

  5. 5 Sharon Thursday, December 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Oh, I can;t wait to finish Twilight!! I’m reading it right now!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Thursday, December 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    What a nice and relaxing day! I’m glad you’re enjoying all the holiday treats!

    Enjoy your book!

  7. 7 Caroline Friday, December 26, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Sounds like you had a perfect day!

    What brand of veggie burger is that? It looks delicious!

  8. 8 eatingbender Friday, December 26, 2008 at 1:22 am

    So many things that are making me smile in your post:

    1) You are loving Breaking Dawn 🙂

    2) You are loving the pretzels 🙂

    3) You used the spoon 🙂

    I hope you finished that book! Hehe…

  9. 9 Kersten Friday, December 26, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Hey! Merry Christmas!! Thanks again for setting up the amazing Secret Santa exchange 🙂 It was really fun and I hope we can do it again next year.

  10. 10 Elina Friday, December 26, 2008 at 8:27 am

    I used to eat that salmon lean cuisine… it is good! 🙂
    Those snowflakes and carob covered almonds look so good! I think it’s ok to indulge in a little extra sweets as long as you enjoy them 😀
    What brand is that tea? It sounds awesome!!

  11. 11 ksgoodeats Friday, December 26, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Carob almonds?! YUM! Glad to hear the movie was good – I’m a history nerd haha!

    Hope you’re having a great holiday, Sarah!!

  12. 12 teenageveggiehead Friday, December 26, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    wow I have to find that Luna Cookie – sounds delicious.
    your breakfast looks amazing, as always.
    lovee the sugar cookie tea 🙂

  13. 13 Laura Friday, December 26, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Hi, I was just going to let you know that on drugstore.com the chocolate mint luna tea cakes are on sale and cheaper then any other flavors!

  14. 14 Laura Friday, December 26, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    they are $9.99 for 12 cakes.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

