So Cold!

Oh man guys, it has been so cold around here, brrr! Thanks for all your advice about the party last night. I ended up doing what you all suggested– I had a small snack (carrots and hummus) before I left so I wasn’t ravenous when I got there, and then I focused on getting in some grains, veggies, and protein while I was there, and did treat myself to some desserts. I had a lot of fun and focused on socializing rather than eating and I’d say it was a success!

Now on to today…

Breakfast

My car needed to go in for inspection this morning so I headed out immediately to do that. Then, I stopped by Borders where I got a gingerbread latte and KIND bar which I ate while reading magazines. I love going to bookstores and reading magazines and cookbooks, it’s one of my favorite things to do!

img_2456

Lunch

I came home, exercised, lounged a bit, and made a simple lunch: turkey sandwich, juicy red pear, and carrots. 

img_2457

Snack

I was really hungry all afternoon for some reason. I blame not having a big, balanced breakfast. I can’t believe that I used to NOT eat breakfast at all! During my silly yo-yo dieting days I would skip breakfast as a way to cut calories and obviously it didn’t work. If I don’t have a big enough breakfast I’m literally a bottomless pit all day long. I have breakfast every day now, and it’s usually pretty substantial. Today was an exception and I definitely was noticing the extra hunger!

I had a yogurt and clif mini while reading this afternoon.

img_2462

Dinner

I made one of my all-time FAVORITE dinners tonight, and believe it or not, it’s with tofu! I made caramelized tofu with brussels sprouts and brown rice and as always it was out of this world. If you are afraid to try tofu (or brussels sprouts!) or haven’t liked them in the past, or if you’re just looking for an unbelievable meal—TRY THIS RECIPE. It’s seriously amazing.

img_2463

Dessert

It must have been gift-exchange day at my mom’s law firm because she came home with boxes upon boxes of candy, bottles of wine, and other goodies. Of course I had to have a little sampling for dessert. I had chocolate covered cashews, peanut butter truffle, chocolate almond bar, and my personal favorite williams sonoma peppermint bark.  

img_2465

It’s only 9:00 but I am so ready to get into bed with Breaking Dawn and read for a while and then go to sleep early. I’m such a grandma—a late night last night made me so tired all day today! Tomorrow is going to be a crazy day—I have to work and it’s going to be crazy with last-minute shoppers! Then it’s the traditional Jewish Christmas Eve: CHINESE FOOD! We also rented Burn After Reading to watch tomorrow night and I’m really excited for it!

Goodnight everyone!

11 Responses to “So Cold!”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    So glad that the party was a success!! Hooray!!

    Mmm, brussels sprouts!! And your dessert looks delish as well.

    Good luck with your crazy day tomorrow!! Get plenty of rest.

  2. 2 ksgoodeats Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Glad to hear you had such a great time last night 😀

    I could never imagine not eating breakfast! In high school I used to have a granola bar and that was it, now I don’t think I could make it a half hour without being hungry again!

    Don’t worry – I’m a total grandma too! Enjoy your day tomorrow!!

  3. 3 Melissa S. Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    glad to hear last night went well! yay!

    eats look great and i’m with you about not having a balanced bfast making me a bottomless pit for the rest of the day.

    hope you have a great day tomorrow!!!

  4. 4 Erin Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    I’m with you on breakfast! I can’t do just a bar! Your dessert looks awesome btw 🙂

  5. 5 eatingbender Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 12:02 am

    I’m so glad that the party went well and that you were able to enjoy yourself in terms of food and friends 🙂

    I love reading magazines for free in bookstores! Too bad I’m pretty much subscribed to every fitness magazine there is…so I like to check out the really funny ones when I do go!

    Your dinner looks insanely good! I think it may be the very same one you suggested when I tried brussels sprouts. I still haven’t had them since that day, so I need to pick up a bag and get a move on!

    Love all the dessert – enjoy the Chinese food tomorrow! I think that’s such a great Jewish tradition. My other friend always looks forward to that 🙂 Let me know what you think of Burn After Reading!

  6. 6 Caroline Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 1:05 am

    I have to agree–lounging/reading in bookstores is one of my favorite ways to spend an afternoon!

    That caramelized tofu with brussels sprouts dish looks amazing!! I will def have to try that soon!

  7. 7 jenngirl Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 2:29 am

    Glad the party turned out well–I feel like you can never go wrong with snacking beforehand, and then filling in the gaps with what’s available. Great job!

    Your eats are always really appealing to me for some reason, we must have a lot of the same tastes! 😉

    Enjoy Christmas Eve, both Breaking Dawn and Burn After Reading are GREAT!!

  8. 8 Sharon Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Wow, dinner does look great! I actually might try it!!!

  9. 9 Elina Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 9:15 am

    I’ve made that tofu with brussel sprouts and it is amazing!!!
    Yummy looking chocolates 🙂

  10. 10 Katie Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 11:39 am

    That is one of my FAVORITE recipes!!! In fact, maybe I’ll make that tonight. Yum!

  11. 11 teenageveggiehead Wednesday, December 24, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    oh wow! everything looks so good!i really really love your dinner – full of all my favorites, especially the brussels sprouts. glad you had fun at the party.

    ps. those desserts look amazing! haha


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

